We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New updated rooms!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #23 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New updated rooms!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed again at the Amalfi in December. Another great room at a very fair price. The great thing going forward is they are updating the whole hotel including all the rooms.

We were lucky enough to get one of the newly renovated rooms all I can say is wow. Very impressive, well done. Very modern and chic. One other thing I noticed was how quiet the rooms are.

We were able to enjoy a couple of complimentary drinks during their happy hour and the continental breakfast on each floor is nice so you don't have to go down to the lobby.

Siena Tavern across the street is a hot Italian spot we were able to try, very good.

Room Tip: Until the transition is complete ask for a newly renovated room. Though in staying there b4 the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
What a thoughtful review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I’m delighted you got to experience one of our new Kinzie Hotel rooms and found the décor to your liking. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. And I’m pleased you had such an enjoyable dinner with our neighbors across the street at Siena Tavern. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back as the brand new Kinzie Hotel upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    638
    142
    38
    19
See reviews for
417
900
111
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Amalfi Hotel is in the midst of renovations, but other then the front desk being in a small room on the 4th floor you wouldn't know. The staff are polite and rooms clean/comfortable. The bed provided a great nights sleep after a busy day in Chicago. The location is central for all activities in this great city.
Other TA reviews have commented on the breakfast and nightly drinks in the lounge. These two things make the Amalfi special. It's so nice to not have to leave the hotel or actually the floor you are staying on to eat breakfast. There is plenty of selection. The cheese bagels were my favourite. There was boiled eggs, multiple cereals, muffins, doughnuts, juices and the staple coffee.
The evening lounge experience is great. The Amalfitini was a person fav of ours. There again are plenty of choices of light appetizers that we made into our dinner before the Blackhawks game one night. The lounge brings people together and it was nice to meet people from all over the world and have a quick chat.
I would return to the Amalfi hotel without question. Although it will have changed names by the time I return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor six to be close to the nightly lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourguiderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the wide selection of breakfast items, as well as the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further delighted to hear you were able to indulge in our evening cocktail reception and enjoyed the variety of complimentary appetizers. I agree our evening reception is a great way to mingle with other guests before a night out on the town! As you mentioned, our hotel lobby has been fully renovated and our new rooms will be finished by the end of January. Thank you again for the warm recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back as the brand new Kinzie Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is really nice. Not more, not less. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and quite quiet. You can also make it dark enough in the night. Amalfi's location is pretty great, so I would probably choose it again also. There is a simple but good breakfast at every floor, so you can easily take it in your room while preparing for the day. Really nice for business trips, and I would probably use that possibility also on other kind of trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zillertal_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m happy you found our downtown Chicago location to your liking and convenient for your business needs. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. Your kind recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in 2014, as the brand new Kinzie Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Amalfi Hotel is economical hotel situated in the heart of Chicago. This hotel is nearby several major attractions, restaurants, bars and lounges. Instead of surrounded by restaurants, bars and lounges, this hotel is quiet and relaxed.
When we enter in the hotel, the reception is beautifully furnished and we are welcomed in a great way. Our room is the perfect combination of space and interior decoration. All the rooms have peach and beige color, which gives earthy feeling to the room. Rooms are very cozy offering comfortable beds white crispy white linen spread on it. Apart from room facilities, they also breakfast and gym facility to all their customers. Breakfast is free of cost, everyday it is hot and delicious. They make our stay luxurious and comfortable by taking care of all our needs and requirements.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Many thanks for the thoughtful review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback. I’m pleased to hear you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of the many surrounding bars and restaurants. I’m further pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary 24-hour fitness center. And I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the recently enhanced selection of breakfast items. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 as the brand new Kinzie Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent three nights at the Amalfi this past week. The staff was friendly. The rooms nice. The rate was excellent. Altho the lobby was closed for remodeling it presented no significant inconvenience. They included two free drinks at night with a nice happy hour from 5-8. In the morning on each floor near the elevator they had a complimentary continental breakfast. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you kindly for the 5-star review. We’re delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our evening cocktail reception and deluxe continental breakfast. And I’m pleased to receive such kind feedback about our team as well. As you mentioned, our lobby is under renovation and we anticipate our new lobby and guest rooms to be ready in just a couple weeks. Please visit kinziehotel.com for more details! Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 as the brand new Kinzie Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

This is the one of the best hotels I have stayed in. My husband and I stayed here last year for our anniversary and we just had to stay here again this year! The hotel is under renovation so the lobby is on the 4th floor. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would recommend paying a little more for a corner room because that way you're away and secluded from everyone else. The only issue we had was our toilet was not working properly and the staff was notified, but it was not fixed. No big deal. The location could not be better. It is so close to everything! Short walk to Michigan Ave and the shops on State street. This hotel always exceeds my expectations. Looking forward to the new look for when we come back next year!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Firewife1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
What a flattering review! We’re thrilled to hear you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay with us. While I’m pleased to receive such kind feedback about our team, I’m sorry to hear your maintenance issue was not resolved during your stay. I’ll be following up with you for more feedback regarding this situation. I will use your feedback to review and retrain our associates in order to meet and exceed the level of hospitality that you deserve. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to walk to all the nearby sites, like Michigan Avenue and State Street. As you mentioned, our lobby is under renovation and we expect our new lobby and guest rooms to be ready in just a couple weeks. Please visit kinziehotel.com for more details! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in 2014 as the brand new Kinzie Hotel!


Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here the past weekend on 12/14. We were on the 6th floor. Tip: if you have not been to Chicago, the higher the better. This way you stay above the street noise. Hotel has everything you need. Unique breakfast set up, they have it on each floor by elevator for east access. Adequate selection. Yogurt, juices, cereal, muffins, fruit, and coffee Happy hour (on the 6th floor)from 5-8 p.m. and is a nice bonus offering two drinks per person. Beer, wine, and mixed drink available along with hot and cold apps.It was well attended and social. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are decent size and well equipped. Easy walk to Michigan Avenue and many, many restaurants. Paid $180.00 with tax. Wouldn't pay more but a good deal for this class of hotel. Other similar choices if you can't get in here are Sofitel, Monaco, and The Conrad.

Room Tip: Go with top floor which is the 6th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobs1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Many thanks for the thoughtful review. We’re so pleased to hear your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one. I’m happy you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants and our close proximity to Michigan Avenue. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further delighted to know you were able to indulge in our evening cocktail reception and enjoyed the wide variety of complimentary appetizers. Your kind recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,449 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing