We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean & Efficient. Excellent Location.”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. It is within short walking distance of everything. There are plenty of 5 star restaurants, bar & grills, pubs etc. right on the corner. Just a couple blocks from Michigan Ave. and the "Magnificent Mile" shopping. If you are looking for a hotel that is in a great spot, this is definitely the place. A couple servers asked where we were staying when we dined out. When we told them The Kinzie they both said "very nice place" and "very convenient and close to everything".

The rooms are very comfortable. Our room on the 5th floor was recently remodeled. Very comfortable bed. Everything was new and ultra clean. The pictures of the rooms on their website are accurate. The complimentary breakfast is located on each floor and was adequate. There is no seating for breakfast so you have to take back to your room. Not that big of a deal.

The only surprise was the $56.00 overnight parking fee. Having said that, because of how convenient this location is, it is not too bad because it cost $4.00 an hour to park on the street at a meter...if you can even find a spot! We were able to check out of the room in the morning and go eat, shop and walk without moving the car. You can keep your vehicle in the parking facility until 6:00p of your checkout day. Also, you have in/out privileges at no additional charge should you need to drive somewhere further out.

Overall, our stay was excellent. No complaints. We will definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jt10507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

What a lovely review! We’re thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the nearby shopping and surrounding restaurants. I’m pleased to hear you found our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast to your liking. As you mentioned, our breakfast is served on each floor so you can take it to go or back to enjoy in the comfort of your own room. If you do need more room to spread out and enjoy breakfast, we also offer guests access to our Double Cross Lounge. I’m further pleased to hear you found our newly remodeled rooms to your liking—especially our comfortable, new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds! Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 2,612 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

From the warm welcome, the comfy and stylish rooms and the free cocktail hour. The Kinzie lives up to its promises. Stayed here before when it was the Amalfi - liked it then too! I would recommend this hotel and am grateful for its warmth in a still very icy early spring.

Room Tip: I made a request for the kind of room I wanted and they actually did their best to accommodate it ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Many thanks for the 5-star recommendation! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the new Kinzie Hotel! I’m delighted to hear our front office team welcomed you so warmly and will be sure to pass your kind comments along! I’m also pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms comfortable and that you appreciated the new décor. And I’m happy you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception. Your kind recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is very well located in central Chicago, no far from the river. The room I had at the very end of the aisle on the second floor was quite big and the bed very comfortable. Cleanliness was beyond reproach; a constant noise, however, was to be heard in the room and it was disturbing when trynign to get asleep. The personel was apologetic about it, but did not solve the problem. Free "after hours" drinks were offered. The breakfast served on each floor is by far not up to the hotel standard, somewhat impractical also because you have to take your food and coffee to your room, or stay in the corridor.

Room Tip: Ask a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean_Delteil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms comfortable, I’m sorry to hear about the noise disturbance you encountered. We take all noise complaints seriously and I apologize our team was not able to solve this issue during your stay. I will be following up with you directly for more information to ensure this issue is taken care of, if it hasn’t been already. As you mentioned, our complimentary deluxe breakfast is served on each floor so you can take it to go or back to enjoy in the comfort of your own room. If you need more room to spread out and enjoy breakfast, we do also offer guests access to our Double Cross Lounge. Thank you again for sharing your helpful comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Maybe because they are doing some remodeling, the price was lower than surrounding hotels with similar ratings. The location was directly downtown within walking distance of millenium park and a number of great restaurants. Wi-fi was strong, the free breakfast was decent and in the evening there was a complimentary wine tasting. The fitness center looked like it had new equipment, but I did not actually use the center.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Feenstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the nearby restaurants and sites—like Millennium Park. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and our evening cocktail reception. I’m also happy you found our newly upgraded, complimentary WiFi to your liking as well. Your thoughtful recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times for business trips, and as a former Chicagoan, I can say I feel right at home in my beloved city. The hotel has gone through a complete renovation and the rooms are large and inviting. The bed is really comfortable. Each floor has breakfast served in the morning, and the options are delicious. My favorite is the chocolate chip scone. There's also happy hour included with the room, and that's a nice way to cap off a hard day of work. I haven't used the fitness center, but peeked in, and it's clean with new equipment. The staff is available without being intrusive. WiFi is decent, no struggles with the signal for general surfing, however, I can't speak to streaming. This is a lovely hotel in a good location for dinner and sightseeing. Will be back as often as possible.

Room Tip: I've stayed on the 4th and 5th floor. Both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFan2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

What a lovely review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback! I’m so pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking—especially our comfortable, new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds! I’m also happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—conveniently served on each guest floor—and appreciated the wide variety, especially the chocolate chip scones! I’m further pleased to hear you found our recently upgraded, complimentary WiFi to your liking as well. And I’m happy you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and found it convenient to all your dining and sightseeing needs! We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel,the first time it was known as the Amalfi Hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet and evening reception is a nice touch. This hotel is very convenient to downtown restaurants and shopping. Very nice and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommydanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the newly renovated Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants and shopping. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m also happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our evening cocktail reception. Your thoughtful recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I came into Chicago for a one night Business meeting and stayed at the Kinzie Hotel.
It was very modern with contemporary furniture. The Lobby was nice and they actually served their Buffet Breakfast right in front of the Elevator on each floor--VERY COOL!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DouglasColon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the new Kinzie Hotel! I’m happy found our newly remodeled lobby to your liking and appreciated the modern décor. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. We truly appreciate your enthusiastic recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#17 of 192 in Chicago
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £84 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing