We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, however they overcharged me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #99 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, however they overcharged me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed for a week and found a great cost/benefit balance. Even though the hotel is a little bit old, the rooms are pretty comfortable. The gym isn't really good. Has very few machines and it is very short, therefore when using the treadmill, your head is almost by the ceiling.

I had an awful experience with post-customer service. My bill statement said a figure, but they charged me like 50 additional dollars. I tried to contact them using the form by the website but never received a response. So please bear in mind that you can be overcharged and have little or no response once you leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a north-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauricio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mauricio G

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. The level of service you describe in relation to your post stay is very unlike what we typically provide here. Please contact me directly if this billing issue has still not been handled to your satisfaction. Also, please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
cmansfield@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    381
    194
    49
    42
See reviews for
179
211
66
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Older hotel with some upgrades. Within walking distance of our downtown office and close to the highway. Very polite and efficient staff. For some reason, hotel prices went through the roof the week I was there. My room, as basic as it was, cost over $300/night + $39/night for parking. No idea why.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again. Unfortunately our rates do fluctuate based on business levels in the city and that is probably why the rates spiked while you were here.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We we're celebrating our wedding and wanted to store our bags until check in. Janita on finding out it was our wedding day immediately upgraded us to a suite and allowed us to do early check in. Our experience with this company and the staff we're remarkable. We couldn't be more pleased with the friendly and professional nature of the staff. The room was beautiful and the romance package was great. We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Chicago.

Room Tip: I recommend the King suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Joshua R

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that we were able to be a part of your wedding experience and that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff (particularly Janita) highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I went to ASCO meeting 2 weeks ago and couldn't find a room in my colleagues hotel. So I stayed in Crown Plaza Chicago Metro. Really a nice hotel with friendly employees.

I especially want to thank Janita who helped me to solve an important problem of mine. She was so kind and supportive on dealing with the problem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CemalBattal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Cemalbattal,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again. I will surely pass on your nice comments to Janita.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here during the ASCO conference.My check in late at night was quick, the reception staff always friendly and helpful.
My room was comfortable and clean and spacious enough. Unfortunately it overlooked the busy road junctions which did mean that I was aware of heavy traffic noise through the night.

The breakfast service was a disappointment for two reasons. Despite the fact that the place was not very busy at the time I came down ( 0830), the serving shelf around the kitchen was literally piled hight with dirty plates and dishes. So much so that you couldn't see the chef making breakfasts because of the unwashed plates. This makes a terrible impression on guests. Also the range of food available on the buffet was limited. Lots of the dishes were empty and had not been refreshed. The food I did eat was of very average quality. The next day I chose to eat elsewhere.
For this reason I think that the hotel was struggling with the pressure of having many guests.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing busy roads if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear yes61,

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. I will be following up with our restaurant team as to what happened on this day as this is not the norm for Dine. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
293 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been there since May 26th to June 1st. The staff is very professional and they care you with their opinions.
Very clean, near the Loop, well conected. Free services such as wi-fi.
Good breakfast. Besides Greek Neighbourhood with important restaurants, near it has an organic center of fruits and vegetables, called Mariano's Fresh Market.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoraSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Nora Side

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We enjoy Mariano's across the street as well for all the fresh items. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Super nice at check in. Room was clean and adequate for our stay. Our room faced the parking lot so we didn't have any trouble with noise. Room 306. Thought it was nice they have a good breakfast place across the street.

Room Tip: I used spothero for parking on Washington St. It was $10 for 24 hours. Across the street and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabbers4605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#109 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
West Loop
Corporate Suites Network at Presidential Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing