We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #106 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
“Good experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The room was ready when I arrived. Decent size. Wanted to reserve a microwave and refrigerator for my stay but was told I had to wait until I arrived. Only had a microwave available when I arrived but they did bring a refrigerator the next day while I was out. The Keurig coffee pot was a nice touch and they replenished supplies daily. Room service was fast and the quality of the food was good. The room was cleaned daily and any supplies used were replenished as needed. The nice added touch on Monday was a small throw rug on the tile bathroom floor. This disappeared the next day though. All the staff was helpful and pleasant at all times. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room higher up. The street noise on the 4th floor was loud. I did have ear plugs. Not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflyz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Your positive comments confirm that we've accomplished our goal - to create authentic experiences that truly rock for every one of our guests. This is our passion and we're glad it’s working. We're grateful to have been part of your recent travels and hope you'll be back so we can provide an encore performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    853
    432
    175
    112
See reviews for
384
896
163
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked thro Expedia TripAdvisor site in this Jan. with all cost paid in full up front. Thro out our 3 days' stay,we did not use any charged service/food . The front desk confirmed we were free to go at check out .Back in Canada the next day found the Hotel placed a 1 day charge
in my Visa on 26 March, & credited it back on 29 March( the day we left) .On 31st, to my big
surprise, a charge IN VISA of US $6 was from the Hotel. I phoned to clarified each time . How can a brand name Hotel chain without my authorization placed charge twice by error? Their response was" we will credit all back within three business days". I was sure it was nothing to do with the staff dealing with me , but they did not have the courtesy to apologise. Due to the exchange rate difference between US & Canadian funds, &, the back & forth credit/ debit, at the end I was still short of an insignificant amount . But I do not bother to follow up anymore.
The respective Dept beached the trust of customers placing the charge card into their hands.
But we have to sing their cleaning ,customers service, & booking dept. staffs. They offered prompt & smiling service when we asked for extra bed sheet twice. Returning my lost glove even before we reached our room upon our arrival . They delivered our request input in booking site what kind of room we wanted. There was no issue to have our room even we arrived 3 hours earlier . As we would not meet them , we placed tip daily to show our appreciation. The Hotel location banged in middle of all the facilities, with public transportation , shopping, restaurant (high end or average) In 5 minutes walk, while Museums, & cultural centre.
just 10 minutes distant.

Room Tip: Room with street view as the Hotel is surrounded by building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happybalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share this review with us. While we're very pleased to hear that you received highly attentive service from our staff during your stay, we are deeply disappointed to hear about the inconveniences you encountered with the billing process related to your reservation. Please accept our sincere apologies and feel free to contact us with more information at email@hardrockhotelchicago.com so we can better address this and regain your confidence in our brand. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We LOVED our HR Tower Suite. The space, comfort, cleanliness and atmosphere was just what we were looking for. The staff was super friendly upon arriving. Things were great! If you looking for space and comfort, the tower suites are a MUST. Cleanliness was superb.

Check out was a lacking. Took 2 request and almost 20 minutes to get a luggage cart brought up. The staff explained it was Sunday check out.. " things fall between the cracks."

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Elise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking a moment to share this valuable feedback with us! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable, clean and scenic stay in one of our tower suites. Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay you experienced during check-out; thank you for your patience and understanding during a time when we were experiencing a high volume of guest departures. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you can overlook the slightly cheesy rock and roll ("you be the rock star") take, this is a great place to stay in Chicago. Great location, super friendly staff, clean modern-feeling rooms, excellent bed that was perfect for defeating the jet lag of two long-haul flights. The bathroom was really good and clean.

The hotel is right by the river, within striking distance of a good number of downtown Chicago's main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sybarump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location, friendly staff, clean and modern rooms and comfortable bed. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago so that we can deliver an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We reserved our room a month in advance and was really excited for our stay! First off we had a near impossibly time finding where to even park and then our room for $275 a night was horrible! Loud construction and drunk people in the halls at 3am! Will never stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for what you experienced with noise disturbances and appreciate your feedback so we are aware of what to address. It is incredibly disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your comments and concerns! Please feel free to contact us with more information at email@hardrockhotelchicago.com so we can better address this and earn back your brand confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was in Chicago on business and stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel. The room was very clean, quiet, had an HD TV, and the staff was very friendly. I had a great time and enjoyed my stay very much. Will be back in July!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We were really excited to receive the positive feedback about your recent stay here at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. These comments confirm that we've accomplished our goal - to create authentic experiences that truly rock for every one of our guests. This is our passion and we're glad it’s working. We're grateful to have been part of your recent business travels and can't wait to welcome you back in July for an encore performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

WOW! My mom and I went over thanksgiving and when we checked in we got upgraded! The staff was so nice and willing to help with any questions you had! The concierge lady was absolutely fabulous she booked our dining reservations told us about landmarks to visit and gave us some insider about Chicago! The location of the Hard Rock Hotel is in a perfect location right on N Michigan Ave. Close to all shops and dining! No need for a cab! Our view from our room was breathtaking! We slept with the curtains open! Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share this outstanding feedback on you and your mom's stay with us over the Thanksgiving holiday; reading this review was like music to our ears! We're thrilled to hear that you received a complimentary upgrade to a room with beautiful city views and you enjoyed such highly attentive service and in-the-know information from our staff (they're all rock stars!) We look forward to welcoming you and your mom back for an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
991 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing