We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location...but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #104 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location...but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a groupon for a few nights here which cut the costs down considerably. The rooms themselves are nice and have a cool musical touch. We lucked out on the room view (overlooking Michigan Ave). The building itself is beautiful - both inside and out.

I wish our room had a bathtub (standing shower only) but even that was pretty nice too. One thing I hated was the minibar/fridge with the attached sign "motion sensing". If you take something off, you're automatically charged for it (a pretty common practice). The fridge however had no room whatsoever for your own drinks (completely stocked with pricey beer/beverages) so we had to rely on the ice bucket.

You'd think WI-FI would be an included convenience in this day and age (and is in most places I've stayed at) but unless you book directly through the hotel, internet access will set you back $15 per 24 hours...per device!

If another groupon came up and we're in Chicago - I'd stay here again...but may be pickier about the room I get.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    822
    408
    165
    109
See reviews for
375
866
161
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent a weekend here for a getaway from the suburbs. The service here was very good. Friendly from check-in to check-out. Great location. Complimentary Fender guitar check-out is something that sets it apart from a normal hotel, but nearly everything else was subpar.

The Hard Rock Chicago occupies the Carbon and Carbide building, which is a cool old skyscraper on Michigan Ave. We had a nice view of Michigan Ave., but the room itself needs some work. The bathroom had hairs in it, furniture was worn and torn, and there were a few loose tiles on the bathroom floor. If you're sensitive to noise, the sirens of emergency vehicles could be heard all night, but it is downtown Chicago, so I had no complaints about that. Overall, given the price compared to the many other hotels downtown, I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gobbluth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago for your most recent city escape from the suburbs! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Michigan Avenue views from our historic home in the landmark Carbide and Carbon Building and that you received such highly attentive service from our staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfavorable condition of your room; we are disappointed to hear that it didn't meet your standards or those we set for our housekeeping and maintenance teams. We hope you will keep us in mind for a return visit so that we can restore your brand confidence. Thanks again for your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. Upon our arrival quite early in the morning we informed the staff that our 3 year old had yet to nap. They provided us a room very quickly and we were very appreciative. The room was well decorated and very clean. The hotel was perfectly positioned among local attractions and public transportation. The concierge was most helpful in determining the best way to reach an attraction.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
First and foremost, thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such incredible feedback with us; we're thrilled to hear that our front desk staff was able to accommodate your early check-in request. Overall, it sounds like you and your family enjoyed an authentic experience that rocked and we hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago. Thanks again for your five-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Recently just spent 3 nights there and my entire stay was more then expected. The staff was extremely friendly from management, hotel front desk, and bellhops. The room was quite large for a Chicago hotel room (I had a 2 queen city view room), very clean, and well kept. The location on Michigan Ave is perfect and close to just about anything you would want to do in Chicago. I would recommend this place any day of the week and can not wait to stay again!

Room Tip: The 2 queen room with city view is clean and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Wow! First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share such incredible feedback on your most recent stay in one of our downtown Chicago hotel rooms. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location and received such highly attentive service from our management, front desk and bellhop teams - they rock! We can't wait to welcome you back for an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Check in was a breeze and "Pink Floyd" was so friendly and fun. My daughter left her room key card in the room and when she went to front desk he remembered her! On check out the wifi charge was removed (we had a voucher) before I could even ask (sorry I don't remember her name).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We were really excited to receive the positive feedback about your recent stay here at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. These comments confirm that we've accomplished our goal - to create authentic experiences that truly rock for every one of our guests. This is our passion and we're glad it’s working. We're grateful to have been part of your recent travels and hope you'll be back so we can provide an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lots of other options in the area, this place was unfortunately a disappointment primarily due to what happened during checkout. Being promised a late check out only having to go back twice to the front desk to get new keys as my current set no longer worked nearly caused me to miss my flight. Then the "free" guitar rental actually charged my card $500 which took 4 separate calls and two emails to later reverse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago for your recent visit to the Windy City; we only wish we had left you more impressed. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered with regards to a late checkout and the Fender guitar rental. As a note of disclosure, the deposit is fully refundable to our guests upon checkout and we must enforce this policy because of the high value of all equipment associated with the program. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at email@hardrockhotelchicago.com should you wish to discuss this further. Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The only good part about staying at this hotel was getting to leave. They had no hot water for 2 days. When I called the front desk to complain, after not being able to take a hot shower, the rude manager offered to comp what we had spent on the minibar so far, which was $3. There were semen stains on the phone and room service menu. Disgusting!!!! Everything about this place was absolutely awful. Good location and thats about it. Left a day early and stayed at the Fairmont and it was a world of a difference for the same nightly rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us; we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive guest experience during your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for the hot water issue that you encountered during your stay with us. We most certainly expect our guests to enjoy a more comfortable visit and are very sorry for the inconveniences caused to you and your friends. Please feel free to contact us with more information at email@hardrockhotelchicago.com so we can earn the chance to regain your confidence. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#62 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing