We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff but not worth 300 a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #96 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

im going to say whats great about this hotel............the valet guys were great but then they should be for 39 bucks a night and tips..........kathleen in the restaurant made our day every morning of our stay............the beds were ok but not up to 300 a night...........no fridge or microwave in room for this price is unacceptable...........the worst part of this room was the ac/heat it was either to cold or to warm couldnt set and maintain a constant temp..........great super market across the street enjoyed that..........rooms being over 240 a night and then adding 39 for parking and then 35 in taxes makes this hotel not worth the price.

Room Tip: higher floors for less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77mockmotorspitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for all the positive comments that you had for our hotel. I am sorry to hear though that you did not feel there was value for what you paid. We do model our service and amenities to give you the highest quality of stay as we know that the pricing that you pay in the city of Chicago is often higher than in smaller cities. Please know that we do value your patronage and hope that the next time you are in our wonderful city you will choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Chicago metro is situated quite conveniently to the main attractions you may want to see when you have little time besides your business.
The hotel's room are clean, relatively large and offer excellent beds.
Unfortunately there are no additional blankets which may be a problem if you want to avoid heating by AC while not getting a cold.
The rooms come with a balcony. What is nice at first look comes out to be a drawback... You literally hear the city!
Bathroom is clean and functional amenities are of excellent quality.
Al these points make the room become an average rather than good.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Key cards lose their memory when coming anywhere near a phone.
Breakfast quality was good to very good.
Free WiFi worked at OK speed.
To get that straight I would not have mentioned these thinks if the rates would turn around 150$ -
I would have happily paid and quoted excellent, with 200$+/night it's just good.
If money is no issue the hotel can be recommended as the overall picture is positive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had great stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at the metro from 28-30 April
First impression at the front desk was great smiling and got my room at 09:30 am after 15 hour flight from Tel Aviv.
Got a two double beds ,big room and clean with safe and bath and shower.
It's about 10-15 minute walk to Wills Tower if you are going to the United buliding for course or meetings and Hotel has complimentary shuttle bus in the morning to take you there.
The hotel has big walgreens and another supermarket across the road for all the small needs and the has restruant on site with some nice fried calmary and other options.
To ends the review great service and clean hotel just little far if you want to be on the other side of the river but will Recmond to my colleges

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times. It is incredibly convenient to everything downtown, the parking lot is very convenient and the staff and rooms are very nice. I especially appreciate the management. Today I had several special requests. One of the managers (Mike) got on the phone and was extremely accommodating. Then, although I had a non-refundable reservation, my work schedule changed unexpectedly and he was immediately willing to cancel the reservation. I don't think I will stay anywhere else on my next trips to Chicago. Thanks Mike!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJT230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that Michael provided such a memorable stay for you and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon and will pass on the great comments to Michael

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is centrally located to the train station and downtown Chicago. The food selections within walking distance are excellent. The shuttle driver, Mauricio, is very pleasant and professional. I recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: I think their all just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in March to see the Chicago sights, including a Bulls game. The location of this hotel is right off the highway, and is very convenient for the Bulls game (we even walked home). However, if you like to make your way around the city on foot, I wouldn't recommend the location, as it's probably 2 to 3 miles from many of the key attractions in Chicago, even though it is still in the downtown area.

Our room was clean, and no complaints on the staff. Breakfast is not included, but there is a restaurant on site, as well as a delicious breakfast place right across the street. The hotel offers valet parking, but we found a lot for about half the price, only about a block away.

The hotel price was great, but probably fair, given the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southmansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We choose to book a block of rooms here for our wedding that was relatively close by. It worked out awesome . They were much easier to work with than others , staff was very attentive. I cannot imagine a more convenient location in the city , great restaurants and a Mariano's & Walgreens right across the street to help with all the last minute items. You want a high floor for good city views. I live in Chicago and have been in a quite a few hotels , this one was on par with the nice ones, but gets an A+ for the convenience factor .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith_0_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Keith_0_1983

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. Congratulations on you recent nuptials. We are delighted to know that your stay and experience with us contributed to a great wedding. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#127 of 192 in Chicago
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing