We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service - Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #35 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I visited Chicago for the first time this past week. We can't say enough good things about our experience in Chicago...The people were just great, so friendly...people actually stopped to ask us if we needed help finding anything and similar experiences throughout our stay. This was also the case with the Courtyard Marriot near micacle mile on St. Claire. The staff was just so friendly, extremely helpful and most accommodating. My wife and I are from upstate New York...we've been to NYC a few times and a fair amount of other locations but
we have to say that Chicago possibly the best city in terms of the people, the architecture, the places, the food, the history. Our room was on the 15th floor with a few of the Chicago skyline, could not see Lake Michigan from our room - but no matter the view was still high rise rich. The bed was really confortable... we like to get a work out in the morning and we found the excerise room to be just what we needed. We did not try the hotel restaurant...as there were just so many placed in Chicago that we wanted to try...but we will say that room service was wonderful. My wife ordered oatmeal with fruit and raved about it I ordered and egg bacon and cheese on an english muffing and it tasted far beyond anything you get in the fast food places...and to my surprise there were two of them there! which I enjoyed! not sure if that was a mistake or not. If you need a cab, the staff is right there to summon one, and we got really nice Cadilac Escalades..big shiny black and spacious and we just felt safe and special in these...and the rates did not seem crazy hit...we spent like $25 to go to the other side of town.. well worth it.
One incredible thing we noticed as we had our window cracked open a pinch was this mourthwatering caramel flavor wafting around our area...there is this wonderful popcorn shop, not just any shot and shoot me for forgetting the name, but they have many flavors of popcorn
and there is always a line of people to get int though it moves fast...we were recommended to try the Chicago mix whichi is two kinds of popcorn mixed together, cheese and warm carmel and buttery and absolutely to die for! Well so what a great time - we would do it all again and make the Courtyard Marriout our place to call home while in Chicago. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our hotel! We are very glad you enjoyed many things, including our location, our fitness center, and even our comfortable beds! Although you may not have realized it, our room service is provided by our restaurant, Viand. Thank you for the compliments about Viand's food as well; I know our team enjoys it too! We look forward to having you stay with us during your next trip to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

On May 5th/6th, 2012, we stayed at this hotel. Allison was the one of the desk clerks, she was such the help to us. The rooms were so comfortable. In the room we stayed at, there were 2 TVs, a microwave, a coffee maker in the bathroom, 1 queen bed, a hide-a-bed and other neat features. The view was great from our window. We had a great bellman who actually hailed a taxi cab for us. We ate at the Viand American Bistro in the hotel and we got Starbucks that was literally next door to the lobby. Although for a few occasional ambulances going by, we had a quiet night. The hide-a-bed was pretty comfy and I liked the hotel overall. I recommend this hotel who needs a good night sleep. Trust me, you'll sure get one here. So make this your number 1 hotel choice in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: don't get a room next to the elevator, there tends to be kids running amok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REVIEWS10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Thank you for the comments about our hotel! We are glad you felt the rooms were comfortable; we strive for all of our guests to receive a good night's sleep. I will make sure that Allison's supervisor is aware of your nice compliments; she does a great job. Thank you for making us your number 1 hotel in downtown Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here last week with a friend in a room with two double beds. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. I typically don't sleep well in hotels, but I did well in this one. The front desk staff was courteous and very helpful. The location of this hotel is PERFECT! I could not believe that Garrett Popcorn shop was next door - literally. Thanks, I gained 5 pounds! LOL. There are two Gino's East nearby, one about 3 blocks, the other roughly 8 blocks. We were within walking distance to the Navy Pier (20 minutes), Tower Place (5 minutes), the Loop (15 minutes). I cannot wait to come back, this time with family. I will be booking my stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaturalBelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bertbrand, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review of the hotel. We agree and love the location of the hotel and even more, the amazing staff we have that takes care of our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We paid almost $300 a night for a room here, and although nothing too terrible stood out in our minds, we just were not impressed with the value. The room we got had two queens and a pull out sofa and it was all very cramped. Average bathroom. Also - it took three requests to get towels brought up. The bed, however, was very comfortable and view was good as well.

The location is very good for someone coming to do some shopping as it is right in the middle of the strip. Next door to Garret's popcorn if you wanted to get in line for that early. Starbucks downstairs which made grabbing a coffee and getting on your way very easy.

The bar downstairs serves the most expensive drinks in Chicago, so i would not recommend it.

Overall - okay, but just not what I would expect in terms of the room for $300 a night.

Also - i don't think this has anything to do with the hotel, but we had a very wierd person staying in the room next to us. Whenever we would come in and out of our room, he would open his door and glare.

When we came in after visiting some bars on a Saturday night, we weren't in our room 10 seconds before we heard scary banging on our door. We looked out the peep hole and didn't see anything. Then at a little before eight, we were all sleeping in when we got a strange call to the room. The person all the other line did not say anything, and then hung up. Right after the call, there was banging for about 20 seconds on the wall from the room where he stayed. It was all very erry and frightening. Again - don't think this had anything to do with the hotel, but what a strange experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntBee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bertbrand, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We have completely renovated all our guest rooms this year with a new exciting custom decor. We also have a new restaurant as well. We hope you will stay with us again and see our newly renovated hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at this property for a long weekend getaway, and we had a great time! Between the location, the great staff, the comfy rooms, and the restaurant, we had very few complaints, especially for the price.

Upon arrival and throughout our stay, the staff were all cheerful and eager to help. In fact, they actually seemed to be watching for puzzled faces and would ask if they could help out. We always got good advice.

Being that this is a smaller Chicago hotel, the views are not spectacular, but I knew that would be the case when I booked the hotel. I actually was pleasantly surprised to find that we could see the lake from our 22nd floor room, though.

Our room was very comfortable, and quite clean. There was a stain on the carpet in one spot and a small one on the couch, but the rest of the room was extremely tidy. I liked the decor which was full of red accents. It was a nice departure from the bland beige you see in many hotel rooms. The bed was comfortable as well. The bathroom was very clean. I liked that there was premium brand amenities in the bathroom, such as Paul Mitchell shampoo and wonderful smelling soaps and lotions.

The location was wonderful. The property is located half a block from the Magnificent Mile and from a bus stop to get you anywhere else you'd want to go.The Capital Grill (yum but pricey) is just across the intersection, and there's a Garrett's popcorn shop just steps away that is addictive as heck. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant every morning, and the wait staff and the food were great. The only thing I would change in the restaurant is the velveteen upholstered chairs, too hard to keep clean. They seemed on the dingy side, but the rest of the decor was nice. There is also a small Starbucks on the property, for those of us that need that fix.

All in all, we had a very comfortable, relaxing stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bertbrand, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We agree and love the location of our hotel and even more the amazing staff that takes care of all our guests. We have since completely renovated our hotel and the restaurant, we hope you will stay with us again to experience it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I book travel for our company. Chicago is inconvenient for larger tradeshows because the convention center, McCormick Place, is so far away from all the hotels in downtown Chicago, except for the one that is attached to the convention center. So, when staying in Chicago for larger conventions I consistently book this hotel for our group for the price, location and convenience of a smaller hotel. We can all collect our Marriott pts., we can walk to restaurants, shopping and local attractions. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large enough and the restaurant serves good food if you want to stay in. One potential caveat (for some), the hotel is around the corner from a hospital so you may hear ambulances in the night. But if you are used to city noise, it won't bother you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bertbrand, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate you staying with us while in town for meetings at the convention center. It is in a fantastic area with so many things to do. We hope you will continue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is the first time my wife and I stayed in this hotel and we had a very pleasant and memorable stay.We stayed for exactly one week. I was here for a convention. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a very warm reception from the door man to the front desk. In no time, we were already in our rooms. The size of the room was just right! Not only did it look clean it smelled very clean as well.
This hotel is near to everywhere we wanted to go. The magnificent mile was just around the corner and with a 7 day pass to transportation, your destination list is almost limitless. The warm front desk people were always willing to help even on the wee hours of the morning. When we request for something at the front desk, they never fail to make a follow up call just to check if our request has been fulfilled. We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we come back to Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank udascoeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bertbrand, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service, thank you for writing about it in your review. We have since completely renovated our entire hotel and restaurant, we hope you will stay with us again to experience it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £71 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing