We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to the Loop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #97 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

LOCATION:
The hotel is located near I94 and is close to Greektown.
The hotel itself is relatively convenient. There are two El/train stations close to the hotel, the Clinton-Green/Pink line and the UIC-Halsted Blue line (both approximately 6 blocks away). You can commute from O'Hare and/or Midway airports from the hotel. There are also bus stations across the street that will take you to the Loop. Union Station is also close to the hotel, I believe it is about 2-3 stops (4 blocks) from the hotel. Cabs/taxis are also plentiful.

NOTE: parking is expensive in downtown Chicago so factor the cost of parking in the equation when deciding to drive a car. ALSO, there is a parking charge for the hotel. Call or check on line (I am unsure of the parking fee because we used public transportation and did not drive).
There are a number of stores close to the hotel itself. There is a Walgreens behind the hotel, there is also a Dominic's Supermarket across the street that has a Starbucks. There is also a "regular" Starbucks and a number of restaurants if you go South on Halstead.

HOTEL:
The hotel is not that special outside. The lobby was clean and there was a lounge area. There is a restaurant attached and a bar. I cannot comment on the bar or restaurant since we did not eat or hang out at the hotel bar. There is a business center where you can print your boarding pass or access the web. There is also wifi, but the signal in our room was a little weak. The staff is helpful and polite. Being from Los Angeles, the Midwest charm is not lost on me.

ROOM:
We booked a suite on the "no-kids floor" of the hotel. The hotel offers travelers a few floors that offer late housekeeping (after 10 am I believe) and does not allow kid-guests on those floors. This is perfect for those who sleep light or would like to sleep-in. Courtesy is also expected from the guests if you are staying in these "no-kids" floor, meaning no loud music, no banging of doors, and no parties.
The suite that we got had a living room, a desk, and a bedroom. The bedroom, bathroom and living room were all separated by doors and the room looks like a one bedroom apartment. You have a couch and a flat panel TV in the living room. The living room can be dark and gloomy during the day because the bedroom is the only room that has a natural source of light. Our room did not come with a fridge.
The bedroom was ample sized and had a flat panel TV as well. The king-size bed was comfortable and the sheets were nice. I was very comfortable in the bed and was able to sleep well at night. I noticed that some reviews complain about street noise. Closing the window/door to the balcony in the bedroom eliminates the street noise. I may not be as noise sensitive as the other reviewers, but at 15 floors up I could not hear any noise once I closed the sliding door.

The bathroom was ample sized and clean. My only complaint was the weird shower head. I would suggest to the management to install full sized showerheads.

OVERALL: I would stay at the Crowne Plaza again. The hotel location on the East side of I94 may be a little far from Michigan Ave or Millennium Park, forcing you to take a bus, hire a taxi or walk 30 or more minutes to Millennium Park (one reviewer claimed that it was a 15 minute walk, it is more than 1 mile to Millennium Park which would take 30 minutes or more if walking leisurely).

If another hotel had the same quality and price and located in the loop or close to the Magnificent Mile, just on convenience I would book that other hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with kids, ask for the the "no-kids" floor at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeBruin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

I recently traveled to Chicago for a work conference at McCormick Place Convention Center, which is approximately 2.5 miles south of downtown Chicago. Several Magnificent Mile hotels were offered at a discounted "conference rate", but were still quite expensive. Instead, I reserved the Crowne Plaza via a Hotwire "hidden deal." I was satisifed with this more affordable option.

This hotel is not located along the sought after Magnificent Mile. Rather, it is located in the West Loop. It was very easy to reach from Chicago O'hare on public transportation. The UIC train stop was only a few blocks away, making it an easy walk. It is located in "Greektown", which has many great restaurants. There is also a grocery store directly across the street. Furthermore, the Mag Mile, Millenium Park, and the Convention Center were all very accessible by bus.

The room itself was an average size for a 3.5 star hotel, but the bathroom was small. The room was modern and clean. There is no "ideal room" since the hotel is flanked on both sides by highways. The west side is a city street, while the right side is an interstate. Despite being on a higher floor, the street noise was still audible.

An added bonus is the free internet.

Overall, I would stay there again assuming I could get a good price (I paid about $140 on Hotwire).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel is located in the Greektown area of Chicago. It's right off the highway and easy to find. The bed is so comfortable. I'm ready to move in! If you're sensitive to noise, we forewarned that you can hear all kinds of traffice noises below. I'm on the 15th floor, too! Room-service is great- I've ordered both for dinner and for breakfast. The fruits and vegetables on those trays were delicious- amazingly fresh. The lobby area is small- multiple groups were meeting each other both in the mornings at and night so it gets a little crowded. Very impressive recycling campaign, complete with a bag to place your recyclables- newspapers, plastic bottles, etc. It was nice to know that this stuff wasn't just going to be tossed in the dumpster. Parking is expensive for overnight parking- $36/night.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a quieter room if you're bothered by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. Overall quick check in. There is valet parking right in front of the hotel. I had a room facing the highway and it is a bit loud even at night. So if you get easily disturbed by noise, this might be an issue. Bathrooms are on the small side. Otherwise, room was clean, nice staff. Nice bar and decent restaurant in the hotel. Pretty decent bar food, nice selection. Also in walking distance are a few nice restaurants and bars. Overall a nice hotel if you have something to do in this area. It is not close to the Michigan Ave but then it's not Michigan Ave price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UBtraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chicago. This was our first time going to Chicago. The staff was friendly and helpful in pointing out eateries/getting a cab/general advice on tourist attractions. It is a 5 minute walk from Willlis Tower. 15 minute walk to Millenium Park. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom door was a little strange- it slid on a bar and didn't close all the way. This hotel is right near "Greek Town", try Cafe Meli- best breakfast and home made marmalade. The doorman was very nice, I wish I got his name to put on this review. The restaurant was yummy too- had some late night food there, great staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here on a business trip for 4 days mid September 12. The staff were great providing the usual good service you can expect in the USA . The hotel lacks reception space though and somewhere to sit and meet people. The only real options are the lobby (crowded and noisy ) or the bar and restaurant . Piped music here and hard floors make talking difficult .
The suite I was in had plenty of all the right things but if you are a Brit and need your tea bring your own travel kettle. The room only has a coffee maker.
One big disappointment in the suite was the poor tv facilities and lack of films. I appreciate you can use your pc/iPad but sometimes it's nice to view on a larger screen especially at the end of a busy working day.

Last point as the hotel is next to the express way there is traffic noise despite double glazing and being 16 floors up

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebisbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear nebisbubbles,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Very clean and spacious rooms. My room was quiet and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful as well. Great for business. Only issue was getting a cab in the morning. When one could not be located by the hotel they used one of their own cars to take us to our meeting! I imagine the trouble finding a cab on a Monday morning is standard in Chicago. If possible, order car service in the morning to eliminate the hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#112 of 191 in Chicago
732 reviews
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £73 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing