We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location is absolutely perfect for visiting the town. Close to restaurants, pubs, metro station, departure for cruises on the river and just in front of the 'House of Blues'!
We had a very nice room with a very confortable king-size bed, nice and clean bathroom completed with the very good Aveda products.
Absolutely great the idea of the 'happy hour' everyday from six to eight, coming back from a busy visiting day and getting a break before heading out for dinner: friendly staff and delicious buffet.
We also appreciated the breakfast at the floor: one can step out of the room in pijamas, grab a cup of coffee and feel at home...of course one can also seat in the lounge and enjoy a nice start of the day!
Perfect hotel in Chicago!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federica55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you kindly for the thoughtful review! We’re thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us! I’m happy you liked our downtown Chicago location and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants, sights, and more! I’m further pleased to hear our rooms were to your liking and that you appreciated our in-room Aveda spa products. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception—I agree it’s a great way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. And I’m pleased you enjoyed our recently enhanced complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    634
    141
    38
    19
See reviews for
416
895
111
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Rooms very clean, Price the best around House of Blues. With in walking distants. Evening cocktails included in the room. We will be going back again. The only thing is the checking was a little crowded.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephiecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m especially pleased you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking—especially our close proximity to the House of Blues! I’m also happy to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

For all the reasons I loved the hotel the first time around, the second time was even better.
This time I was with my wife and we were extremely happy with our stay. The location is perfect and all of the amenities you would expect at a top notch hotel are here at the Amalfi.
The staff, the concierge, the valets - all very helpful. The concierge helped me score Bears tickets.
The convenience of the breakfast set up is great.
But the best is still the nightly cocktail hours. When drinks are flowing in a packed room it makes for a good time and fun to mingle with other people.
When in Chicago you must stay at the Amalfi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
What a lovely review! We’re overjoyed to hear you and your wife had such a delightful stay with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such great feedback about our entire front office team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we delivered on that promise. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed all our complimentary amenities, including our recently enhanced deluxe continental breakfast! And I’m so pleased to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception—I agree it’s a great way to mix and mingle with our guests. We truly appreciate your gracious recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a great experience at Amalfi.
PROS:
Localization - close to metro stations, to Loop, to Michigan Avenue, to Chicago river... Very convenient. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Room - good size. We spent 10 nights at Amalfi and had lots of luggage, and the room has enough space to accommodate everything. Quiet (our room faced the back of the hotel - although the view was so so, it was quiet). Bed is confortable, shower is great. Aveno products available.
Breakfast - selfservice at a lobby- you can eat it at your room. Fruits (banana, orange and apple), breads, coffee, yogurt, eggs, cheese, pastries, milk, tea, cereals, juices (orange and cranberries) available. Suggestion: include honey sachets, hot milk and forks.
The hotel offers complimentary drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic) at night for the guests. Very friendly.
We had an early checkout (noon) at no cost, and a late checkout at the cost of U$ 10,00 for each additional hour.
We had at the Amalfi a great reception and the staff is very eager to meet your needs.
CONS:
Parking at the hotel is very expensive. We rented a car for one day and prefered to return it the same day.
CONCLUSION:
Would return, definetely!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, choose one facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for the thoughtful review! We’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I’m happy you found our location in the downtown River North district convenient and were able to take advantage of all the nearby sites and restaurants. I’m further pleased to hear you found our comfortable rooms to your liking and enjoyed our in-room Aveda spa products and multi-head showers! It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. As you mentioned, we offer 24-hour valet parking for $56/night, which includes unlimited in-and-out privileges. Our rates are dependent on city of Chicago taxes and regrettably out of our control. There are several less-expensive self-park options in the area, if you don’t require in-and-out privileges. I’m pleased to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well! We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed in the Amalfi for the second time, the last trip was six years ago, we were happy then and six years on, delighted to have stayed there again.
Its location is super, Michigan Avenue is a few minutes walk away and go across the bridge near the hotel you are on the Southside!!
Checkin was stress free and the lady on the desk, could not have been more accommodating. A nice bonus staying here is that you get vouchers (tickets) for drinks each evening in the Ravello Lounge is on the 6th floor, we stayed on the 6th floor, so drinks were close any evening we were in!!
We had a corner room and everything was great, from all the lovely toiletries, towels and bedding, the room was really comfortable, great for relaxing after long days wandering around Chicago.
Breakfast is help yourself in the morning, on each floor near the lifts, being awake early due to jet lag, the 6.30 start was great, pastries, cereals, bagels, breads, fruit and drinks, didn't need much more.
Across the road is Harry Carrays bar, great for sports and food, so location again brilliant.

For value this is one of the best places I have stayed in. Would I go back...yes, no problem.

There are loads of good places to eat close by, the Amalfi ticked all the boxes for me.

Room Tip: Corner room, second time staying in one, cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such great feedback about our front office team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m happy you found our central downtown location to your liking and walk to all the nearby sites, like Michigan Avenue. I’m further delighted to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were at Amalfi Hotel last week and received the best service from Meg and Greg at the front desk! Greg was always so friendly and Meg was so helpful on many of our questions and requests!! Thank you Meg for making our stay a great one! Rooms were very big, clean and very nice. Having breakfast on each floor made everything easy and comfortable!! Would definitely recommend Amalfi to all!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoMinondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you kindly for the rave review! We’re overjoyed to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our front office team—Meg and Greg in particular. We’ll be sure to pass along your thoughtful words. I’m happy you found our comfortable rooms to your liking as well. And I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor! We’re truly honored by your warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Had another wonderful visit to the Amalfi for an early anniversary weekend. Quick, efficient check in process. We were upgraded to a generous suite with a bottle of wine delivered shortly after we arrived-such a nice touch! The room was clean with nice amenities and great shower pressure! We enjoyed the "Happy Hour" which is actually from 5 PM to 8 PM (although the appetizers were pretty scarce when we arrived at 5:30 and most were not replenished during the hour we were there). Bartenders were very friendly. Great location in River North- close to so many great restaurants and a short walk to shopping on State Street. Love the breakfast on each floor! It's so nice to run out in the hall and grab coffee, juice, Danish, chocolate croissants, cereal, fruit, etc. and enjoy them in your room! Would be nice if there was a little microwave either in the room or available at the breakfast bar (to warm the croissant). However, it is great to have a mini-frig in the room. We recommend the Amalfi and will hopefully return! Special thank you to Jose for his kindness.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank napergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear our front office, lounge, and reservations teams all delivered on this promise! I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception but apologize the appetizers weren’t replenished in a timely manner. I’ve passed along your feedback to our Food & Beverage manager to ensure this isn’t an issue again in the future. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the newly upgraded selection of breakfast items! And I’m delighted you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the nearby shopping and surrounding restaurants! We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing