We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!!!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 day weekend here March 27-31. It has been recently remodeled and is nice. Good location, nice rooms, happy hour, and breakfast. Can't think of anything negative to say. I would stay here again on another trip to Chicago. Very professional staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hank p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for the kind review. We’re so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such great feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m also happy to hear you found our newly renovated rooms comfortable and to your liking. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 2,559 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

the hotel is fabulous! centrally located in the city, but off the beaten path. Right next to a great pub, and across the street from one of Chicagos legendary restaurants, Harry Careys. Rooms and bathroom newly renovated. Staff is exceptional, and the coctails everynight at 5pm is a great perk!
Been staying at this hotel in the city for about 8 years, each time I visit. I have stayed at many others, but this one is two thumbs up!

Room Tip: also has a fitness center. All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyJo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

What a flattering review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants, including Harry Caray’s Italian Steakhouse who also provides our in-room dining! I’m happy you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking and that you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

It was a nice hotel, we stayed there for 2 nights. They came and cleaned our room and changed our sheets both nights so that was good. Our bathroom had a hole in the ceiling and the lighting in the room wasn't the best but besides that it was a nice room and hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AshleyGdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. While I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, I’m sorry to hear about the condition of your room upon arrival. We take great pride in the high quality of our rooms and I’m disappointed to hear we failed to live up to the high standards you deserve. I’m happy to let you know I have followed up with our Engineering Department and that issue has been rectified. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show you our commitment to a positive guest experience.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for - a boutique hotel in a great location, with nice amenities and excellent service. We were not disappointed - we had a little snafu with the parking and the staff upgraded us to a beautiful room with windows on two sides, giving us beautiful views of the skyline. The room was contemporary and clean and had everything we needed. The evening reception and breakfast in the morning make this an incredible value. Friendly and helpful staff. We definitely will stay here again - so happy we found this!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind feedback about our front office team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just got back (3-28-14) from a one night stay at the Kinzie with my wife and 6-yr old.

PROS: This hotel had its grand opening (used to be the Amalfi now the Kinzie) one week before we arrived and is newly remodeled. The rooms are very nice, contemporary styling just as you see in their photos. Everything was very clean and well appointed. Bathroom was very good. The service staff was courteous and helpful...can't speak for the desk people because I had little to do with them actually. The breakfast was a good quality, true continental breakfast (nothing hot such as waffles, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, etc.) but a nice selection of pastries, some fruit, cold cereal, coffee, juice, muffins, yogurt, etc. The room was quiet and we had no disturbances. I would say this is a fine hotel for the business traveler, single person or perhaps couples who just need a nice place to stay before heading out to see the sights, etc.

It is in a pretty decent location close to the heart of the city, Michigan Ave and all that. An easy walk of a few blocks.

CONS: For families or someone who likes to "use" the hotel to relax you can do better. No pool, which we understood, no complaints just so you understand. We did not like that there was no place to relax with a newspaper of a cup of coffee for example. They do not have a typical hotel lobby with comfy chairs/sofas where you can watch TV, read the paper with a cup of coffee while watching a game or whatever. Also they do not have an eating area. Each floor has it's on breakfast area outside the elevator, which is okay, but then you have to take the stuff back to your room or find someplace else to set up for breakfast. We found that to be a nuisance and took the leisure and enjoyment out of the breakfast time. Plus we have to leave our dirty dishes in the room because there was no place to put them at the food service area. I would highly recommend they find a comfortable accommodating place for people on each floor to enjoy their breakfast...it is very much an "on the run" feel to it. Finally, although the beds were comfortable enough the pillows in our room were very uncomfortable. The kind that are very firm and keep your neck crooked all night. Fortunately they had about eight pillows so I found one that worked well enough. If you bring your own pillows better for you or perhaps they will provide something else if you ask them.

Overall a very nice hotel for the on the go person but not the best choice for anyone who wants to enjoy a hotel as part of their experience beyond sleeping in a nice clean room...which they were.

Room Tip: We had an "inside room" which overlooked a flat roof/vents etc. to an adjoining building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful review. We’re pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly remodeled guest rooms to your liking. However, I’m sorry to hear that the pillows were not to your liking. We do have other pillows available and are happy to provide those upon request. I’m happy that you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. As you mentioned, our breakfast is served on each floor so you can take it to go or back to enjoy in the comfort of your own room. If you do need more room to spread out and enjoy breakfast, we also offer guests access to our Double Cross Lounge. I am pleased to hear you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Michigan Avenue, better known as the Magnificent Mile. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? Beautiful room, great location, complimentary breakfast served on each floor, complimentary happy hour, great robes, and great service. Could the gym be better? Yeah, but they also have a relationship with a great club if that works for you. And all at a remarkable value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank mplstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your 5-star review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking and that you appreciated all our in-room amenities, like our new fluffy robes! I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception. As you mentioned, we do have a complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center but do have passes to the East Bank Club you can purchase in advance, in case you are looking for a pool or more enhanced fitness equipment. Your gracious recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The staff is awesome Julian,Katie and the others are great location location close to everything!!!!!!Great breakfast and happy hour!!!!I will return to this hotel and recommend to anyone there are tons of resturaunts close by as well as shopping

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulita71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

What a flattering review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback. I’m especially pleased to receive such wonderful comments about our front office team—Julian and Katie in particular. We pride ourselves in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m happy you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants and nearby shopping. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £112 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing