We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time or money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #95 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time or money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We Have family living in Chicago and have visited over 10 hotels in downtown. This was by far the worst. Have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels for $250. The city was very booked so we got screwed $300 plus dollars for the worst corner room in the place which I might add was booked on trip advisor. Saw other rooms and this was the smallest and smelled like smoke even though it was non smoking. The room was clean. Extremely noisy on the street. They claim to have good sleep amenities in their brochure. They include lumpy pillows, average bed and ear plugs to drown out the noise. The front desk is totally worthless. Not courteous, texting and when we asked for a concierge for dinner, they didn't know what that was. Fitness center was okay but very dirty. The diner and bar next door was welcoming with a pleasant staff. If we would of paid less then $200 we would not complain. But to charge what they did it is a rip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph32165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback like yours enables our continuous pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Unfortunately, these valuable lessons have come at your expense. I can’t apologize enough on behalf of the entire team for not meeting your expectations. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We hope you give us another chance to win you over.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    386
    196
    49
    42
See reviews for
184
213
67
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed for three nights from Monday, whilst in town for some meetings in Willis Tower and the River Center, both of which are walkable from this hotel.

The hotel is located right next to the highway, and is pretty ugly from the outside. The interior is much nicer, and is a fairly standard US mid-range city hotel.

My room on the 11th floor was fairly well-appointed, although the bathroom was rather small, with no bath, only a shower. The free WiFi was reliable, which is a must.

The hotel has a small 24hr gym which I imagine could become crowded at peak times (only 3 x treadmills and 2 x crosstrainers, plus some other stations) but was fine at 4am each day that I used it!

The free breakfast buffet was a little limited, with no cheese or cold-cuts at all, although both the french toast and the bacon were above average.

The hotel struck me as being somewhat "the wrong side of the tracks". There are two Starbucks, Walgreens, supermarkets etc close by, but there were few appealing restaurants near by. To the North of the hotel there are a fair number of empty storefronts which gave the area a slightly depressed feel, although this area also featured Haymarket, which is a large brew-pub, which seems to have a great social scene, including a gathering of the legendary "Moth" next week!

I walked from the hotel to Sears, which is on the Magnificent Mile in 25 minutes, at a pretty fast pace.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Went to this hotel for 2 nights to attend an exhibition at McCormick place.

First impressions were ok apart from the numerous casually dressed people milling around in the reception area. I suppose I have been spoilt staying at the Ritz Carlton on my last visit.... The price charged £200 per night was not justified based on my first impression although the prices do rocket when big conventions are in town.

I requested a room with a view of the Willis (Sears) tower and the recptionist told me he would do his best. I was allocated a room on the 17th floor which did have a good view so was pleased about that.

The rooms are a good size with a small balcony which was good for having a view of the local area. The only thing I could fault was the lack of a mini bar which I thought odd. Other than that the room was above average.

The location is ideal for the convention center as a taxi was only $8 and also for shopping on the "maginificent mile" which was a couple miles away. There is a Walgreens located directly outsie the hotel which was handy as well as an Irish bar 2 minutes away.

Would I stay again? Probably not.....

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as there is minimal road noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leejinxukukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I was apprehensive about driving in Chicago. This hotel is literally 2 turns off the interstate. You can park your car ($36/night valet only - which is cheaper than the usual $50/night in chicago) and either walk or take transportation to wherever you want to be. We were on the 14th floor and it was nice and quiet. We booked a suite which was lovely - large and clean. We requested a fridge which was a great convenience for us. The staff were friendly, my only complaint is that each request from the hotel took 2 calls to the front desk - maybe they were understaffed? We also got the complimentary breakfast which was lovely. If you ask, they will also give you coffee to go. Would I stay there again? Absolutely - there is a drugstore/grocery store across the street. The hotel is located in Greek Town so there is an array of Greek Restaurants available. If you are in good shape, the hotel is about a 25 minute walk to the magnificent mile. If you are not in shape - take a taxi, hop on hop off bus (the nearest stop is a 15 minute leisurely walk) or a bus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEIOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I was traveling by train so it was nice that the hotel was so convenient to the train station. The hotel has an attractive lobby with an adjacent restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff at the desk was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is not close to the Magnificent Mile, which was disappointing, but the desk clerk was able to recommend some nice restaurants within walking distance. I was only there one night and overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Everything you could want from an "in the city" hotel. Close to everything, clean and modern but I did have one complaint. If you want to park it's 36 bucks and I think that price was per night. You don't have a choice but at least you get valet service. This remains the theme throughout the city ad get ready to either hunt in futility for street parking or shell out for the valet. If you don't mind walking, you can usually find a lot but be ready to pay for it. On a more positive note, the place was ideal for my little dog! Yes dogs as large as 40lbs are allowed with the usual stipulation of them not making a mess or kicking up a fuss. A 25 dollar charge applies to each pet though that's not bad. Also there is a small urban (all concrete) dog park just a 5 minute walk east. Lots of local pets coming and going at the usual hours. The other little things like reasonably stable wifi, comfortable beds and a business centre helps this one earn 4 stars but understand you will probably end up paying more then the room rate by the time you check out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Depere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Husband and I stayed one night with 2 daughters. The hotel was clean, efficient desk staff and comfortable room. We got a great Hotwire rate of $107 which made up for not staying closer to the lake area. It was nice to have grocery/drugstore nearby, but the room had no refridge/microwave. The hotel itself was amazingly quiet, but the freeway noise was relentless. That was the only big negative. We were able to walk to restaurants and the bus was great for getting us to Grant Park and anywhere else. We didn't eat in the hotel. The prices for breakfast were quite high.

Room Tip: We faced the freeway and it was very noisy. Would try for the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DepereItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing