We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #36 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice hotel, little hard to locate. Valet parking also a little difficult and hard to get to. Rooms were pretty nice. Staff very nice and helpful. Dining in hotel very good and good to have in-house dining a Marriott. Great, great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjtharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate all of your kind words about our staff and we will be sure to share with the entire team! Our restaurant, Viand Bar & Kitchen, has an excellent menu and we are so glad you were able to enjoy it! We definitely have to agree with you on our location; just steps from the Magnificent Mile, shopping, and main attractions! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I travel a lot and always stay at brand name hotels to insure consistency in quality. This was the exception. The room was dirty with a huge stain on the rug and dirty bathroom. When I returned to Chicago I had the chance to stay here again. I asked my agent to book me anywhere but this location. The bed was not situated on the frame correctly and I whacked my leg on the steel frame. I still have a bruise and it is one week later.
Never again. Sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high in the bldg or there may be a roof outside your window. Anything over the eleven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHumanVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your feedback is what will help us improve and we are grateful for having you share your experience. We have shared your comments with our departments to be sure the mentioned issues are corrected. Thank you for your time and we hope you will reconsider our hotel and give us an opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We were in Chicago for the Cher Lloyd concert. The Courtyard was roughly 15 min from the venue so that was pretty convenient. From the moment we pulled up the staff was awesome. Valet was very welcoming, front desk staff was super friendly, bell hop was very sweet. Popcorn in the lobby when we returned in the evening. Michigan Ave is right around the corner. Would for sure stay again!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank MissMimi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Chicago definitely loves its music so we are glad you were able to enjoy a concert! We appreciate all of your kind words about our staff! Our staff works extremely hard to meet all guest's expectations and we enjoy hearing our guest's feedback. We are located in the heart of the city; steps from the Magnificent Mile, great restaurants and shopping! We can't wait to have you back in the Windy City. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my four friends stayed here for my birthday weekend. I have stayed here before and knew what to expect. The rooms are large enough to fit all five of us comfortably . All the workers were super friendly. My only issue was that we valet the car. When we wanted to drive to a far away restaurant it took 40 minuets for them to get the car! The Starbucks is great and speedy as always! Location top notch! This is a great place to stay in Chicago, just don't valet your car. I probably will come back here!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile to celebrate your birthday! We hope you had a great weekend with friends! We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We are so happy you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable and our staff to be friendly! It is our goal to exceed all guest's expectations and make them feel right at home! We apologize for the delay you encountered with the Valet service and we will be sure to share your feedback with the parking garage. We look forward to hosting you again here at the Courtyard Magnificent Mile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have to stay at this hotel last weekend for a couple days. I booked my hotel around 2:00 PM and went to the hotel around 3:00 PM for check in. To my surprise, the hotel already have the key made given I am their Platinum Premier member. They gave me an upgrade to a Jr. Suite on the top floor. The view is really nice. I am really happy with this hotel. A little expensive, but it worth the money considering the location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate your loyalty as a Marriott Platinum Premier member! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our location, we love that we are located in the heart of downtown. We have an extensive list of shops, restaurants, and main attractions to see within walking distance of our hotel. It was our pleasure assisting you during your stay and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wasn't my first stay in Chicago but we wanted to try staying near Magnificent mile. Great location to that. Location was near to train station as well. Room was decent and clean. Check in staff was terrific. However, the room could not be locked or properly ledged from inside. I feedback to an Asian-looking male staff at the counter. He wasn't really forthcoming and polite like the check-in staff. He said he will send an engineer to check it out. When we came back to the hotel and check with the same staff. He said the room can't be ledged from inside but from the outside it is locked. They will fix it when we check out. This answer is totally not reassuring to our safety at all. He appeared annoyed, impatient and didn't propose an alternative. Was really surprised at his attitude and mannerisms as a hotel staff - Totally ruin the hotel stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank alicial538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay; we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We strive to exceed expectations and the appropriate departments have been notified to prevent this from future happenings. We hope that we can have another chance to host your next stay in Chicago. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel for a long weekend in Chicago. It was very consistent with the first - the room was spacious and clean and the staff was friendly. There is a Starbuck's in the hotel, but there always seems to be a line out the door. The Streeterville location is great for getting around to many Chicago attractions on foot or bus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for your second visit to Chicago. We are so glad that you found our rooms to be spacious and clean and our staff to be friendly! Our staff works hard to exceed all guest expectations and our goal is to make every guest feel right at home. We have to agree with you on our location; just steps away from the Magnificent Mile, great restaurants and public transportation! We look forward to your next visit with us here in the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £80 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing