We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Amalfi for a week for work, as it is one of my company's preferred hotels in Chicago. And I can see why this one is on the list, as the experience was very good.

Location-wise, the Amalfi is ideally situated just north of the Chicago river and very close to Michigan Ave, downtown, the merchandising mart and a number of public transportation options. The Clark/lake subway station that connects to the airport is less than a 10 minute walk. There are a lot of restaurants very close by (including Rick Bayless' fantastic Frontera Grill and Xoco), and a large CVS drugstore just down the street.

I had king deluxe room which was large and comfortable, with any of the amenities one would expect. I even had cookies and a personal note from the guest services manager waiting upon my arrival, which was a nice touch. Bathroom was very large and clean, with very nice Aveda toiletries.

Front desk staff were extremely friendly and always ready to help. Each of the hotel's six stories has its own free continental breakfast by the main elevators, which is a convenient way to grab a bite as you are heading out. There is, however, no sitting area for breakfast.

My only issue was the relatively slow free WiFi (at least on my iPad). My laptop seemed better in that regard, but still somewhat slow. And the TV remote was a bit unusual.

Overall, a fantastic stay. The Amalfi proves that a moderately priced hotel can be a great choice in a city with a lot of competition. I would certainly stay here again and will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an unobstructed view--some of the rooms look onto a brick building a few feet aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boston_tripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you kindly for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your week-long stay with us and found our rooms to your liking. I’m further delighted to receive such kind comments about our front office team. I’m pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our central downtown Chicago location with close proximity to the many major sites you mentioned—including the Clark/Lake CTA station and Michigan Avenue. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. As you mentioned, we also offer complimentary WiFi and you’ll be pleased to know we recently completed upgrading our WiFi system. This project included bandwidth increase and additional access points to strengthen the signal in the hotel. I’m sure on your next visit, you’ll find the WiFi connection has significantly improved!

Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    642
    145
    38
    19
See reviews for
435
914
114
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Our "experience advisor" Karim, made our trip special before we ever arrived in Chicago by suggesting restaurants, making reservations, giving us information about activities, etc.
This was not our first stay at the Amalfi and, like our previous trip, the staff made the difference. You do not stay here for the view...there is none...but who cares when you're taken care of by such wonderful people?
The Ravello Lounge is a wonderful experience in the evening and the drinks and food a wonderful treat. And in the morning it's sooo nice to slip into a robe and slippers and have breakfast waiting for you on your floor.
The beds are exceedingly comfortable and the rooms are not the tiny ones you usually find in Chicago hotels.
I have gone out on a limb and recommended this hotel, with it's wonderful location in River North, to many people. Everyone has returned with rave reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntiePeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you very much for the glowing review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and I’m delighted to hear our team delivered on that promise—Karem in particular! I’m further pleased to hear you enjoy our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and appreciate the convenience of it being served on each floor. We’re truly honored to receive such a flattering recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Considering this is a 4 star hotel I expected better. Everything was just okay. Nothing really exceptional for this hotel.

Cons:
-Water knob in shower was loose so it wouldn't stay at a consistent temperature.
-Not enough electrical outlets next to bed and in bathroom.
-Towels were scratchy and cheap.
-Robe was scratchy and cheap feeling.
-Lotion was watered down.
-Breakfast options weren't very good or appealing. Mostly just made up of simple, sugary carbs. If you're gluten or dairy intolerant, wouldn't recommend planning eating this breakfast every day as they have few selections of fresh fruit and nothing for protein like eggs.
-Only allowed to control room temperature within 5 degrees. So if you're a cold or hot person, be prepared to not be completely comfortable.

Pros
-Some of the staff members were really nice - others weren't as much.
-Location

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I’m pleased to hear you found our location to your liking, I’m sorry to hear about the maintenance issues you experienced. I’ll be contacting you directly for your room number so we can follow up with our Engineering Department to ensure that these issues are resolved, if they have not done so already. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary continental breakfast every morning and I apologize if the selection was not to your liking. We do try to offer a number of nutritious items like the fresh fruit you mentioned as well as healthy cereal options and nonfat yogurt. I appreciate your protein suggestions and will be happy to share those with our Food & Beverage manager.

I’m also pleased to receive positive feedback about our team but disappointed to hear not all our associates lived up to the high standard of service we pride ourselves on. I will use your feedback to reeducate and retrain our team to ensure that we meet and exceed the level of hospitality that you deserve. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is my second stay at Amalfi, and once again I was impressed! The service is excellent, the rooms are well appointed, the cocktail reception is a nice way to start the evening, and the self-serve continental breakfast is just right before getting on with the day. If you are familiar with Chicago, there is plenty of self-parking lots nearby, which is a less expensive option (valet parking at the hotel is $50 a day).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueiii596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
What a thoughtful review! We’re delighted to know that your most recent stay with us was as enjoyable as the first. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast as well as our evening cocktail reception. As you mentioned, we do offer 24-hour valet parking for $47/day with unlimited in-and-out privileges. But there are many self-park options around the area as well. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd stay with us soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The Amalfi hotel is located a 10 minute walk north of Millenium Park in an area with active night life and lots of restaurants. It has a bit of an idiosyncratic feel, not a corporate hotel. The staff are helpful, be it valet parking or assistance with the reservation or room. The room itself was very comfortable and at the "superior" level even a bit luxurious.

Each morning breakfast foods are provided in each floor's lobby, which canbe taken back into the room to eat. Each evening there is an open bar and hors d'oeurves on an upper floor, a popular event before heading back out for the evening.

The cost of the room was fair for the quality, location, extras included and service. Overall, an excellent experience, recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room in a corner that has windows on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjaydobleyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your Amalfi experience with the TripAdvisor community! We’re pleased to know you had an “excellent experience” with us and to receive such positive feedback about our team. I’m happy to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and our evening cocktail reception. I’m further pleased to hear you found our central location in downtown Chicago to your liking. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Pleasantly surprised. My room on the 6th floor was well decorated, fresh and fashion forward. My view of the city was nice. Bathroom splendid and more luxurious than most. Staff friendly and helpful. There's a complimentary continental breakfast placed in each floor's elevator lobby each morning with juices, coffee, pastries and teas. Great location. Its about 2 blocks off Michigan Ave and Nordstrom. Close to Harry Carey's and Webber Grill and House of Blues. As a side bonus, Hertz Local Edition is on the same block. One of the nicer hotels in Chicago. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to know your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one. I’m pleased to know our rooms were to your liking and you enjoyed your view of the downtown area. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. And I’m especially pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our downtown location in the vibrant River North district with our close proximity to all the shopping and restaurants you mentioned! Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I enjoyed staying at Amalfi Hotel its based at Chicago center, clean convenience and worth the money I paid for, front desk employees very helpful and professionals. I advise every body to try Amalfi Hotel you will never regret

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We’re overjoyed to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our Front Office team. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s always a pleasure to know we delivered on that promise. We’re flattered to receive such a warm recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,035 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing