We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #95 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice room and location”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I was a nice stop, but it did not have much of a view. It was a little longer walk than i realized from the main activities and L. Overall it was good value and glad to be by nice greek restaurants. Just recommend to others to think about and extra 20 and stay closer to Michigan Ave.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ellissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that fact that you think we are a good value hotel. Our hotel is in a prime location for guest traveling to Greek town or the West Loop. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    392
    200
    49
    42
See reviews for
186
213
68
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Enjoyed my stay here - within walking distance of a number of restaurants, and across the street from a really neat grocery/cafe. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was great too.

Clean and comfortable, and the staff was nice. The easily caught us cabs as needed. Was too far (too cold) in the winter to walk to the Mile or Millennium Park, but for big walkers it would probably work in the summer (maybe a couple miles away).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortyCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. We appreciate all the kind words about the hotel and our staff. I’m glad to see you enjoy your experience at our Dine restaurant as well. We hope to see you again when return to Downtown Chicago.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family had to celebrate Christmas late to get all the family together. We Were greeted by Janita and Stracia who set the tone of our Christmas gathering. I was so pleased with their warmth and hospitality, I know the Crown Plaza is classy, but these two really made it better, good job girls, and to whoever was smart enough to hire you. Nicole as well, made this adventure more fun than we have a right too!! There are at least 8 of us who cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this review. You’re very kind to say such wonderful things about our staff. I hope you enjoyed your late Christmas. We look forward to having all 8 of you return to our hotel. Enjoy the rest of your holidays.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Overall pretty good. Rooms a bit small, but clean. Staff very friendly and special perks for elite members. Walking distance to great Greek restaurants. Only negative is parking, which is a problem at any DT hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro on TripAdvisor. We all appreciate all the kind words about the hotel. I’m sorry that the parking didn’t meet your expectations and we will address your concerns with our valet company. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

First off, I am a big Marriott fan. My last stay at a Crowne was 10 years ago and I was disappointed. My company put me at this hotel and I wasn't looking forward to staying. I was totally WRONG! Crowne Plaza is SO MUCH BETTER and I will definitely request this hotel the next time I am in Chicago. I'm sorry I didn't take pictures for this review. I stayed in a standard room with two double beds. The TV was a good size and the hotel sounds (elevator, doors slamming) were not noticed at all. The hotel has a sheet covering all kinds of restaurant options and the hotel is right in the middle of Greek town with some tough choices to narrow down. Most of all, my favorite part was the best shower nozzle I have had in any hotel - it truly was a rainfall style - dense, gentle water with a great adjustable arm for all heights and angles. What totally impressed me is the wide array of Temple Spa bath products (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion and bar soaps. Sorry to the maid for asking for extras! The products smell great and are from England - and not cheap to buy. I had no idea any hotel stocked quality and expensive products from Temple. The hotel also offered packets of foot balm, night face cream and pillow spray (all Temple products and available on line) that are aromatherapy geared to help you sleep. And they work. The staff was very friendly and even helped provide me a FedEx box and arranged a pickup at the hotel instead of me walking in the bitter cold Chicago weather several blocks to the nearest FedEx. I'll be back to this hotel - just hopefully in warmer weather.

Room Tip: Pick towards the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. I am glad that your company booked you a stay with us and we exceed your expectations. I see that you took full advantage of our new bathroom amenities. We are happy to provide extras to all guests who ask for them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beecher, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed this past weekend for a family wedding that was being held in the ballroom.Great room rate with the wedding discount, just minutes from the church-was able to get early check in to get ready for evening recption. Front desk personnel most helpful as were ballroom servers, bartenders, hostesses. We had a suite for 3 family members, puulout couch had no linen, pillows, blanket-called for delivery of same-never came-guest ended up using the robes in the closet for a blanket-no linen as we got tired of waiting. Next morning, a buffet breakfast was included as a treat from the bride and groom for guests staying overnight, no room in the reserved area they had and hostess was less than cordial about seating us elsewhere in the restaurant "as she would have to wait on us then." Thats what we ended up doing so we could have our breakfast-we got our buffet food and had to appraoch her for our drinks. She eventually came around, but the damage was done by her indifferent attitude.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbj97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you took were able to receive a great room rate with the wedding discount. We very much appreciate the kind words about our front desk, bartenders, and ballroom staff. I can’t apologize enough on behalf of the entire team for the inconvenience you received in the restaurant. I have brought your concerns to our management team. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We hope you give us another chance to win you over.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A very clean and well presented hotel.
The room was very comfortable, clean and provided a great view of the city from the balcony.
The location was within easy walking distance of the centre of Chicago and nice bars and restaurants.
We were allowed to check in three hours early which was much appreciated as I had traveled overnight and was tired.
I will certainly book again when i return to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alun n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. The kind words about our hotel are very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that we were able to check you in early so you could take full advantage of our great city. The next time you are planning on returning to Chicago I would love the opportunity to help you book your reservation. Please call me anytime.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#115 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing