We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wet”

Buckingham Fountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.84*
and up
Chicago Riverwalk Parks and Architecture Segway Tour
Ranked #25 of 638 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago's landmark is considered one of America's finest fountains due to its Beaux-Arts-style landscape design, finely wrought bronze sculpture and innovative use of technology.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wet”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fountain was larger than I expected and the water show lasted a very long time. It was a ery windy day and the wind shifted the water mist in different directions. When it comes your way watch out - you get drenched! Very funny to watch unsuspecting tourists who are up close taking pictures.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 732dianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    744
    214
    41
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must Do”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fountain is gorgeous. At the top of every hour it shoots up water high in the air. Anyone standing close will get a bit wet depending on the wind's direction. Excellent spot to take a break from walking and relax. Many park benches. Beaituful views of the lake, and Chicago Skyline.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatashaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fountain in town!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Located by Lake Michigan, this is one of my (and my children's) favorite spot for an evening stroll. The fountain is quite large with several tiers A water jet shoots up every hour on the hour for a few minutes. Evenings are especially pretty with beautiful lights lighting up the fountain, Chicago skyline providing the backdrop on one side and Lake Michigan on the other . There is a lot of open space all around with comfortable benches, close to parks and restaurants. It's an all time favorite spot of my toddlers!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful day and a Rainbow to boot!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was excited enough to visit the fountain on foot, instead of seeing it from the car. I had no idea I'd get to see a rainbow too! Luckily, I happened to be there when the sun was at just the right angle to produce a rainbow in the fountain. I realized that just those of us on the west side of the fountain could see it, so I invited folks on the other sides to come see what we were looking at. Some did, and were so very happy. It's amazing how beauty could be steps away and you just can't see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AwakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It in the Summer”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As a native, this is one of my favorite summer spots. It's beautiful during the day and quite magnificent at night, with all the colorful lights. There are benches all around, as well as indoor restrooms. Walk north and south to see the beautiful flowers in Grant Park. Walk across Michigan Ave (at the crosswalk!) and walk along the lake. A great way to spend an hour or two on a summer afternoon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buckingham Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Buckingham Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing