We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Downtown Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Amalfi Hotel is a very nice hotel in downtown Chicago, close to everything. As a frequent Chicago business traveler, who has stayed at many hotels in downtown Chicago, I would say that this is one of the best. Free internet (that works!), continental breakfast on each floor, gym, and restaurant on site. Would definitely come back. No complaints!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,612
    634
    141
    38
    19
See reviews for
416
896
111
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Enjoyed a two night stay at the Amalfi in early August with family members. We arrived quite early and although not able to check into a room yet, we were able to store our luggage until we we returned later. The hotel called us when the room was ready. Slight hiccup with the reservation as our confirmation showed a much lower price than what was showing on the computer, however that was corrected to show what was on our reservation confirmation (so make sure that you bring your confirmation with you!).
The red line EL and the museum campus bus are only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and are very convenient. We walked to Willis Tower and Navy Pier and both took about 20-25 minutes or so. On the walk to Navy Pier you cross over Michigan Avenue for some fantastic shopping on the magnificient mile! It is about a 10 minute walk to the Hard Rock Cafe and about a 5 minute walk to the Chicago Riverwalk. House of Blues is about a 1 minute walk from the hotel. There are a ton of restaurants, pharmacies, bars, starbucks and cafes all around. Harry Carry's is right across the street.
Cabs are plentiful, though pricey, and a welcome relief for a ride back to the hotel! Taxi from O'Hare to Amalfi was $45, from Museum of Science and Industry to Amalfi was $20 and from Hancock Observatory to Amalfi was $12. We bought 3 day passes for the CTA for $14 and used that to get around town as well. The pass was well worth it and can be used on the EL and on the busses.
Lou Malnati's pizza delivers to the Amalfi and eliminated an hour or more wait at their restaruant. Order early and request a set delivery time. They do not include any silverware or plates, so ask for paper products if you need it. We requested some plastic forks from the hotel and they were too busy to bring us any and would not let us come down to the front desk to pick them up ourselves!
The hotel breakfast had a great variety and was convenient being right on your floor. It is set up by the elevator and served coffee, tea, juices, bagels, donuts, breads, cereal, whole fruit, yogurt and string cheese. Being able to get your breakfast and bring back to your room was so nice.
The room was clean and contained the usual hotel stuff, including the $8 bottle of water! At least they marked the bottle with the price. There was a refrigerator/mini bar (that took a key) in the room but we did not open it for fear of being charged for something that we did not take, but may have moved or looked at. The hotel has computers and printers so that you can check on your flight and print out your boarding pass. Three of us had iPhones and we had no issues with the internet connection or speed. Newspapers are available in the lobby. Ask at the desk for maps and they will give you a ton of maps of the area and brochures on things to do in Chicago.
The bellman/doorman was super friendly and so helpful. He really made the stay at the hotel a great one. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quilting4Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Best service and amenities of any hotel at which we have stayed. The staff is professional and friendly and helpful. Love Love Loved it!
Cocktail Reception from 5- 7 every night for guests and a great breakfast served on each floor.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy21811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I love this hotel its perfect for the city. The rooms are very comfortable very clean and the bathrooms are good sized. they have a happy hour on one of the floors, which is a nice touch. The breakfast bars are served on every floor in the morning and has more than just your typical frosted flakes in a box. Its a pretty central location and is perfect walking distance to some pretty great places.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I'm never shy about complaining or asking for a room change - so I was pleasantly surprised that the Amalfi Hotel offered more than expected. After a long Amtrak night, we appreciated the comfortable beds as well as the luxury of not hearing the guests in the next room flush the toilet. The breakfast offerings were substantial (unless you're the sausage gravy and biscuits type). The happy hour reception allowed us the opportunity to recharge. The staff was helpful - but not fawning. Even the windows were clean!
The hotel was centrally located to all the major attractions and close enough to public transit to venture beyond. This was our first trip to Chicago. We weren't surprised by the big city expense or the panhandlers - but we didn't know we'd find such friendly residents. More than once someone perceived we were confused tourists and offered directions. What is this - Pittsburgh?!
In addition to the don't-miss Art Institute and Museum of Contemporary Art, try swimming at Oak Street Beach, listening to the Blues at Rosa's Lounge, or taking in the archeological finds at the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago - followed by perusing the huge book collection at nearby Powell's Bookstore. So many things to do - so little time! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catonmykeyboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The room itself was fine and comfortable(very peaceful), but the customer service by the so-called, concierge or "experience something or the others" left much to be desired. First, I arrived and the doorman walked me to the desk. I was not greeted with the usual "Hello, welcome to...". Instead, I got, "Your name? ID?" No, "hello", no "welcome to the Amalfi Hotel," just plain old poor customer service from the very beginning! That left a very bad taste in my mouth, but I decided to let it go and see how the rest of my stay was.

The next day, I had some questions about suggestions on where to go to eat dinner. We were looking for any restaurant that was Chicago-based, not the usual chain hotel, and moderately priced. I went downstairs and was confused as to which one was the concierge, since in normal hotels, the concierge was separate from everyone else. But, at the Amalfi, there are two desks with hotel staff and by the door is the podium where the doorman stands. Well, I thought for sure the one at the podium was the actual concierge, due to the fact that anyone who stood there was always so pleasant and attentive. Just in case, I asked the ladies at the desk where I could find the concierge. They replied that they were! One of them was the lady who originally checked me in. So, I tried my luck with the other one, instead. I explained what I was looking for, in terms of restaurants, and lo and behold, she couldn't think of any restaurants to recommend to me! She said she lives on the South Side of Chicago, so she doesn't know the restaurants around there very well. Ummm, I'm thinking that if you are a concierge, then whether you live there or not, you'd still make it your business to know things like that! So, the other lady gave me a few names of restaurants, instead.

Then, I decided to order in one night and proceeded to call and ask for restaurants that delivered and I was told that I could order room service, which would come from a nearby restaurant. I did not have a menu in my room, so her solution was to read me the menu over the phone, line by line! After much annoyance, I asked them to send someone up with the menu, which she seemed annoyed to have to do!

Also, I noticed when we would go out for the day and come back, they would never say, "Good morning" or "Good Evening" when they saw us. That's what I am accustomed to at other hotels. My friend was so annoyed by this that one evening she passed by and then turned around and pleasantly said, "Good evening!" The response was a confused "Good evening," as if they were wondering why she said it!

The other employees were quite pleasant, especially the doormen! They always greeted you warmly and asked you how your day was going!

Housekeeping was ok, but after I left the room one day, I had to return because I forgot something. When I got back to the room the housekeeping cart was holding the door open, but the maid was not in the room! So, anyone could have gone in our room and stolen something.

The continental breakfast was fine and I liked that it was on every floor.

The wireless service was awful!!!!! My iPhone would not work properly the entire time I was there. Once I left the hotel, it was better!

The manager ended up calling me(bill issues) and we spoke about the customer service at her hotel. She apologized for her staff, but failed to offer a reduction in the bill! $20 off would have been a good gesture.

Two weeks later, management was still calling me regarding the conclusions I'd made regarding their employees. I was annoyed that it seemed as if the 2nd manager that called wanted me to change my mind! After 2 weeks, one two many phone calls, & much aggravation, management decided to credit my room for one night, split between my friend & me! Funny how they managed to do that, but never fixed the original discrepancy! I had to mail my friend a check for my half of the room, since they charged her for the entire amount & never fixed it, even after all those phone calls! (sigh)

Maybe it's because I am from Florida, which is a state that caters to tourists, that I am used to a higher level of service. That being said, I have traveled all over the world, as far as Japan and Ghana, and have received better service!

Overall, there are many hotels in the downtown area, so don't waste your money on this one!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAmerican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jangulo, General Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Amalfi Hotel. In response to your review on TripAdvisor, I want to sincerely apologize for not upholding the level of service you expected. Clearly, your recent experience was not in keeping with our service standards.

We truly appreciate your feedback and please know that we take all guest feedback seriously. We are using your feedback to train our associates to ensure we extend a high level of service at every given opportunity.

Brian Cooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and we really enjoyed it. The room was very nice, quite spacious for a boutique hotel and nicely decorated. It is also quiet and very clean. The bed is a king sized bed, quit comfortable, the bed linens are luxurious, but the mattress is not as comfortable “movement” wise as a pocket sprung mattress or a memory foam. The staff was great and everything we asked for (room with a view etc.) we got it. The view of the Chicago skyscrapers was amazing. The hotel is very well situated, close to all major attraction and restaurants; we didn’t have to use public transportation. The breakfast is “international” style, basic, but with a good selection and served on each floor. There is free cocktail and appetizers in the evening – quit a nice concept that made us feel like in an all inclusive resort. The parking is a bit expensive and it is valet only. You have to give a 10-15 minutes notice to get your car. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ottawa815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing