We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay anywhere else!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 January 2011

our hotel stay was amazing! This hotel is beautiful and very, very clean. I can honestly say that I have never slept so well in a hotel-the beds are SO comfortable and the pillows were fantastic. The breakfast on every floor was so convenient and a great way to start the day. I figured we would have spent so much if we had eaten out every morning-so this was well worth the price of the stay.
You can not go wrong with this hotel! It is located close to shopping and great restaurants and in a very safe area. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obwon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,981 - 1,987 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

Superb value for our stay visiting family in Chicago for NYE. Room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. The one drawback was the A/C system - very old and quite noisy. As it was on a central system, it could not be adjusted or switched off at all. Continental breakfast and complimentary drinks at 5:30pm made guests feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeynabozbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Amalfi on your holiday visit to Chicago!

I’m glad to know you enjoyed our amenities and spacious accommodations. If the A/C was any inconvenience though, I apologize. Being a modern building, our system is newer and quite efficient in that it allows for adjustments within a set temperature range. Outside of that, our engineering team is available to either turn off or additionally raise/lower the air. In the case that there was a problem with the fan blowing in your room, please contact me directly so that we can look into it further.

Many thanks!

Melissa Driza, Guest Experience Manager
mdriza@amalfihotelchicago.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I stayed at the Amalfi Hotel for 3 nights with my friend. We were very impressed, and pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. The room was a good size, and the beds clean and very comfortable. They also provide free Wi-Fi access and provide an alarm clock which has an integrated I-pod dock. Breakfast was great, and the cocktail lounge provided pretty much any drink you can think off. The location of the hotel is excellent, views from our room included the newly built Trump International Hotel, and Harry Carays restaurant was just across the street. All in all, a fantastic hotel, with great facilities and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillgill1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We were not originally set to stay at the Amalfi, however the hotel we had planned to stay at inadvertently cancelled our reservation without notice (on New Years Eve at that) and the Amalfi came to our rescue. The front desk manager went out of her way to help us get checked in and settled, knowing what we'd been through. The room was nice, the breakfast on each floor was delicious, we enjoyed our stay and were in walking distance of Michigan Ave. Thanks to the Amalfi for saving our trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

It was our pleasure to be of assistance! Given your situation with the long day of travel, I’m glad we were able to accommodate you as quickly and comfortably as possible.

Thank you for recognizing our customer service and sharing your comments with other TripAdvisor travelers. We appreciate the recommendation and hope you choose the Amalfi on any future visits to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We've stayed here before and really like the location. Very convenient for shopping and dining options. Value is rated high, since I got the king room booked at $99/night. My wife enjoys the continental breakfast since it's set up on EACH FLOOR of the hotel. No need to go down to the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

HIGHLY recommend the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago. It is a stylish boutique hotel that has a great location with easy walking distance to downtown or the shopping district. The service was always friends and top class. Super clean - the bathroom was nice with lots of room - the beds were SOO Super comfortable. I will be using this hotel again in 2011 and look forward to staying again.

One of the neatest things I have seen is that breakfast was served on each floor. I could simply walk out get my food and return to my room to eat with out getting dressed up for breakfast -*Thumbs up*

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The hotel location was very convenient to shopping and theater. The staff was very helpful and prompt.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheritom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
5,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#17 of 192 in Chicago
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £85 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing