We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre stay in Chicago-Hard Rock Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #114 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Got a great price on Priceline. Staff (Matthew) at check-in were phenomenal !! Got a free upgraded room. Room was clean but a tiny bit worn. One curtain was ripped on the edges with coffee stains and the tile grout on bathroom floor coming up but certainly nothing to complain about for 2 nights stay. Housekeeping likes to knock on your door at 10:00 am to clean so if you want more sleep make sure to put the sign on the door. Great location for theatre goers. BEWARE: Parking at the hotel is $60 dollars/night and was equal to what we paid for the room. we were assured that downtown this was the going rate. Might want to scope out different parking like the Millineum Garage where we heard it was $20/night and take a cab to the hotel. All in all the hotel was absolutely fine. Rooms were on the larger size for a downtown area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago during your most recent visit to the Windy City! We're thrilled to hear that you received such rock star treatment from our staff, who was able to accommodate an easy check-in process and offer a complimentary room upgrade during your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback concerning the condition of your room; as a note of disclosure, our parking rates are price-competitive with other neighboring hotels in the downtown Chicago area. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,755 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Loved this hotel. Spent four nights over the labour day weekend. We were in one of the tower rooms overlooking Michigan Ave. The location can't be beat and the quality of the room was amazing. No comments on parking as we did not have a car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazytraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to spend your Labor Day weekend at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such marvelous feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your guest experience in one of our beautifully appointed tower rooms overlooking Michigan Avenue and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location on the Mag Mile. Located in a beautiful historical building, the Hard Rock is a great choice for staying in downtown Chicago. The rooms weren't as posh as I expected, but totally adequate for our stay. The atmosphere is fun, and there are plenty of great bars/restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try to get a room not facing Michigan Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSchawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such positive feedback with us! Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location and beautiful historic home in the Carbide and Carbon building. We are happy to hear you experienced such a fun stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I chose this hotel for my business trip as it was by far the most reasonable, so my expectations were not super high. But the service was superb everywhere, in the restaurant, concierge, front desk, and they responded very quickly to requests,
My room was huge with everything you would need, very comfortable bed.
The decor was really interesting, each floor with portraits of e.g the. Beatles, BB king plus framed fendi guitars and memorabilia! you can even play one of the guitars if you like.
From previous trip advisor comments I avoided using the mini bar apart from water, and there was no free wifi for me, it was nearly $14 per day. Also no breakfast buffet, but individual service, but food was very good with fast service.
I would definitely go back. A real one off experience to meet the Beatles eyes from their portrait as I got out of the shower.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippabray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago during your most recent business trip to the windy city! We are beyond thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations in terms of the superb service you received from our entire staff. We're also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, music-inspired décor and memorabilia and Fender guitar rental program. As a note of disclosure, free WiFi is available to all guests who book directly through our website. We hope you will keep that and us in mind the next time your business or leisure travels bring you back to Chicago. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What do you expect if you would be a rock star?!

Problems with the heating and ice-cold floor in your bathroom?!
Garbage in your trash can?!
Cheap and scratchy furniture?!
Poor amenities like just soap and shampoos?!
Average and overpriced dinning with 20% included without other taxes?!
Problems with remote control?!
No normal ashtrays in front of the hotel?!
No dressing room if you wanna buy clothes in the shop?!
Dirty coffee machine?!
Forks/knives and drinking glasses just after your request?!
No slippers and bathrobes in your room?!
Cheap snacks and drinks with f****** motion system?!

Hard Rock Hotel in Chicago have MORE benefits for you! Just try it! ;-)

PS If be honest they upgraded the room and it's large enough and there is a lot of cool staff, but I just can't explain how much we are dissapointed with our first staying... Wil see what we have in Panama HRH in one week! :-(

Room Tip: You'd better choose other place to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ixes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. It’s important for us to hear thoughts from our guests as it’s the best way for us to enhance our guest’s Hard Rock experience.

We are deeply disturbed by several of the improvement opportunities you mention in this review and would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant issues you experienced. It certainly sounds as if you did not experience the high service standards that we set for our hotel and for our guest’s overall enjoyment.

This review has been shared with our hotel managers so that we can investigate the different problems that you experienced while staying with us and make sure no guests encounter the same issue in the future. Please contact us directly at email@hardrockhotelchicago.com so that we can discuss further and ensure that a refund for the Internet services is immediately issued. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I visited Chicago for work and stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel for the 2nd time. It was a great experience once again and I look forward to returning. Even though it was 2 degrees outside the room was nice and warm and I slept very nicely. The sheets and pillows were excellent and the shower was great. My room was on Michigan Ave so I had a window in my shower (there was a pull down blind). My only complaint was that the bathroom was colder than the rest of the hotel room but there was a built in space heater in the bathroom which i took advantage of once i knew it was there. I do wish someone would have shown me to my room and shown me the heater and everything. Otherwise it was a great stay and i am looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago; we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your second stay in one of our guest rooms overlooking Michigan Avenue and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit. Thanks so much for your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a very interesting modern themed hotel located in a beautiful historic building from the 20's. The location was very good (Michigan Avenue and Wacker Drive) and we had a beautiful river view from our room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago; we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our guest rooms with city views, historic home in the Carbide and Carbon Building and Michigan Avenue location. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,777 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
7,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,576 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £92 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing