We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gray”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #110 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gray”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I realize this is a "niche" hotel, but is very dark decorated in hues of gray & purple. Not very welcoming in Chicago in January when it is cold & gray outside. That being said, the rooms are clean & quiet. The location is great. This is the 2nd year we have been here for an event, and on a big day the showers are warm but not hot. Not so bad the rest of the week.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larkin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we're very happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and quiet and enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location, we are very sorry that the purple and gray décor was not to your liking. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    868
    448
    185
    116
See reviews for
402
921
164
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

for the price you pay you should have a room as picture the Internet show them. The picture show big Rumi colorful rooms. My room was very dull. It was more like staying at a Motel 6 then a 4 or 5 star hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review; we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive guest experience at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We are very sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss this matter in further detail, please email us directly: email@hardrockhotelchicago.com. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

According to front desk "when many people take showers at the same time" the steam from boiler boils up and makes a LOUD jackhammer sound in bathroom. I asked if they were doing construction- to which I was told no- it was normal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muotathal, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed in the hotel for business purposes. The location is great, you are in the middle of the city and near to everything you may want to see, Millennium park is just a short walk away, so is Lake Michigan and the Magnificient Mile. The staff was very friendly and helpful, my credit card was making problems while check-in and the staff was understanding and great in solving this thing with me. I have not eaten there but heard food is great, but expensive (this is the case with all Hard Rock restaurants in my opinion) I would recommend this hotel any time.

Room Tip: Rooms up top have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RippinKittin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
WOW! Thank you so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking a moment to tell us about your outstanding experience as a business traveler on our property. We're overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to Millennium Park and the Magnificent Mile. We're also pleased to hear that our staff was helpful, friendly and accommodating during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your business or leisure travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Guitar rental deposit was $500 on top of $100 room deposit I wasn't expecting. TV had controls disconnected. Food prices outrageous. Might not get WiFi if you don't book through website. Not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review; we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive guest experience at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. As a note of disclosure, the guitar rental deposit of $500 and standard $100 incidentals charges are fully returned to our guests upon check-out. If you would like to discuss this matter in further detail, please email us directly: email@hardrockhotelchicago.com. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you are looking for location, it's perfect. It has a great atmosphere and the restaurant staff was very friendly. Concierge and front desk was nice. You can tell the building has been around awhile. The hallways and lobby have had more updates than the room itself. It was a place to go to sleep at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on your most recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, musically-inspired atmosphere and downtown Chicago location in close proximity to the city's hottest restaurants, shops and local attractions. We sincerely appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you back for a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#67 of 190 in Chicago
1,059 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing