We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for mid price business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #99 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

In Chicago for seminar and this was the host hotel. Right off highway and $36.00 cab ride for O'Hara. Check in was smooth and hotel appears to be an older building that has been nicely renovated. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There are doormen and valets and ample staff.

My room was on the 16 floor and was next to elevator. I never heard the elevator and the room was very quiet. The a/c/heat is an individual wall unit so there is some noise from that but was not overbearing or a nuisance. It appears that every room has a balcony but the building is sideways from downtown so not major skyline view.

The bed was very comfortable and room was well kept. Maid service was in and out every day and no issues with them or the job they did. There is a coffee maker in the room as well as an electronic safe. Coffee makes about 3-4 cups. There is also free coffee downstairs at front desk but appears they take it down about 8 am.

The wireless internet is free and I noticed a internet cord in the drawer if needed, Internet was high speed and adequate.Next to the hotel is a 24 hr walgreens and also a grocery store. There are two starbucks within a block and several 24 hr greek restuarants within 2-3 blocks. Felt safe walking in area during day and night but there were some panhandlers.

We had a little difficulty getting our morning paper the first couple of days as the priority club members are suppose to have a USA today at door in morning but was finally corrected on third day.

My buddy said to avoid the corner room as they are a little smaller. Also, we were at the same conference at the same rate but his was 30. per night higher than my rate He inquired at checkout and they lowered his rate to be in line with my rate.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant that appears to be operated by an independent vendor. It was in the corner and opened up to the street so didn't feel like a hotel bar and was nice. A little expensive but not overly. $10.00 for basic breakfast of 2 eggs, bacon, toast and potatos. The breakfast buffett was $16.00. I only ate breakfast there two mornings and it was decent. Several local beers on tap and staff was friendly and fun. You can charge to your room and was open to at least 11 each night we were there.

No pool, no hot tub, no sauna but was told that the workout center was nice. This is a good clean nice safe basic business hotel near downtown. You have to use a key to get to your floor any time of the day and there was always plenty of staff around. There was a wine and cheese reception one night for the hotel guests.

If my review was helpful...give me a thumbs up.

Room Tip: Avoid corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okcJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

it's a nice hotel. a little old with some updates ... just don't look at the details. The ony thing that drove me nuts were the pillows. they were square?! didn't like that at all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjd1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Check-in was very efficient. We were given a room on the 8th floor which was very clean, especially the bathroom which looked like it was newly decorated and had a good shower. The room was well equipped with a safe, coffee-maker, iron, ironing board and hair-dryer. There were two double beds in our room which were very comfortable with plenty of soft pillows. The only faults with the room were a strange musty smell in the cupboard containing the safe and the road noise that you have to put up with when staying close to the centre of a city.
We ate in the hotel restaurant (Dine) both in the evening and for breakfast and found the food and service to be good.
For sightseeing in Chicago it is only a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel to the Willis Tower where you can pick up the Hop On Hop Off bus tour.
There is a Dominick's store next to the hotel which is handy for snacks and drinks.
We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This Crowne Plaza was a delight to stay a night. The beds were very comfortable, the pillows were nice and the room was spacious and clean. The front desk staff was efficient and friendly. The biggest advantage to this Crowne Plaza is its location. A five minute bus ride downtown, or a two minute drive to downtown makes it attractive. Also, its proximity to Greektown and the United Center does make it ideal. There often seems to be a deal to stay at this location, I had a groupon, so that helps. That said, the overall experience at the Crowne Plaza-Metro was very positive and would recommend it to anyone staying in Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We got this hotel on a group-on deal! It was a steal. The hotel is a high quality 4 star (Im a hotel snob so this worked out for me very well!) with comfortable beds and spacious rooms. We had a room on the top floor with a view of Greektown off the balcony and a view of the city including the Sears Tower on our left. Dinner in greektown is a great perk to this hotel as its a two minute walk away. There is also a 24 hour Walgreens just across the street and a Starbucks! We actually walked back from the Chicago Bulls game to the hotel because the United Center is also on Madison. The hotel has valet parking which was included in our price. The hotel is very quiet and a good place to rest after a day of sightseeing. The front desk staff swiftly checked us in and provided good information. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grkgal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is exactly what we expected according to the reviews we read. Being Club Members we received all of the "perks" including an instant room upgrade. We got an amazing quiet room on the top floor. Even though the room faced South you could go out on the balcony and look to the East for a nice view of the Willis Tower and the City. The service staff at the hotel was exceptional and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Top Floor (17th) if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holsv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I spent two nights at the Crowne Plaza, the location is great many restaurants and clubs within walking distance. The bed was very comfortable and they had the warmest blanket ever. As with most urban hotels you can hear traffic all night and with the room being next to the elevator we could hear some elevator noise. The staff was friendly and helpful. But, I had to ask each morning that the $35 parking charge be removed.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liljimmyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#112 of 191 in Chicago
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £75 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing