We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hermantown, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location - great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed three nights at the Kinzie which used to be the Amalfi (good to know when asking for directions). The hotel has recently been remodeled and the rooms are very nice. Bed was comfortable and the double-head shower was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the area and there were several very good restaurants close by as well as night clubs. A couple of items to note - the Kinzie is located on Kinzie St. which is a "low road" and while the walk from there to Michigan St. is only about four blocks you need to climb a set of stairs. There is probably a route without stairs - you would need to ask. Also, the lighting in the bathroom is a little dim but they do provide a lighted makeup mirror. The breakfast is served by the elevators on each floor which is great! No having to get dressed to go get it - just put on the robe(s) they provide and you're sipping coffee, etc. in no time. We enjoyed our stay at the Kinzie and would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you kindly for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds and dual showerheads. I am sorry to hear you found the lighting in our bathroom too dim, but happy that the lighted vanity mirror was to your liking! I appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our General Manager. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants and nearby sites—like Michigan Avenue. I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast as well and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    635
    141
    38
    19
See reviews for
416
896
111
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I travel weekly to Chicago for business and the Kinzie (formerly Amalfi) has become my go to hotel. I find it is the best value for a business traveler. I really appreciate the comfortable beds and bedding and it is perfectly located near everything.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms look right into a buidling across the alley so perhaps ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback. We’re flattered to be your “Go To Hotel” in Chicago! I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds. I’m further pleased to hear you found our central downtown location convenient to all your travel needs as well. Coming from a loyal guest, your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Comfortable beds, friendly staff, breakfast on each floor, and best of all - happy hour with great snacks! The location is good and close to Michigan Avenue, restaurants, etc. we walked everywhere! Highly recommend this great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you had a “great” stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking—especially our new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds! I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our evening cocktail reception. And I’m happy you were able to take advantage of our location in downtown Chicago and walk to all the nearby sites—like Michigan Avenue. Your glowing recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Kinzie Hotel. Location is perfect, close to shopping, restaurants, river, lake and the L. Standard rooms are very nice and comfy, great size and quiet. The only negative about the room is the closet/clothing storage space: one small closet and a side board with small drawers. Hotel staff is super friendly and extremely helpful! The free breakfast and the evening drink reception is a nice bonus. All in all a wonderful hotel and we would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your glowing review with the TripAdvisor community! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking but apologize for the lack of storage space. We appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to our General Manager. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our complimentary evening reception. I’m further delighted to hear you enjoyed our central downtown location and were able to take advantage of all the shopping and sites surrounding us! We truly appreciate your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Bought a groupon for just after the opening of the new Kinzie in February 2014. The staff was very accommodating and allowed me to pretend I was rich even though I mostly walked past the doorman and used my city bus pass as it was so easy to get around. The complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour allowed me to splurge on lunch and dinner at some of Chicago's finest Restaurants and really feel at walking the Magnificent Mile.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you kindly for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m also pleased to hear you found location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the great restaurants surrounding us. We truly appreciate your thoughtful recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The staff is courteous and breakfast is served on each floor (great touch!). The room was great. Great views of the city and very nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable and I especially like the day bed next to the window for relaxing.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback! We’re so pleased to hear you had a “wonderful” stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds and comfortable new chaise lounges. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. Your gracious recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awesome! I saw the reviews about the noise so I called ahead and requested a room on a high floor. They accommodated my request and reserved our room on the second highest floor. Everyone was super nice and helpful. The evening reception with drinks and apps was great! We loved our room, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were spacious for our family of 4. My kids especially loved the free breakfast filled with donuts, muffins, cereal, and fruit. Overall an excellent hotel and I will recommend it to anyone I hear traveling to chicago!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RachelD2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Many thanks for the rave review! We’re thrilled to know you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to hear how helpful and accommodating our front office team was with your room request. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear our team came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking and enjoyed our comfortable new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds. And I’m happy to hear your whole family enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another Chicago getaway soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing