We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific service, lovely room”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great concierge and welcome, from the greeting and check in to the follow up provided when I was FedExed out the car key of mine that had dropped to the floor of the closet.
Will return. Especially with a value rate.... in my case Hotel Tonight. But even without that discount, the location, the room, the service: all earned my return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for the thoughtful review. We’re happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and will be sure to pass those along. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,542)
There are newer reviews for Kinzie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

First off the products H2O are wonderful! Really fresh and love the shower every time we visit what can be a grimy city sometimes. While on my out to shop, Meg the concierge told me all the great places to go and that old navy was having their famous one day $1 flip flop sale and went out of her why to surprise me with a pair when she found out that I went the other direction and missed it to watch Colombia in the World Cup ! Melissa the front house manager is completely on it! She made sure we had all the extras we request and informed us about their new "we get it" policy which I'm a big fan of with all our travels. Thanks again for a wonderful, local stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing another fabulous review! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I’m happy to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our new H2O Plus spa products. It’s a pleasure to hear my team and I could be of assistance during your stay and helped contribute to your positive experience at Kinzie Hotel. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The entire Kinzie team made us feel like a part of the family. From the beginning where Amanda and Katie in reservations helped us, to checking in with Julian who was so helpful with dinner reservations we had an amazing time! It was a short trip but we'll be back for more soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StepUp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for the kind review! We’re so happy to hear enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such wonderful feedback about our Front Office and Reservations teams! We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. We truly appreciate you sharing your 5-star recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in the Kinzie on the last leg of our trip to the US.The room was large and clean with coffee-maker and snacks.We availed of the complementary breakfast each morning which unusually was served on each floor.We also enjoyed the Happy Hour each evening when drinks and hors d oeuvres were served.
The hotel is very well located - close to all attractions and transport links and is close to many bars and restaurants.
We were particularly impressed by the check-in staff - polite and friendly. We felt that we were treated very fairly when our flight into Chicago was cancelled at very short notice and subsequently our cancellation call to the hotel was literally at the 11th hour.On check-out the cost of our first night was deducted which is not often the case in other hotels who use the small print to take as much as possible.
We would certainly stay here again and would recommend the Kinzie to anyone visiting the Windy City.

Room Tip: This is a city-centre hotel and some street noise is inevitable,but was not a problem.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank probablythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted you had an enjoyable—albeit brief—getaway with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the sites and restaurants surrounding us. I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and will be sure to pass those along! Your gracious recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another Chicago getaway soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was my second time staying at the hotel and the staff could not have been more polite! I worked with Katie Russell, she was extremely friendly and was able to suggest a restaurant nearby for dinner as well as a jazz club that was also great. Loved the complimentary breakfast. Definitely will be back, thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’ll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our team—Katie in particular. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We truly appreciate your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend to attend the parade and go shopping. The hotel used to be called the Amalfi and is now the Kinzie. Room was great and clean, staff were wonderful. We didn't know about the Manager's Happy Hour until we checked it and this became something we attended daily, just so we wouldn't miss it! Great snacks and drinks, very generous! It was nice to interact with other hotel guests too. Most hotels don't have such a nice free feature and we really enjoyed it each night of our stay. Walking was easy and felt safe, close to good bars and places to eat.

Room Tip: Don't miss the daily happy hour! Staff is wonderful, ask them anything and they will help you...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over Thanksgiving. I’m pleased to hear you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the great restaurants and nightlife surrounding us. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. As you mentioned, our hotel recently completed a renovation from Amalfi to Kinzie Hotel. We encourage you to come back and experience our newly renovated hotel upon your next visit to Chicago. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The service from the staff set this hotel apart from the overpriced & operated hotels in Chicago Downtown. Everyone from front desk to the cleaning personnel, their attentive service made me feel welcomed & taken care of. MONICA at the front desk was super awesome with her touristy suggestions and sweet demeanor & JERRY was amazing, very accommodating to guests needs. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa77009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for the rave review! We’re so pleased to receive such wonderful guest feedback—especially about our team. I have passed along your kind comments to Monica and Jerry, as well as the rest of our team, who all pride themselves on ensuring our guests have a memorable Kinzie Hotel experience. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 191 in Chicago
1,095 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £112 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing