We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great stay! Everything is brand new. There is nothing bad to say about our stay. Great room, great staff, lovely happy hours, free breakfast...and location is central (5 min walk to metro). And all of this for only 99$/night! Best deal ever!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the flattering feedback! It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and décor. I’m also pleased you found our central downtown location to your liking, especially our close proximity to several downtown CTA stations. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our evening cocktail reception and deluxe continental breakfast. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,538)
There are newer reviews for Kinzie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 2,539 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have stayed here for several years during our anniversary. Great location very friendly staff.
Mag at. Check in could not have been more courteous and informative. Bellman are friendly and offer great service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathleen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for the rave review! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such wonderful feedback about our front office team and bellman. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear our team delivered on that promise. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next anniversary celebration—if not sooner!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Moved to this hotel because they offered more for your money then where we were! And we were very happy with our choice as soon as we walk into the small but very welcoming reception area, where we were informed "it was the fun hotel"! The rooms are very nice, bathrooms are nice, beds are comfortable, and nice sitting area. Managers party is in a nice room and offers a full bar!!!!! Surrounding neighbourhood has everything and you can walk every where. Staff is very helpful for directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mexicanbound5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking—including our comfy new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds. I’m also pleased you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to walk to all the nearby sites Chicago has to offer. I’m happy you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening manager’s reception as well. We truly appreciate your kind feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I recently visited Chicago to attend a concert. The staff at the Kinzie was so friendly, always asking about activities and how they could help. The rooms were comfortable with luxurious bedding, ability to connect all our mobile devices, a Kurig coffee maker, etc. While we were disappointed that there wasn't a restaurant in the hotel, the continental breakfast served on every floor was fantastic -- kept fresh and open for a long period of time. Also, having Harey Carey's as the room service provider was pretty cool. Location of the hotel is great. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sherrie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the 5-star review. We’re so pleased to hear you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m delighted to hear you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking and appreciated the new touches, like the copious in-room outlets and USB ports; comfy new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds; and the in-room Keurig coffeemakers. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m happy you enjoyed our in-room dining provided by Harry Caray’s Italian Steakhouse as well. Your gracious recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our family recently visited Chicago and we opted to stay at The Kinzie Hotel after reading reviews on this website. It certainly did not disappoint. The staff are extremely helpful and room service is great. The hotel itself has a very modern, comfy feel to it. Furthermore, it is located in an optimum location downtown, cabs are always easy to find. Check in procedure was quick and simple. We were impressed by the quality of the rooms, they were extremely comfortable and the washrooms were very clean. I would highly recommend this place and if we happen to revisit Chicago, we are sure to stay at The Kinzie Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mustafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks for the glowing review! We’re thrilled to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m happy you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m pleased you liked our central downtown location as well. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back for another Chicago getaway soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I joined my wife in Chi & her company put us in the Kinzie. It was super! Looked brand new & very updated. Great location downtown with access to transportation, restaurants, etc. The service was great; the concierge was very helpful & valets were very polished. They have free parking & if you call down a few minutes before you want to leave your vehicle will be waiting for you at the entrance. Very good free continental breakfast & free happy hour! What's not to like!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MizzouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for the kind review! We’re delighted to hear you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. As you mentioned, we do offer 24-hour valet parking for $56/night which comes with unlimited in-and-out privileges and we occasionally include the parking in a promotional package rate. I’m happy you liked our location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the great restaurants surrounding us. I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We appreciate your thoughtful feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Location is perfect, you can walk everywhere and also close to train if you are flying in/out of town. Many restaurants around if you don't want to go to far.
Breakfast on every floor is great . Complimentary cocktail is a nice touch , nice place to go to at the end of the day. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are great. I would definitely recommend and go back

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank db0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago and walk to all the nearby sites and restaurants. I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also pleased you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception. Your kind recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,438 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,134 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £112 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing