We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4-star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #95 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It has a 4 star rating on Hotwire but if you are trying to pick between this and a 3 star, pick the 3 star. Location is OK but not great. It's a 1/2 mile walk to the Green line or the Ogilvie train station and 3/4 mile to the Willis (Sears) Tower. Also you have to cross the interstate on/off ramps to get there. Basically you have to run for it across the on/off ramps since there is no crosswalk light.

The room itself was a little worn and shabby. Bathroom had a sliding door that did not lock.
Maids knocked every morning at 8:30 AM which was not ideal for vacationing. ;) Remember to put out your DND if you don't want to wake up early!

Typical hotel restaurant with $19/person breakfast buffet. I did make note that the guests in front of us at check-in got vouchers for breakfast but not hotwire guest. Try Meli Cafe 1/4 mile away and you don't have to cross interstate to get there. :)

The staff was helpful and friendly.

I would not stay here again. It's not what I would expect from a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear David N

Thank you for your honest feedback from your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. It is disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and will share your feedback with our management so that we may explore ways to enhance our offerings. I am sorry to hear that your room was not up to your expectations. Our team takes great pride in providing a clean and functioning room. I will surely address this with them. Thank you again for your review and comments. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Recently stayed on a business trip to Chicago. Had a very large King room on the 12th floor. It had been recently updated. It was comfortable and well appointed. It 's in 5he West Loop but you can get anywhere in town from there by taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTwain1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear MarkTwain1910

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We picked this hotel due to it being walking distance from the train station and it was fantastic. The rooms were very clean and the staff helped us out with all of our needs. Right across the street is a wonderful grocery store where you can get shucked oysters or eat at their sushi bar or have your meat or fish grilled at the grill section. We had a wonderful view of the city so the hotel has excellent views and you get your own balcony which was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear peterballantine,

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our wonderful location and took advantage of the great city views from our balconies. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I chose this hotel because it was withing walking distance of an event I was attending. It was reasonably priced, considering the downtown Chicago location, but it did not feel at all like a cheap hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating, graciously helping with an early check-in and suggesting a good route for running. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. I will definitely stay there again should I need downtown accommodations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lfleming1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Lfleming1019,

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

First sight was "Sears Tower" from my balcony! How great is that! Walked to State St. Room great, big screen tv and fridge. Negative was extremely cold restaurant. I asked staff and they said it was just right. We couldn't eat there but took drinks into hotel lobby. Saw other women with drinks, shivering, coming into lobby too!
My husband was at AIA show and Janita Walton, a lovely, helpful young woman with great hair, let me stay a little longer in the room....watching HGTV...a MUST at any hotel! I really appreciated that. The Holiday Inn chain are always very accommodating.... that could be their new ad!!!

Room Tip: Ask for view if available. I think all rooms have balconies
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaChanceEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear AngelaChanceEden

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly pass on your great comments regarding Janita and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Walking distance to union station, Sears tower, and state street. Greek town is also very close. Room was clean. Service was decent. Room was pricey, but it is downtown Chicago, so that is to be excepted. The area seems nice with a couple of restaurants and a grocery store in close proximity.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Jason G

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us while enjoying all that the West Loop has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The front staff were very friendly and helpful. They even upgraded my room! (I am an points member). Clean hotel, friendly staff, walking distance to downtown. Great place if you love Greek food, which I do. Another good restaurant called Au Chaval down the road. Just some waiting time if you eat there.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Robert F

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#122 of 191 in Chicago
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £103 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing