We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stracia was awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #94 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stracia was very kind and understanding of customer needs. I appreciated her willingness to help me with the issue my friend had. She was professional, very open and honest. Thanks for what you do, Stracia!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Jean B

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that Stracia provided such a memorable stay for you and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon and will pass on the great comments to Stracia.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I booked this hotel through Priceline. I have always had good experiences with the process. My husband and I went up, with our children, to visit my sister-n-law. She stayed with us. We booked 2 rooms. Upon arrival we were told they only had king bed rooms. We called down about an hour after checking in to ask for a roll away bed and were told one would be brought up. An hour and a half later my husband called again and was again told one would be brought up. We left for dinner and when we returned there was still no bed. My husband called down AGAIN and was told they were out of beds. Not sure when they ran out or why we were told twice then that one would be delivered?? When we went to leave the next day we were charged $40 for parking even though we didn't use their parking service and parked in another lot. My husband spoke with the front desk and they indicated the charge would be removed, but as of today there is still a $50 charge on our debit card pending from the hotel??? The rooms were clean, and although the staff seemed friendly at check in the customer service we received was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Stephanie D.

Thank you for your honest feedback from your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. It is disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and will share your feedback with our management so that we may explore ways to enhance our offerings. The lack of follow through on your requests is unlike the normal level of service that our team provides. If regards to the $50 charge on your debit card. This sounds like the normal authorization that is run on check in for incidental charges. This typically is released by the bank in a couple of days. If this does not occur please contact me directly and I will gladly look into this for you. Thank you again for your review and comments. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
cmansfield@thechicagometro.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel was a typically middle class hotel. The room were worn down and the sound from the motorway outside was kind of loud. Although a good hotel to stay on. The staff were very friendly and helpful. You can walk downton in about 10 minutes. We choosed this hotel because we were going to the United Center to see the Blackhawks play and it's pretty close, just a couple of minutes with the bus wich stops just in the opposite corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Jalun,

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. It is disappointing to hear that you felt your room was run down. Our team puts tremendous effort in ensuring that each guest is provided with the top level of comfort and quality in their room. I will certainly pass your comments on to our team so that they can review. I am glad to hear though that you were able to take advantage of our great location within the city. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stracia at the front desk KNOWS customer service. She knew exactly what to do to make us feel welcome and comfortable. She treated everyone with kindness and used logic and reason when dealing with the guests. She was such a pleasure.
Her manager on the other hand was EXTREMELY rude, unhelpful, and treated us with no respect (blonde, front desk manager). She was unwilling to work with us to ensure a positive experience for everyone and even tried to get angry with other staff members in front of the guests.
The valet folks were very friendly and helpful, especially Pedro.
The king beds were nice and large and comfortable.
Our room's safe was broken and the staff never acknowledged this at all. Also, there are no in-room fridges.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Razskim

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. I am glad to hear the Stracia provided such great service to you and only wish that our manager had done so as well. I can assure you that I will look into this and address with the appropriate individuals. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to fully exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family during a recent trip to Chicago for a wedding. The location was great, I liked the fact that our room had a balcony to get some fresh air. There is a great breakfast spot across the street, a Walgreens across the street and a grocery store as well. There is a Starbucks as well for coffee. I found the location had everything we needed for this trip, we visited the bean which was about a 5 minute can ride and we walked from there up Magnificent mile to American Girl. I was a bit of a walk but we didn't mind it was a nice day

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank TravelgirlHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear TravelgirlHamilton

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as well as the wonderful photos that you took from your balcony. I see that you had a great view of the Willis Tower from your room.. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The best thing about this hotel is its location: it's right on the highway, which was very convenient after an almost 7-hr long drive, however, you can't hear the noise or smell the exaust fumes. We had our car parked at the hotel's parking lot the entire time and walked and took public transportation everywhere. The check-in was fast and efficient, the room was clean and comfortable. Front desk employees were freindly and helpful, always ready with suggestions about sight-seeing or directions. The hotel is within 15-min walking distance to Downtown Chicago/Magnificent Mile; 5 min walk to Greek Town with all its restaurants,and 15-20 minute walk to the University Village/Little Italy with even more restaurants and shops. Lots of choices for breakfast or late night/lighter fare: Eggsperience - breakfast/pancake place right across the street, next to it is Mariano's grocery store/cafe/sushi bar...Should you want to go somewhere beyond walking distance - the hotel is right on the bus line. The neighborhood feels safe even late at night: a mix of tourists, late diners, locals walking their dogs or jogging. Overall, a very nice hotel close to Downtown yet away from the crowds and the noise of ELs.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the intersection of Halsted and Monroe Str. - a nice view of the neighborhood an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerb0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear gerb004

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the uniqueness of our location as well as the service of our staff. There are indeed some wonderful restaurants just blocks away from the hotel and in addition to the locations you listed we are also the closest hotel to the United Center. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I commute to Chicago every week for work, and 9 times out of 10 I stay at the Crown. The service at this hotel is impeccable. The staff are all outstanding and take this property over the top. All of the front desk staff greet you with a smile, and a quick check in. The bar team of Brie and Paul are the best ever, and Ben, the Restaurant Manager is the outstanding, always taking care of the customers. The maintenance team is responsive to any issues, that may arise and very polite. The location is great, since it is located right next door to Mariano's, and soon a Whole Foods will be next door as well. $5 - $7 cab ride gets you anywhere in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms offer some excellent views of the area.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear James N,

It is wonderful to hear that you are able to call us your home away from home and that our staff have always provided you with a warming experience. Thank you for the great feedback and this will certainly be shared with the team. We look forward to having you home again.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#122 of 191 in Chicago
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £99 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing