We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard Rock Hit Most of the Marks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #105 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Maple Grove
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hard Rock Hit Most of the Marks”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband checked into the HRH on 08/12 for two nights of business travel and then I joined him on 08/14 for 3 nights of vacation. I called ahead of time to ensure I would be given a key to the room when I arrived and there were no problems. We stayed in Room 1505 which was had a king bed and a great view of the river. The room was great and we had no issues except we lingered too much one day and missed the early housekeeping so we went to the front desk around 2:00 and asked that our room be made up. No problems! Plenty of room in the bathroom for our things but not too much space for storage in the actual dressers. The closet size was ample but no where near enough hangers. My biggest complaint -- there was not a refrigerator in the room (except for the honor bar) so we had to utilize the ice bucket every time we wanted a cold drink. Bummer!! Otherwise the room was a good-size for 2 people and the elevators were pretty quick. We did use visit the bar with our free drink coupon on Friday night and sat outside...really lovely. We were on the opposite side of the river than our usual hotel so we were a bit outside of our element but if the hubby goes on the company's dime again we will definitely stay at the Hard Rock again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for the rave review! We're so happy to hear that you were about to enjoy our hotel from business to pleasure. Also, next time you're with us we will gladly deliver a mini fridge to your room for storage of your items.

We're happy to have you as a new Hard Rock fan!

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    841
    428
    168
    110
See reviews for
378
886
162
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a nice building but the hotel is a bit dated at this point. It was clean and I was able to sleep part of the night after the sirens and street noise from Michigan Ave died down even though on the 8th floor. I checked out at 7 am so I could get out of the hotel. The price I paid for very little sleep was pretty stiff. This is not the place right now for quiet due to construction next to hotel. Sorry, but cannot highly recommend this one at this time in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that you did not experience a peaceful and quiet night's rest. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager

*All Is One*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel was clean and very close to everything. The maids were extremely helpful and friendly in accommodating any requests. The rooms were quiet and well decorated. Great location and a lot to do close by

Room Tip: Just inquire at the desk and sign up to get the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I've shared your compliments of our Housekeeping staff with the team. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager

*All Is One*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beat if you want to be within walking distance to the Riverwalk, Millenium Park, The American Girl Store, and other downtown Chicago sites. The rooms are a bit dark for my taste with a lot of chrome, white and gray. The bathroom was clean, but the tiles were loose and badly needed replacing. Also there was a shade for the combination bathtub/ shower and when pulled down the top was very moldy. The service was great and the staff was very friendly. It could use some remodeling and updating, but overall it was a good experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Cheers,
Erica O’Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

In a few words; the Hard Rock was fun, clean, cool, and in a great location. Possibly the best looking high rise in the city. Everyone from the desk to the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.
Fun because it actually had things to do. You could rent a guitar to play in your room and play ping pong in the lobby.
Cool because we never felt like we were in a stuffy old boring hotel...there were artifacts and photos of various artists everywhere, and music (good music) playing throughout the lobby and bar. We were there on a mini vacation and that's what the hotel made us feel like.
Clean. The bathrooms and rooms were either newly redone or so clean they looked like it.
I'd stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BigIrishSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We were really excited to receive the positive feedback about your recent stay here at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. These comments confirm that we've accomplished our goal - to create authentic experiences that truly rock for every one of our guests. This is our passion and we're glad it’s working.

We're grateful to have been part of your recent travels and hope you'll be back so we can provide an encore performance.

Have a rockin’ day!

Cheers,
Erica O’Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a terrible experience for the price. I would not stay here if it were the last hotel left in Chicago. The rooms were not clean - no bath tub - bathrooms very un-user friendly. There were cobwebs hanging down from the ceiling near our table in the bar - yuck!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not experience a true Hard Rock stay. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Your feedback has been shared with our Housekeeping Management so that we can work with the team to ensure that no future guests have the same experience.

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I cannot vouch for the actual price of the hotel because I used a groupon deal making my stay very affordable. From a tourist perspective, the hotel is in a great location everything I wanted to see/visit was within walking distance. I arrived there at 10am and the room was ready to go, which was greatly appreciated. The gym was bigger than most hotel gyms, with decent equipment and I was able to get 2 decent workouts in. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. Also had dinner at Chuck's and it was pretty good.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby and you have to ask the desk for a password per person using the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this amazing feedback! We're so happy to see that you were able to enjoy many aspects of our hotel from the room, to the gym, to Chuck's: A Kerry Simon Kitchen.

We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Windy City!

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing