We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest hotel in Chicago !”
Review of Amber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber Inn
Ranked #160 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheapest hotel in Chicago !”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are looking for value....then look no further. This isn't a hotel but a motel. Looks great in pictures on the outside but wait till you walk up to courtyard/parking lot. This appears to be a very scary side of town. The rooms were straight from 1960. The saving grace was Pearl's, the diner attached to the hotel. I would definitely venture back to this neighborhood for the buffet at Pearl's!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khoff1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    10
    13
    15
See reviews for
14
13
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Find another location!! Location and service were both eye-brow raising. I had to look twice when I saw the receptionist scratch my credit card (with another plastic card) to gather my card info. The room was a huge disappointment...torn sheets/pillow cases, a stained ironing board cover, filthy carpet, and mold (or soap scum) around the caulking of the tub. Staying again is not an option!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tlcsx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Small clean place with FREE parking! The place is nothing fancy but the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We wanted to get to Chicago's miracle mile and they were quite helpful in getting us there. Room was clean but air conditioner and some type of grinding noise was noted in the evening that kepted my son up late into the night.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mels49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Do not expect a hi fi hotel ....cause u r not paying that much

Hotel is no frills good one , clean bathrooms comfortable bedding house keeping was good too
Manager was really helpful and we had a smooth check in

Free parking available WIFI works great...
Not very far from major attraction within 6 miles

Room Tip: rooms on top of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prithish c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This was my first trip to Chicago and I was happy to have found this gem of a hotel. Robin is a wonderful hotel manager and she made us feel like family. The staff was friendly, accomodating and very informative. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. I appreciated the secure parking on the property and it was FREE. This hotel was just blocks from where I was visiting. I will definately stay here again when I come back to stay longer and see the sights. The Amber Inn is a great value and I would recommend this place to anyone I know going to Chicago. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis mn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay with a friend. Do not go here expecting a 5-star Hilton stay. However, you can expect a clean motel room with a comfortable bed and an attentive staff at a great price. This motel is just one block from the CTA station--you really can't beat that! I never felt unsafe walking from the station to the motel; you walk past gated apartments and townhouses. It is true that there are few amenities in the immediate area; however, Pearls restaurant on the property was a real treat. I go to Chicago 1-2 times per year and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singleguyinminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orcutt, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

For some reason, Chicago hotel prices were astronomical the Friday, Saturday, & Sunday we stayed here in May. The rate we got was a third of what we would have paid had we stayed in the
Loop. The Inn is just two Green Line stops (8min.) from downtown. The station (Indiana) is a short block and a half away. Our meal of "cheesy grits with shrimp and bacon" and an order of fried green tomatoes at Pearl's Place was a highlight. Gentrification is closing in fast on the Amber Inn. Let's hope it stays the value that it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanonpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#133 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#142 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#138 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Chicago South Loop Hotel
#103 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Inn

Property: Amber Inn
Address: 3901 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60653-2105
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Amber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Chicago
Amber Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing