We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room, the view, the Manager's Reception”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
WI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the room, the view, the Manager's Reception”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Expensive hotel, but a good location with great restaurants nearby. The evening manager's reception includes nice hors de oeuvres and drinks. My room had a great view. I probably wouldn't be able to stay here for leisure but the corporate rate on my employer's dime worked for me. I like Kimpton Hotels and the friendly service they provide.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary evening reception and appreciated the wide variety of hors d’oeuvres. I’m further pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and views to your liking. We truly appreciate your thoughtful recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,637
    642
    145
    38
    19
See reviews for
425
909
114
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I am a regular visitor to this hotel and have stayed on numerous occasions, but this was my first visit since it was renamed the Kinzie Hotel and had a complete makeover. And what a difference.

The decor is so much more modern and inviting, the rooms feel larger and brighter, the carpet feels lovely and plush underfoot. The things I liked before have stayed in place, such as the super comfy bed, great TV, great selection in the Honor Bar, lovely big towels, bathrobes, WiFi etc.

The staff are friendly and helpful and it is in a great location - you don't need to look any further!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debzlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds! I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi and in-room amenities, like our Honor Bar and our new, oversized, fluffy towels.I’m further pleased to receive such wonderful comments about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we delivered on that promise. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was my 6th stay at the Kinzie and I have never been disappointed! From the price to the location to the amenities to the staff...the Kinzie is my only choice when staying in the city. I'm very much looking forward to my next stay!!

-Frank

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Many thanks for the rave review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback on everything from our newly renovated rooms to our award-winning staff. We truly appreciate such a glowing recommendation, especially from a loyal guest like yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 7th stay with us at Kinzie Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanab, UT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here 5/16-20/14

Excellent location downtown and nicely remodeled property.

Liked breakfast buffet out by elevator on each floor. Trays were in each room so you could take them to the buffet & not have to balance plates, juice etc. on the way back to the room.

Rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Relaxed and cosy atmosphere, pleasant staff.

Close to restaurants and shopping.

Strongly recommend and will return.

Room Tip: end of floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victrometer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you kindly for the 5-star review! We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel! I’m delighted to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor—easily gathered up with one of our new wooden trays located in every guest room. I’m further pleased to hear you liked our central location in downtown Chicago, and were able to take advantage of all the nearby shopping and restaurants. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I just got back from 2 nights in Chicago at the Kinzie Hotel with a friend. We did not know much about this hotel when we booked it, although there are a lot of excellent reviews here. We were originally staying one night, but when our plans changed the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating in not only going out of their way to get us a second night (Chicago was a sell-out that weekend due to a large trade show) but also helping us get the best rate.

That is but one example of the many kindnesses and wonderful service we experienced.

The room was fine. Spacious and clean with just enough amenities. The breakfast was fine. There was a complimentary cocktail hour which, although not part of our plans, was a great touch for many, especially business people as a place to meet pre-dinner.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a great location to restaurants and a fun place to stay with reasonable rates. A nice find for anyone in town for fun or business.

Room Tip: It is probably best to be as far from the elevator as possible because that is were breakfast is ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy10in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many thanks for the lovely review! We’re delighted to hear you had a “wonderful stay” with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our complimentary evening reception. I agree our reception is a great spot to meet for pre-dinner drinks! And I’m happy you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the great restaurants surrounding us. We truly appreciate your gracious recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

In town for a conference. The location for the Kinzie is fantastic and the staff is top notch. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The style of the hotel is very sleek and modern - everything looks shiny and new. These are all good thing. If you peel the onion another layer, however, there are definitely a few inconveniences.

The first is that while the blackout blinds work very well, the location of the hotel (downtown in close quarters) requires you to have them down all the time (blocking out all daylight) unless you want to be staring into (and be stared back at) someone in a room across the street (or, as in my case on the 2nd floor, someone from the street level). Investing in some sheers to go behind the blinds would be a great improvement.

Lack of a hot breakfast room service is inconvenient - continental breakfast is offered by the elevators on each floor but that requires getting up and dressed to head down the hall (I'm not always a morning person). The quality of the fare provided is not the best - the baked goods especially were not the freshest. It would also be nice to see some newspapers available for guests.

The pillows available in the room are very uncomfortable and there are no other options - investing in a few options and having them available for the guests on request would also be a good investment. Other than the pillows (I ended up folding a sweater and using that), the bed was quite comfortable and the blackout blinds ensured I wasn't woken too early by the sun.

A little more attention to detail as noted above and this would have easily been an Excellent rating but these inconveniences have dragged it down to an Average for me even when bolstered with the fantastic (amazing, excellent!) location and the outstanding and superior level of courtesy and friendliness offered by the staff.

Room Tip: try to get higher than a 2nd floor room - the street is noisy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocobonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. While I’m pleased to hear you liked our new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds I’m sorry to hear that the pillows were not to your liking. We do have other pillows available and are happy to provide those upon request. I apologize if this information was not communicated to you and will be sure to follow up with the appropriate departments. I’m sorry that the view was not your liking as well. We do have a number of front-facing rooms with city views available and try to accommodate all guest requests for views. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast every morning but am sorry to hear the quality of our pastries was not to up to the high standards we pride ourselves on. I’ve passed along your feedback to our Food & Beverage department to ensure this is not an issue moving forward. We do also have several newspapers available and if they are not displayed on your floor landing, we encourage our guests to contact the Front Desk and we’ll be happy to provide you with one. I am pleased to receive such wonderful guest feedback about our team and will be sure to pass those comments along to them. I’m also happy you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district. Thank you again for taking the time to share your helpful comments. We wish you safe travels in the future.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Its very easy to walk to many major attractions, theatres, and shopping areas. The staff is very friendly and attentive. They offer a nice breakfast selection on each floor. There is a mini-fridge in your room as well as a coffee maker. There is an evening reception with light snacks and drinks. They do a good job of keeping the food stocked throughout the evening so you don't have to worry about there being nothing left if you arrive later. The bathroom is well stocked with towels and other amenities. They have dual shower heads- which is nice. There are only 6 floors- so be mindful of that if you like to stay higher for view or noise purposes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishssa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind review! We’re happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking and appreciated all the in-room amenities, like our Keurig coffeemakers and the dual showerheads in our guest bathrooms. I’m further pleased to hear you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the nearby shopping and attractions within walking distance. I’m also happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughtful comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing