We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay with Minor Flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay with Minor Flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We will return to the Amalfi next visit to Chicago.

As other reviewers have noted, the location is prime. Just a few blocks from The Loop (where we stayed last visit); we greatly appreciated a central-feeling location without the traffic noise. (Our first instinct is always to stay in a "downtown" to get the local feel; the Amalfi satisfied this preference, with the added bonus of less traffic & pedestrian congestion.) Impressive number of restaurants and bars in the area, with great variety to suit all tastes.

Other noted pros:

- Cocktail hour, which kicks up merriment (and some noise with the fun, so do not stay on the 6th floor if napping at 5:30 without earplugs is your thing). With complimentary drink vouchers upon arrival, we enjoyed a cocktail nightly, along with delicious, fresh hors d'ouevres (copious enough to substitute for a meal one evening).

-- Staff was distinctly professional. Our two minor complaints were addressed immediately. (Upon returning home I recalled my irritation that the bathrobes had been scratchy. An email to the hotel later, we were given a generous refund of part of our stay -- a truly outstanding accommodation. I'm certain we would have been given new bathrobes if we had mentioned it at the time; it just didn't irk me until returning home and starting to write my TA review. A semi-functional iHome clock radio/mp3 station -- the power button was stuck -- was rectified while we were out.) The staff's restaurant recommendations were perfect; we ate at each of the three recommended places and each was spot-on; the staff had truly listened to what we were seeking.

Housekeeping did not even knock when the "Zzzz' sign was hung. When we finally did get out for the day, an afternoon tidy-up was effected no problem. And houskeeping was spotless.

- Modern design with occasional flourishes; comfortable use of space.

- Aveda products. Hotel toiletries do not usually provoke a reaction in me, but I was gratified the hotel uses relatively healthy and not-animal-tested (and yummy!) products.

- King-sized bed was comfortable and a two kinds of pillows (for a generous five pillows total) came with.

- Fitness room was larger and better stocked than most hotel gyms.

Only noted cons:
- The rooms in the back of the building face the back of the next block; on the sixth floor, we overlooked a parking lot and rooftops. Lower floors (fourth and below) presumably look into back windows. That being said, we enjoyed the Chicago-y high rise view beyond the rooftops. Kinzie Street along the front of the hotel is not particularly busy (ok, this from a Manhattanite) but the old view-versus-quiet conundrum definitely applies to the second, third, and fourth floors. We had NO noise problems (three days, three nights) from the alley that divides the two buildings.

- Like most new American hotels, the windows do not open. The ventilation system was not ideal, and the room felt stuffy. Caveat: We did not try all the A/C settings. There may well have been a "fan" setting in addition to the "heat" and "off" settings that we did use. But if you are prone to feelings of discomfort in a stuffy room, it's worth checking in with the hotel about whether their ventilation system draws in outside air or recycles building or room air. It was just never very fresh. Also, in the wintertime consider bringing a travel humidifier. Other new American hotels have not bothered me like this did.

All in all, a fun time on a couples trip. See you next time, Amalfi!

Room Tip: Lounge on the six floor can create some good-time noise during cocktail hour for rooms on the same h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFO Grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such great feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m happy you found our rooms to your liking and appreciated our comfortable bedding, as well as our in-room Aveda spa products. I’m sorry about the issues you experienced with our ventilation system; our HVAC system does feature a fan button and we also have humidifiers available, which our team is happy to accommodate guests with. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our evening cocktail reception and appreciated the wide selection of complimentary hors d’oeuvres. I’m also happy you were able to take advantage of our complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center while you were here. We truly appreciate your gracious recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    634
    141
    38
    19
See reviews for
416
895
111
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

It was my first visit to Chicago, and glad I picked the Amalfi. Location was great, near Magnificent Mile for shopping, and within 20min walk of major tourist places (Millennium Park, John Hancock tower, Navy Pier etc). Great places to eat close by, runs parallel to Hubbard St.
Staff were extremely helpful, providing me with maps and tourist info.
Complimentary breakfast served every floor, had to take back to room to eat, but nice touch. Nightly reception on 6th floor (between 5.30 to 7pm), given vouchers for 2 free drinks per night.
My room was on 4th floor at back, view over street, relatively quiet. Room was OK in size, bed comfortable, temperature control was handy. Bathroom OK too, Aveda products were great. Kept very clean, though it wasn't cleaned until after 5pm on first day.
Lobby is fairly small but comfortable.
Would definitely recommend it, and will stay there again, great value though understand hotel is being renovated and renamed in March 2014 (Kinzie Hotel), so hope price doesn't rise too much.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review! We’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to walk to all the nearby sites—like the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, and Millennium Park. I’m also pleased to hear how helpful our front office team was with directions and more! I’m further delighted to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast, evening cocktail reception, and in-room Aveda spa products. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your 5-star recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 as the brand-new Kinzie Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I escorted a group from Kansas City and could not have found a better location and property. The staff go well beyond the imaginable, the hotel is maintained in tip-top shape and the complimentary continental breakfast and evening cocktail party is such a bonus.

I highly recommend this hotel for individual or group travel. The staff have all been trained to accommodate the guest first and ask questions second. Pricing is extremely fair and reasonable for a boutique hotel within walking distance of many Chicago standards.

Room Tip: As this hotel is in the middle of the city, there are no spectacular views however each room defies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re overjoyed to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your group back for another visit very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location is absolutely perfect for visiting the town. Close to restaurants, pubs, metro station, departure for cruises on the river and just in front of the 'House of Blues'!
We had a very nice room with a very confortable king-size bed, nice and clean bathroom completed with the very good Aveda products.
Absolutely great the idea of the 'happy hour' everyday from six to eight, coming back from a busy visiting day and getting a break before heading out for dinner: friendly staff and delicious buffet.
We also appreciated the breakfast at the floor: one can step out of the room in pijamas, grab a cup of coffee and feel at home...of course one can also seat in the lounge and enjoy a nice start of the day!
Perfect hotel in Chicago!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federica55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you kindly for the thoughtful review! We’re thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us! I’m happy you liked our downtown Chicago location and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants, sights, and more! I’m further pleased to hear our rooms were to your liking and that you appreciated our in-room Aveda spa products. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception—I agree it’s a great way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. And I’m pleased you enjoyed our recently enhanced complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Rooms very clean, Price the best around House of Blues. With in walking distants. Evening cocktails included in the room. We will be going back again. The only thing is the checking was a little crowded.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephiecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m especially pleased you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking—especially our close proximity to the House of Blues! I’m also happy to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

For all the reasons I loved the hotel the first time around, the second time was even better.
This time I was with my wife and we were extremely happy with our stay. The location is perfect and all of the amenities you would expect at a top notch hotel are here at the Amalfi.
The staff, the concierge, the valets - all very helpful. The concierge helped me score Bears tickets.
The convenience of the breakfast set up is great.
But the best is still the nightly cocktail hours. When drinks are flowing in a packed room it makes for a good time and fun to mingle with other people.
When in Chicago you must stay at the Amalfi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
What a lovely review! We’re overjoyed to hear you and your wife had such a delightful stay with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such great feedback about our entire front office team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we delivered on that promise. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed all our complimentary amenities, including our recently enhanced deluxe continental breakfast! And I’m so pleased to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception—I agree it’s a great way to mix and mingle with our guests. We truly appreciate your gracious recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a great experience at Amalfi.
PROS:
Localization - close to metro stations, to Loop, to Michigan Avenue, to Chicago river... Very convenient. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Room - good size. We spent 10 nights at Amalfi and had lots of luggage, and the room has enough space to accommodate everything. Quiet (our room faced the back of the hotel - although the view was so so, it was quiet). Bed is confortable, shower is great. Aveno products available.
Breakfast - selfservice at a lobby- you can eat it at your room. Fruits (banana, orange and apple), breads, coffee, yogurt, eggs, cheese, pastries, milk, tea, cereals, juices (orange and cranberries) available. Suggestion: include honey sachets, hot milk and forks.
The hotel offers complimentary drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic) at night for the guests. Very friendly.
We had an early checkout (noon) at no cost, and a late checkout at the cost of U$ 10,00 for each additional hour.
We had at the Amalfi a great reception and the staff is very eager to meet your needs.
CONS:
Parking at the hotel is very expensive. We rented a car for one day and prefered to return it the same day.
CONCLUSION:
Would return, definetely!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, choose one facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for the thoughtful review! We’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I’m happy you found our location in the downtown River North district convenient and were able to take advantage of all the nearby sites and restaurants. I’m further pleased to hear you found our comfortable rooms to your liking and enjoyed our in-room Aveda spa products and multi-head showers! It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. As you mentioned, we offer 24-hour valet parking for $56/night, which includes unlimited in-and-out privileges. Our rates are dependent on city of Chicago taxes and regrettably out of our control. There are several less-expensive self-park options in the area, if you don’t require in-and-out privileges. I’m pleased to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well! We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing