We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #96 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not Pleased”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had high expectations for this hotel being a crowne plaza, even if it wasn't in the best spot. when we finally got our room key and went up to our floor and out the elevator we noticed the carpet was so filthy(8th floor) I'm talking like a couple piles of dirt. it look like someone had sweet it up, so i thought to myself "oh they're going to vacuum it" but no, it was still there the next day. Okay now i may be biased because i work at a hotel that is super clean, but isn't that how they all should be? Also, my AC stopped working around 3AM. Worst.Sleep.Ever. Other than that, the staff was wonderful! Any questions we had they helped us with right away! next time i will definitely pay more to be on Michigan Ave, because i basically spent more in cab fare!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear dalia h

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. We certainly agree with you that all hotels should be immaculately clean and this is something that we do indeed pride ourselves on. We consistently get some of the higher marks in the brand for cleanliness. Your comments will be passed on to our housekeeping manager to determine what happened on this particular day. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    406
    209
    52
    43
See reviews for
199
217
69
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lower expectations led to a serendipity of experiences at this hotel: lovely staff, clean lobby, clean and comfortable rooms, great view, Mariano's Grocery/Starbucks steps away, good restaurant and blocks from shopping.

Special commendation to Janita for her professionalism and above and beyond attitude at the front desk! Janita deserves a bonus and a promotion!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway are quieter but you miss the downtown view. Request a higher floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Robert M,

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass on your comments to Janita. She is truly one of our stars. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

In town for cousins wedding, so options were limited. Took a shuttle from the airport, painless check-in, nice rooms, good staff. Walked down to Macy's to stretch my legs, passed coffee places, the train station, stores, etc. Starbucks around the corner, many Greektown bakeries and restaurants within walking distance.

Other than some unfortunate late-night Sounds from the room next door, it was a good stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KimChaos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear KimChaos99,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was interestingly decorated, we liked it. Pillows were not so good but everything else was great. It was very well done with a great view and close to the United Center which was why we were there. Walking distance and safe in the dark. All employees were friendly and very helpful. It's a busy place and the staff handled all the goings on with professionalism. I had read many of the other reviews and was apprehensive but we were not at all disappointed and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go2FunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Lowachris

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed our close proximity to the United Center as well as our great staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmetta, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I stay at Crowne Plaza when we can, her job offers her a discount at their locations and we are never disappointed.
Our room was clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering its location right next to the Freeway. We had a balcony with a great view of Willis Tower, which was fun because we visited the Willis Tower Skydeck and saw our hotel and then saw the Skydeck from the hotel. Full circle kind of thing that for some reason I found entertaining.
The hotel is a bit of a ways from some main attractions. We walked to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain and the Art Institute, which was a bit far. Taxi's line up outside the hotel and we honestly should have probably utilized them. Our fault, not the hotels. We were in town to catch a Cubs game at Wrigley Field. Staff was helpful pointing out the best way to get to and from the ballpark. They also recommended some good food spots in the local Greek town section that the hotel is located in.
Only complaint was the attached restaurant, Dine. We had breakfast there one morning and it was downright terrible. Wife's waffle was cold somehow and the buffet was crazily overpriced for very limited options. Skip it and eat somewhere else. Otherwise, helpful staff and comfy rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the skyline, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear David G

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are glad that you got to take advantage of so many of Chicago's wonderful attractions as well as the great view from your rooms balcony. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My review is based on this:

I had to pass through Chicago on my way home and was coming in to meet friends for dinner, shop, and get my hair cut, and then going out the very next day. This is a great place for that. If you aren't driving and looking to spend more time around the Magnificent mile of by the lake, it probably wouldn't be the most convenient location.

Driving in Chicago is crazy and, therefore, the ability to ditch your car right off the freeway and then either walk, take public transportation, or take a taxi everywhere is key. The cost to park is $39.00. Believe me, that is not outrageous in Chicago. The Blue line is by Amtrak, which is close and the red line is a bit farther but fine if you are used to it. If not, take a taxi which are right outside the door.

The rooms. I can only say that when I stay there, we stay in the suites. There is plenty of room—separate living room and bedroom. The bathroom has a separate tub and shower. The working area though is in the bedroom and just is straight across one wall and bit skinny for comfort, that is probably my only complaint but since I don't go to work, it doesn't matter for me. Nor does the fact that the lobby area is small.

As for the staff, they are nice but a bit slow on the learning curve. I think they do need to be more attentive but I think they mean well, they just need a bit more experience. For instance, I called down to ask for a scissors to cut a tag off my dress. They said that I could come down for it. They were friendly about it but they should have know to come straight up with it and not expect me to come down. When I told them I had just stepped to of the shower and the dress I would be wearing was the one I need the scissors for, they came up right away. Again, there wasn't an ounce of rudeness about it, time and experience will help.

I will definitely stay there when I am going in and out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Traveler1202

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stated here because it was close to the train station where we began our last vacation on the California Zephyr. We were a little bit early for check-in so we went into their restaurant for lunch. Since this hotel is in Greektown the menu had a Mediterranean slant to it which was fine, and the food was ok. We made our way back to the lobby, which was way too small, and checked in. Since it was a Friday there were some business meetings going on and, I think, a birthday party. Consequently the elevators were pretty busy and we waited a while. Getting to the room, we found it satisfactory, but nothing to write home about. Luckily, we had used points to stay here so we were glad we had no out-of-pocket costs. We had breakfast across the street the next morning and caught a cab to the train station, so unless you have a compelling need to be in this location find another hotel. Parking fees are outrageous and the lot is way too small.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you have points to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichC32958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear RichC32958

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. It is unfortunate that we were unable to wow you with our service and accommodations as is the norm for our hotel. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#120 of 190 in Chicago
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing