We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Public Areas, Rooms Ok”
Review of St. Jane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Jane Hotel
Ranked #115 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 30 June 2014

So let's get the ok room out of the way first: first blush is a beautiful room. Nice view of Michigan Ave. But...the bathroom needed attention, to the point of grime in the grout. When you charge as much as Hard Rock the room should be immaculate. Hence the 4 instead of the 5. So everything else is awesome. Roger the bellboy was fantastic. The concierge, when I asked for a breakfast recommendation near the museum campus, told us about Yolk, He said it would be busy (he was right- a 45 minute wait for everyone else) but he gave me a card to share with the restaurant and we were seated immediately. Very impressed. The hotel is on Michigan Ave, 2 blocks from Millenium Park (home of the Bean) and a few blocks from the Miracle Mile. Everything you would want is within walking distance. Great place in Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at St. Jane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our prime location provides our guests with a short walk to all the best Chicago has to offer. Taking advantage of our concierge is a great way to ensure Rock Star treatment! We are looking forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Carly Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great stay, great hotel, outstanding location and service . room was very clean, bed comfortable this hotel is my place of choice in Chicago. The bar has great live music and you feel positive vibe in the place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at St. Jane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for making the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago your "go-to" when it comes to visiting the Windy City. We will gladly welcome you back time and time again and appreciate your patronage.

Cheers,
Carly Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the Chicago Blues Fest. It was fine, but far from outstanding. The lighting in the hotel room was terrible, and this is not something to which I am generally sensitive. With the walls painted darker colors and downward halogen lights, the room was just very dark. You had to stand right under the light to see but then of course, the light is very harsh and right overhead. It just annoyed me. The bathroom was fine. Really, for all of the effort that went into the look of the hotel room, it was not terribly comfortable. The staff were very pleasant, and the location is excellent. For the money, there are many other places I would prefer to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at St. Jane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the rockin' hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Cheers,
Carly Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were stranded at the O'Hare airport due to storms, with no available hotels in the area we had to travel to the Hard Rock Hotel on Michigan Ave. The staff that checked us in were very nice and helped us with some close restaurants since their's was closed. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were incredibly comfortable. It was so nice to stay in a great hotel than sleeping with 4 kids on the floor at the airport. Thanks for the great hospitality. Our family really appreciated it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at St. Jane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

I am so happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your family while you were stuck in Chicago. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and we are grateful for the positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago under more pleasant circumstances.

Cheers,
Carly Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Expected more from this hotel, particularly for the price. Would've been better off sticking with a chain. Front desk staff were great. Very helpful. Rooms could use some love. City noise, even on 19th floor, quite loud. Would not recommend or choose again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigred401988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at St. Jane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm sorry to see that you weren't happy with your stay. We certainly expect our guests to enjoy a more positive experience. We strive to provide one of a kind service and quality rooms and I'm sorry if we dropped the ball during your visit


Cheers,
Carly Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at this location on a recent business trip. The hotel staff is very nice and friendly. The location is excellent. In the heart of Chicago downtown. If you are not used to city noise this could be noisy for you. The rooms and floors at decorated in rock music decor. My shower head was broken and the room looked a bit beat up. I believe the inside of the hotel needs some refreshment. I also smelled pot inside my room. I am not sure if all rooms are non smoking but this was a bit disturbing... Another nice thing was that the sell electric guitars in the front desk.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jani_Vladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at St. Jane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent business travels. We appreciate you letting us know that some details didn't meet your high expectations and are working hard to make sure you'll feel like a Rock Star the next time you stay with us.

Cheers,
Carly Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel looks cool and they put a lot of effort into the appearance but the room quality was less than desirable. Room was rundown. Things were broken or just worn looking. Hotel was overpriced. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at St. Jane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an unforgettable guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great Hard Rock experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Cheers,
Carly Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#91 of 191 in Chicago
7,177 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#17 of 191 in Chicago
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Jane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jane Hotel

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601 (Formerly St Jane Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#69 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £99 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Jane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Jane celebrates the unique and uncommon, the curators and collaborators. Designed for those who are driven to build businesses and fortunes by tinkering and twisting tradition on its head. This Modern Maven is designing the new world that we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Jane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing