We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #96 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Beecher, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel...would stay again”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed one night while attending an event close by. First, I loved that it has a driveway and parking off the street...many of the downtown hotels expect you to stop in the street to unload and what a pain that is! We did opt to park in the garage ourselves for $10...they charge $22 to park for you or $39 to park in the lot...the garage is a short distance away.

Second, check in was fast with no wait. The staff was very friendly without being fake. The room was fine...we had a separate sitting room. It was clean and once we turned the a/c up, it was like a walk in fridge and that's how we like it. Some complain about the outside noise because you are right by the expressway and are downtown after all, but just set the fan in the on position and it drowns it out.

Third, room service and food. We ordered the BLT and fries and it arrived in about 15 mins. It was pretty good. We also ate in the cafe downstairs for breakfast and it was okay...pancakes are to die for!!!

Lastly, we had the shuttle package which included drinks and appetizers. We were told to be in the lobby at a certain time. We went down and realized we didn't have enough time for a drink let alone appetizers. It would have been nice if they told us to come down a half hour earlier to partake...miscommunication on both sides I suppose. While the shuttle takes you to the United Center, you have to find your own way back...would not be happy about that during less pleasant weather...maybe it's something they can change.

Overall, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Just leave the fan on run and it will drown out the traffic noise outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Barbara D,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. I am glad that you found our services genuine and the room accommodating. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Chicago.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    401
    203
    52
    43
See reviews for
193
215
68
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference. I spend a lot of time in Chicago, and it was a nice change of pace to be in the West Loop. Greektown offers restaurants I don't often think of, or get to. The hotel location was easy to find, easy to get anywhere from, safe walking to restaurants at night. The room was fine, comfortable bed, clean. The common areas did not seem to have air conditioning though. The hallways were hot and humid, as were the reception areas of conference. Onsite, easy (and reasonable) valet parking was a welcome option.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear wisgirl01,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very average hotel. Older hotel that needs some TLC. Door handel in room 1129 you must push up to open door it needs replaced. Bathroon doors slide to close and come off track very easy. Water pressure in shower is weak. Not sure I would stay again for the price unless they had a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear monkey12,

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. I have inspected the room myself and will be having our engineering team address your mentioned issues. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had high expectations for this hotel being a crowne plaza, even if it wasn't in the best spot. when we finally got our room key and went up to our floor and out the elevator we noticed the carpet was so filthy(8th floor) I'm talking like a couple piles of dirt. it look like someone had sweet it up, so i thought to myself "oh they're going to vacuum it" but no, it was still there the next day. Okay now i may be biased because i work at a hotel that is super clean, but isn't that how they all should be? Also, my AC stopped working around 3AM. Worst.Sleep.Ever. Other than that, the staff was wonderful! Any questions we had they helped us with right away! next time i will definitely pay more to be on Michigan Ave, because i basically spent more in cab fare!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear dalia h

We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. We certainly agree with you that all hotels should be immaculately clean and this is something that we do indeed pride ourselves on. We consistently get some of the higher marks in the brand for cleanliness. Your comments will be passed on to our housekeeping manager to determine what happened on this particular day. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lower expectations led to a serendipity of experiences at this hotel: lovely staff, clean lobby, clean and comfortable rooms, great view, Mariano's Grocery/Starbucks steps away, good restaurant and blocks from shopping.

Special commendation to Janita for her professionalism and above and beyond attitude at the front desk! Janita deserves a bonus and a promotion!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway are quieter but you miss the downtown view. Request a higher floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Robert M,

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass on your comments to Janita. She is truly one of our stars. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

In town for cousins wedding, so options were limited. Took a shuttle from the airport, painless check-in, nice rooms, good staff. Walked down to Macy's to stretch my legs, passed coffee places, the train station, stores, etc. Starbucks around the corner, many Greektown bakeries and restaurants within walking distance.

Other than some unfortunate late-night Sounds from the room next door, it was a good stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KimChaos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear KimChaos99,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was interestingly decorated, we liked it. Pillows were not so good but everything else was great. It was very well done with a great view and close to the United Center which was why we were there. Walking distance and safe in the dark. All employees were friendly and very helpful. It's a busy place and the staff handled all the goings on with professionalism. I had read many of the other reviews and was apprehensive but we were not at all disappointed and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go2FunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Lowachris

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed our close proximity to the United Center as well as our great staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#120 of 190 in Chicago
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing