We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #107 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I loved the Hard Rock Hotel in San Diego so I opted to stay here. It was a disappointment. The room was small and DARK. The restaurant seemed just ok (I didn't even opt to eat there) and the location was ok but not great for enjoying the best of chicago...

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KG702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive experience. Please accept our sincere apologies that our ambient, musically-inspired atmosphere and location on the base of the Magnificent Mile were not to your liking. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    856
    432
    177
    112
See reviews for
384
898
163
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Do not book this hotel. They will not bend over backwards or any other way for that matter, for anything. Not friendly upon arrival or when our room is a sauna. They do not turn the a/c on and have made excuse after excuse for everything wrong. They do not care about their customers, just their money. I would highly suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccawest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
First and foremost, thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are incredibly disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy a more positive, authentic experience at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any unfriendliness encountered during your stay. Please contact us directly should you wish to discuss this further: email@hardrockhotelchicago.com. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

short visit to Chicago for a hockey game. Hotel room was clean and comfortable, but a bit small. Location is great, easy access to everything. having to pay for wifi seems like gouging, should be included in room rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable guest room and our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to the city's hottest shops, restaurants and local attractions. As a note of disclosure, complimentary WiFi is provided to all guests who book their reservations directly through our website. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great location and awesome staff! Recently stayed while visiting Chicago for a Bulls game. Would highly recommend to everyone. The rooms, front desk staff, valet and overall service was awesome. I continue to stay here each time I visit Chicago

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsivory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Wow! Thanks so much for the fantastic feedback on your most recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago; we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location, well-appointed guest rooms and highly personalized service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had tickets to Hendrix experience concert wanted to stay at Hard Rock hotel. My husband and I both play guitar so had a guitar brought to room. The Platinum king suite was perfect. view of the city and saw the river get dyed green for St. Patrick's day. Everything was great except in morning no hot water to take a shower. When checking out mentioned it to front desk who said yeah I know! Don't understand why it didn't seem to be a big deal but that's fine. I would like to know what kind of pillows they use I really liked them. I did like we were able to check in early.

Room Tip: Looking for cheap parking go to park wiz ABM right across the street. Overnight $36.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ydanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago during your St. Patrick's Day weekend. We're thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your Platinum King suite and were able to take advantage of our Fender guitar rental program, which allows guests to jam out in their rooms the duration of their stay with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused with the hot water; thank you for bringing this issue to the front desk team's attention upon check-out so that our engineering team could resolve the problem. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago; thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Off the northeast corner of the loop on a dingy part of Michigan avenue. This is a dark green and gilded gleaming gem of a building on the outside, lots of bronze and stone in the lobby. I was there on a slack winter weekend via a Priceline deal. The room was quite nice, excellent bedding, nice TV and bath. The warnings about moving the minibar items seemed a bit ominous - but I'd never pay $8 for a can of Pringles or a candy bar! Plenty of Walgreens/CVS around for convenience items. Trader Joes and Whole foods within a half dozen blocks north for in room snacks.

This hotel is quite convenient to the Art Institute, Infinity Sculpture, Millennium Park and Symphony Hall just south on Michigan. It's also close to downtown theaters and Macy's (Marshal Fields). Closest Starbucks is a whole block in almost any direction.

I had a glimpse of the river from my room, with nicer views of the architecture to the north - Wrigley, Trump, Tribune, and Hancock buildings.

If you book from their website in-room wifi is included. Otherwise take your tablet/smartphone down to the lobby and get a voucher there to connect - after I did it worked in the room for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbp00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago during a recent winter getaway! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our well-appointed guest rooms with beautiful city views, Michigan Avenue location and gleaming historic home in the Carbide and Carbon Building. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels whisk you away to the Windy City. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Only down side was concierge recommending the double decker bus company which was horrible...he should ride that thing before he recommends it...otherwise very good value...great room...pleasant staff...what else do you need?

Room Tip: Wished they had a spa but otherwise its a great location and a clean comfy room with a great bath an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such valuable feedback with us! While we're sorry to hear that the double decker bus tour was not to your liking, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our Michigan Avenue hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for an encore performance! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
995 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing