We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #110 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The view from our room was awesome, facing Michigan Ave. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly. My only complaint was valet parking was expensive, but I'm sure that has more to do with the city tax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to write this outstanding review on your recent guest experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Michigan Avenue view, clean room and friendly staff. As a note of disclosure, our valet parking rates are price-competitive with other neighboring hotels and properties in the downtown Chicago area. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    868
    449
    185
    116
See reviews for
402
922
164
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel was nice and in a good location. There were some broken things in the bathroom and overall the room was okay. The hotel seemed pretty empty at the time. I visited the bar for a few drinks but it was basically empty. 4 beers on tap with 2 local options which was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago to warm up during the dreaded "polar vortex" and for taking the time to share your feedback with us! So that we can ensure the broken items mentioned in your review have since been taken care of, please contact us at email@hardrockhotelchicago.com to let us know of your room number. Thanks again for your review; we hope to see you for a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Recently spent two nights at this hotel at a reasonable rate for the location. Rooms were contemporary, not large, but comfortable. Only negative - no view. Right on Michigan Ave, it's close to Millenium Park and North Michigan Ave. for shopping. Chucks restaurant had a variety of choices for all meals, and won the Iron Chef Burger contest on the Food Network. Two bars, one late-night offer choice for imbibing. Younger clientele, lots of tattoos, but friendly staff.

Room Tip: No views unless facing Michigan Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltsnnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago for your recent trip to the Windy City! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable guest rooms and your dining experience in our restaurant, Chuck's: A Kerry Simon Kitchen. The Iron Chef burger is one of our most popular menu items and is certainly quite the sandwich sensation! We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance from all major attractions in the city. The room was small, but really nice and spacious enough for 2 people. My fiance proposed here and got the hotel to prepare the room with champagne, flowers, chocolate covered strawberries and they did an awesome job! It was very romantic =) Everyone was super nice and gave us some really cool suggestions of places to eat and things to see too. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
WOW! Congrats on your recent engagement; we're absolutely thrilled and honored to hear that your fiancé chose Hard Rock Hotel Chicago as the place for your proposal and hope it went above and beyond your wildest dreams! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the romantic surprises that made your guest experience so special and wish you both a lifetime of happiness! We look forward to welcoming you two lovebirds back for a return visit. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Hard Rock Chicago was not impressive at all. The rooms are very dark, old and run down. The staff was courteous and professional. There is not a lot of options for room service. -- The best option on the menu was the burger. This is definitely not a four star hotel, but if you get it for a good price ($80 or less per night), the location makes up for it. Overall, the Hard Rock Chicago is just ok.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxAnnMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
First and foremost, thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central downtown location and received courteous, professional and highly attentive service from our staff, we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive guest experience with us. Should you decide to reserve an encore stay with us, please keep in mind that we very recently launched a more enhanced in-room dining menu with delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner options sure to please any palate. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I realize this is a "niche" hotel, but is very dark decorated in hues of gray & purple. Not very welcoming in Chicago in January when it is cold & gray outside. That being said, the rooms are clean & quiet. The location is great. This is the 2nd year we have been here for an event, and on a big day the showers are warm but not hot. Not so bad the rest of the week.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larkin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we're very happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and quiet and enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location, we are very sorry that the purple and gray décor was not to your liking. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

for the price you pay you should have a room as picture the Internet show them. The picture show big Rumi colorful rooms. My room was very dull. It was more like staying at a Motel 6 then a 4 or 5 star hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review; we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive guest experience at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We are very sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss this matter in further detail, please email us directly: email@hardrockhotelchicago.com. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#66 of 190 in Chicago
1,062 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing