We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great online deals - nice location & vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #114 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I booked a 2 night package stay online so the parking and internet access was free. This was my first trip to Chicago with my young adult daughters and we were there for the sights and shopping. We stayed on the 19th floor which was also the Jimmy Hendricks floor. Robert Plant art was in the bathroom. The work out center was fantastic! You can play pool in the front lobby - just ask the front desk for the cue and balls. The prices in the Chuck's restaurant were a bit pricey but the food was good.

Room Tip: You can ask the desk for a particular artist floor when checking in or making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseyglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

First and foremost, thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to post this five-star rating on your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your daughters enjoyed your room on the 19th floor along with our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to some of the best shopping in downtown Chicago! We look forward to welcoming you and your daughters back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 2,754 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have stayed a number of time at the Hard Rock in the past couple of years and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

The rooms are quite large, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and I absolutely love the location. Its next to the river, close to the Golden Mile as well as Millenium Park with a number of restaurants, Starbucks and even souvenir shops close by.

It has almost everything you would want from a business hotel or if you were visiting with family.

And for all that, it is great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

First and foremost, thank you for being one of our most loyal guests and for taking the time to post such a positive review on your most recent stay with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our large guest rooms, friendly staff and Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to Chicago's hottest restaurants, shops and local attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your business or leisure travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel while I was in Chicago on business. The staff was very friendly and gave us free wifi since I was here for 8 days. We stayed on the 23rd floor and it was reasonably quiet as hotels go. We could hear the sirens of ambulances going to Northwestern hospital but ear plugs blocked that out. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff was very friendly and considerate. This was my first time staying at a Hard Rock but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboydpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

First and foremost, thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago during your most recent business trip. We certainly appreciate this five-star review on your first-ever stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that our staff delivered rock star service to you and your wife and we look forward to welcoming you back for a second stay very soon. Thanks again for sharing this positive feedback with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week. The nightly rate was very good but they absolutely kill you on the parking! It was $50 PER night for parking! Learning this upon check-in was a bit of a downer and hit the budget.
However, we did have a corner room with lots of windows which was nice. The bed was very comfortable, room was clean and decorated as would be expected for this hotel.
Complaints...I wish they offered refridgerator space for guests to use. Instead it's completely full with "bar items" that you cannot remove. We enjoy having healthy snacks available and that wasn't possible here. The location is great, but would probably research for another option next time paying close attention to parking costs, room amenities and if a breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your corner guest room with beautiful city views, Michigan Avenue location and the overall decor of our musically-inspired property. As a note of disclosure, our parking rates are price-competitive with other hotels located along the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago. Also, we do offer a minibar restocking fee of $25 to use the in-room refrigerator for personal items during your stay with us. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Recently stayed here for business. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are big but I have to be honest that the window in the shower was really strange. Next time I will make sure to ask for a room not overlooking Michigan Ave as it can be a little noisy with the fire department about a block over. Ate at Chuck's, they are more focused on being trendy than how the food tastes. Angels and Kings - eek. Buffet was $20 for crunchy pancakes, dirty plate, dirty mug, dirty silverware. I would have rather burned the $20 in the street.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank aimblkjak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this feedback on your most recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We're happy to hear that you received friendly and helpful service from our staff and that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to the city's hottest bars, restaurants and attractions. Please accept our sincerest apologies that the food in Angels and Kings and Chuck's Manufacturing was not to your liking. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as we continue to improve on the service we deliver to our guests. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is my absolute favorite in Chicago. Not only does the vibe make it so much fun, but the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are all great, especially the Platinum King and the hotel staff are all very friendly. The musical atmosphere is also such a plus for me because it feels like there's always something going on, even when you come back from the bars. I have also grown very fond of Chucks the bar attached to the hotel. They have great dj's and it's the coolest environment. I stayed there for St. Patty's day this year for the first time and will be doing every year from now on!

Room Tip: The Platinum King is AWESOME with great view...but I just stayed in a room with two Queens and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaRae00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Reading this review was music to our ears! We can't thank you enough for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to provide such outstanding feedback on your stay with us over St. Patrick's Day weekend (one of the best celebrations in our city all year!). We're beyond thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the overall vibe of our musically-inspired atmosphere and your first dining and drinking experience in Chuck's Manufacturing. We can't wait to welcome you back for St. Patrick's Day - or any day, for that matter! Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I especially liked the vibe in the hotel, with a great hotel bar that is frequented by locals as well as hotel guests, great musical atmosphere all around the hotel, and you can even borrow a guitar and jam in your room for free (safety deposit required).

The room itself was ok, but nothing special, king bed and large empty space with no furnishings or anything in it, and water pressure was a bit low in the shower.

Internet access in the room is a bit pricey, but if you pay the little extra for the faster connection you get real good speed and quality internet connection.

Overall a good choice in the center of the city if you like more vibrant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this five-star review on your most recent stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you appreciate our vibrant, high-energy atmosphere and picks program, which allows our guests to utilize Fender guitars during their stay with us. As a note of disclosure, we offer free WiFi service for guests who book their reservations directly through out website, so please keep that in mind the next time you stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,776 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 192 in Chicago
2,576 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £92 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing