We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...an ok place to stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #94 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Lewistown, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location...an ok place to stay....”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a concert at Soldier Field. We picked it b/c location wasn't an issue for us, we were going to have to use transportation from any hotel to get to Soldier Field. It was also an extremely busy weekend and if the hotels on Mich. Ave weren't sold out, they were $300 a night! As a Priority Club gold customer, we were upgraded to a King Suite, which meant a room with a pullout couch and a room with a king bed. The king bed was comfy, and the AC worked wonderfully, and the water pressure in the shower was good with HOT water. It was an easy walk from Union Station, but we did take a cab to the El. There was no wait for our car the next morning with valet parking. Yes, you will hear highway noise but we did not hear noise from our neighbors. One of our TVs didn't work, and we did have to call up housekeeping at 2 AM to get the sheets and blankets for the pullout bed. But those weren't deal breakers to us. This was a fine hotel for a very busy weekend in Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    396
    201
    51
    42
See reviews for
189
214
68
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed for one night before taking the California Zephyr train from Union Station.

The hotel is well located just West of the Sears Tower. Unlike some previous reviewers I thought the location was ideal for walking to and from - it's about a 10 minute walk to Union Station (even with luggage) and it is cheap and easy to get cabs to and from the hotel if you don't fancy the walk. There are dozens of restaurants and Walgreens within a few hundred metres of the hotel.

Check-in and check-out was smooth and courteous, and when we requested a refrigerator for the room for some medication it arrived very quickly and without charge. The room was comfortable if a little small and had a tiny balcony with views over the city. We had lunch and a drink in the hotel bar/diner attached which was good and had some interesting microbrewery beers.

I was a little concerned as to whether the hotel would be noisy as there was (I think) a school prom going on and a big group of partying teenagers in the next room, but I heard no noise at all at night.

I have never understood the difference between Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn and don't know why the same company uses both brands - this was indistinguishable from any Holiday Inn.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The Crowne Plaza on Madison is located very close to some of the best Greek restaurants in Chicago. It is on one of the major bus routes and there is a supermarket across the street. Plan to use buses or taxis to get around since the "El" stops are too far away.

The hotel is very comfortable. We thought the desk staff was exceptionally considerate. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are well appointed and clean.

The in-room free internet was slow and at times, did not work at all.

My wife describes the fitness center as "very nice" She thought it was better than most because of the size and the variety of machines.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbarrenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This hotel was fine and everything was as expected. The room was clean (perhaps a bit small), location was close to UIC (where we were visiting) and restaurants on Halsted offered a good variety of Greek food (and other mainstreams, such as Starbucks). A nice grocery store (Dominick's) was up the road also. Everyone was friendly. At one point our TV suddenly failed to operate and, after phoning the front desk about it, a repairman showed up within minutes and fixed the problem. Also, parking was cheap for a downtown Chicago hotel--$36 valet with full in-and-out. Most other hotels are well over $40 a night. Although the area is a bit outside of the mainstream tourist area (it's in the West Loop), this is still a fine place to spend a couple of nights in the city. And it's easy to get to off of I-90/94.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsabjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We visited Chicago for the Taste of Chicago over the 4th. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleased with the rooms and found them to be very clean and well kept. The beds were very soft and I found it hard to sleep. The bar in the hotel was nice but over priced. The nacho's were pretty good but don't waste your money on the calamari, I am still not sure if it was calamari. Several people had gotten stuck in an elevator for about an hour and there were elevator issues the weekend so we took the stair most of the time to the 4th floor so that we would not become trapped. The location for the Taste was very bad and that was my friends fault. If you want to spend a lot of time near Grant park or Navy Pier this is not the right Hotel for you. The only major issue was when we went to check out we were charged for room service we did not order. Another man leaving at the same time we were was upset because his bill showed he had rented movies which he states he did not do. So if you decide to stay at this location make sure to check your bill out closely. Also, if you choose this location and like breakfast check out Meli a great breakfast restuarant about two blocks away from the hotel. Its a little spendy but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahianagirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This hotel is nothing like it suggests! Far away from Michigan Avenue, Navy Pier and everything else in the city! Pay a little extra for The Hyatt or Marriot downtown...the cab rides will make up the difference!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the Amtrak Station. We were just using it as a quick way-station between the train one day and a flight the next.

I cannot understand why Crowne Plaza is considered upscale. The accommodations are certainly acceptable, but not much more – and the service at this location was appalling.

I called a couple weeks before my stay and there was no answer for five + minutes.

My next phone experience was after check-in. The ventilation system didn’t work, so I telephoned for assistance. The operator put me through to front desk and it went straight to voice mail!! I tried again and no operator picked up at all. My husband finally went down to the front desk which was unattended; he had to search for someone to help him.

With 398 guest rooms, you would think someone would be minding the place.

When my husband finally located someone, they told him that they’d send someone up to take care of the problem. I called down to ask when he’d get there and I was told (verbatim): “When he knocks on your door.”

When the man arrived, we showed him the wall unit and demonstrated that turning the dial did nothing. He says, no, you have to use the thermostat – which was way on the other side of the room. We didn’t even see it and apparently the front desk personnel didn’t know anything about it, as I learned when I later explained what happened to the in case another guest had a similar experience.

And the system didn’t work anyhow. There is no setting for “fan.” It is either AC or heat with an automatic turn-off when the room reaches the desired temperature; we had to keep adjusting the temperature all night.

Although there was a balcony, we couldn’t leave it open it for fresh air because of the roar of traffic from the adjacent expressway.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_LadyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#117 of 189 in Chicago
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing