We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, but not boutique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fine, but not boutique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Advertised as a boutique hotel, I did not find this to be as boutique as I would hoped. Yes, the location is great and the quality is good, but for me it did not bring that extra charm you would expect. The breakfast is served in a buffet style on each floor and does not exceed the level of your average nation wide chain of just off the highway hotels which are part of a well known hotel group.

Also the value is good, but again not great. The biggest assets for me were the location and the new look and feel. Nice thing is that they do have an in-house 'cocktail lounge' for which I got two free drinks on checking in, I found that a nice gimmick.

Room Tip: Difficult to say - downtown location so highrises all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We’re pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m sorry to hear our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast was not up to your standards. Many of our guests often rave about our breakfast and I will be following up with you directly for more details. We are always looking for ways we can improve our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy you found our central downtown location to your liking as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    630
    138
    35
    19
See reviews for
411
887
111
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I took a much needed vacation to Chicago (our first time here). It is so centrally located, it made exploring Chicago a breeze. Hotel is clean, quiet and over all a beautiful boutique hotel. From the morning breakfast (which is on each floor) to the evening cocktail hour, everything was perfect for getting the day started and a refreshing drink to wind down or begin your evening. The staff was so helpful and courteous and made us feel very welcome (since I booked through Travelocity I wasn't sure how our reception would be). The next time we visit Chicago we will stay at the Kinzie.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review! It’s a pleasure to hear you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast and our evening cocktail reception. I agree that our reception is a great way to unwind or start your night off! I’m especially pleased to receive such kind feedback about our team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a five night stay in the hotel. Booked directly with hotel and got a great deal. We'll worth paying extra for corner room (5th floor) with great views down towards river. Room spacious, bright and clean. Complimentary breakfast on each floor nice touch and we got 10 vouchers for a free drink which we used over our stay. Very nice way to start your evening with a free drink and snacks. Hotel ideally situated close to Magnificent Mile" shopping, lake shore, Willis Tower, Navy Pier and river, all within walking distance. Took the Blue Line train to and from O Hare airport and only short 5 minute walk to hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful and appreciated their recommendation to take the Architectural River Cruise which departed within a 5 minute walk from hotel. Many restaurants in the vicinity to meet all tastes. Sienna Tavern, John Barleycorn and The Gage (24 St. Michigan Ave) and the Kerryman (Nth Clark St) are where we ate and also had lunch in the Public House next door to hotel. Disappointed with food in Harry Caray's, expensive and served too fast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GalwayDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We’re flattered you chose to stay with us for your first Chicago visit! I’m delighted to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m especially pleased to hear you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the nearby sites and restaurants like the Magnificent Mile and Siena Tavern. I am sorry to hear that the food from our neighbors, Harry Caray’s, was not to your liking. I appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to their management team. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also happy you were able to indulge in our evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back for another Chicago getaway soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A friend of mine selected this place on a whim and raved about it. When my wife and I went on a trip to Chicago for a long weekend, we decided to try the Kinzie. Location was on West Kinzie, just a block north of the Chicago river and a block or so from Michigan Ave (Magnificent Mile), walking distance to boat tours, Millenium Park, the Art Institute of Chicago, etc. The place was very clean and well maintained. The rooms were quiet and spacious. They offer both a complementary breakfast in the morning and Happy Hour in the evening.

The people working there were also exceptionally helpful. The concierge provided a number of great restaurant recommendations as well as suggestions on the best ways to get to various activities. The also provide discount tickets to some of the popular attractions (Skydeck at Willis Tower).

Great place to stay if you're in the Chicago area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re overjoyed to hear you and your wife had a “fantastic” weekend getaway with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and visit all the nearby sites like Millennium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago. I’m further pleased to hear how helpful our front office team was and that you were able to take advantage of the discounted tickets we offer to the Skydeck and so many of Chicago’s wonderful attractions. I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your warm recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the great value we got at the Kinzie Hotel. Everything was included, from breakfast, to Internet access, to complimentary appetizers and drinks each night. The location is perfect for both business travelers and visitors, and many of Chicago's highlights are within walking distance.

All of the staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and attentive, especially the bar staff during happy hour. The front desk and bell staff always provided a warm welcome when we got back to the hotel.

The post-renovation look of the rooms is a great blend of function and modern design. There are tons of outlets and USB ports in the room, and the bathroom is very spacious. Our favorite place to hang out and have breakfast was the bench by the large windows with a view of the surrounding buildings.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor (the hotel only goes up to the 6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m delighted to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking and appreciated the new touches, like the copious in-room outlets and USB ports. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast, upgraded WiFi and evening cocktail reception. And it’s a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback about our front office team. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've been to the Kinzie hotel quite often these last few weeks for work related purposes in the Chicago area. I remember the first time I checked into my room, I was blown away by the quality of the room. It was the perfect place for me to unwind after a long day at work. The services they offered, such as a dining area on the sixth floor and an exercise room on the fifth, helped me settle in a home away from home. In addition, the location of the hotel is just a heartbeat away from many attractions in the Chicago area.

What was really helpful for me was the parking services. When I had to leave in the morning to go to work, I could call the front desk from my room and have my car brought up and ready to go just as I am getting out of the elevator, which really saves some time getting to the work site. The staff at the Kinzie are also very pleasant and perform their duties with a smile on their faces as they helped make my day a little bit easier. All in all, the Kinzie hotel is a highly efficient and very comforting hotel spot for any traveler checking in. If you're looking for a hotel that puts your needs first, the Kinzie is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review with the TripAdvisor community. We’re happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your recent stays with us. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m also happy you were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago and all the surrounding attractions. It’s a pleasure to hear you were able to take advantage of all our complimentary amenities, including our 24-hour Fitness Center. As you mentioned, we do offer 24-hour valet parking for $56/night with unlimited in-and-out privileges and I’m delighted to hear how convenient that service was for you during your stay. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location Wonderful Breakfast and Happy Hour. The room and amenities were clean and first class. Front desk staff was courteous. Thanks to Katie Russell who handled a forgotten item for my wife with especial grace.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you kindly for the rave review! We’re delighted to hear you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to receive such kind comments about our front office team and will be sure to pass those along! I’m further delighted to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast and our evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your thoughtful recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing