We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
Ranked #124 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1 week stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel was very clean., The staff was very nice and very hospitable. They cleaned our rooms late because we were in and out late. The breakfast was ok. The only thing we didnt like was the rooms do not have microwave or frig in the rooms. The rooms are kind of small . we had a double.

Room Tip: King rooms nay have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor!! I am glad that our housekeeping staff was able to work around your schedule. I would like to apologize that the room size was not up to your standards. If you are ever in the area, please inquire about our other room types. We also offer suites and rooms with microwaves and refrigerators. We know you have many options at Midway, and we are grateful that you have chosen us for your visit!! We look forward to serving you again in the future!!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    76
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
50
23
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel before a morning flight out of Midway. We got checked in right away and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room with one King bed, there was no fridge or anything in there and it was a pretty basic room, but that's all we needed.

We took the shuttle that evening to the airport to get on the Orange line to go eat downtown, however there are plenty of restaurants close by you could drive or walk to easily. The shuttle runs every 15-20 minutes for 24 hours but I don't think it always stops at every hotel in the area so I'd recommend just checking with the front desk, they can call and tell the shuttle to stop on the next round. The shuttle worked out well for our flight the next morning too and it was an easy process to leave our vehicle at the lot all week.

There weren't a ton of options at breakfast, but it didn't bother us as we just wanted to grab something quick anyway before our flight.

Overall I think this hotel was kind of pricy for what we got, but all the hotels in the area were similarly priced. We paid a little extra to get the convenience with the shuttle and airport so close. I would choose this hotel again if we ever do another flight out of Midway.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kdstille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, and share your experience at our Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! We truly appreciate the compliments you shared about our facility. I am glad that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle services and Park & Fly Package. Next time you visit our hotel, inquire about our different room types. We also offer rooms with microwaves and refrigerators. We know you have many options at Midway, and we are grateful that you have chosen us for your visit!! We look forward to serving you again in the future!!

Thank you,

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Decided to try this hotel as we had an early 6:00 am flight out of midway. Drove over the night before from Michgan. Got settled into the room and ready for bed. Tried to call down for a wake up call and discovered the phone wouldnt work. It was late so we thought lets just set the alarm clock... No luck that was also not working. Had to go down to the front desk and request a different room. They wouldnt change us until the repair man tried to fix it. By this time its 11:00 pm and we all wanted to be in bed, getting a good nites sleep. The repairman tried for 30 minutes and gave up so at 11:30 we are packing up the kids and moving to a different room in our pjs!!! not fun...The shuttle service was so busy in the morning even tho we were down stairs for the 5:00 am shuttle it was too full so we had to wait for the second one...We parked our car in their lot while on vacation. The Park and Fly option, dont do this as when we came back we couldnt get them to pick us up from the airport. We called 4-5 times and ended up standing outside in the cold and rain for 35 minutes. I would never use this hotel and parking option again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for filling out a review and thank you for staying with us. I am very dissapointed to hear that your stay wasn't satisfactory and I cannot apologize enough about your experience. I am looking into these issues to ensure that they do not happen again.
Again, please accept my deepest apologies and I truly hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. I can assure that will exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Nicole Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
466 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were forced to spend the night in Chicago when bad weather delayed our flight out of Buffalo missing our connection to San Diego. Quick check of TripAdvisor sent us here and it was satisfactory. Free shuttle, convenient to and from the airport, and a few decent restaurant choices in the area. The continental breakfast was good too. The first time we've seen an automatic pancake machine! It didn't quite live up to the hype though, the pancakes were pretty chewy. Overall our stay here made a bad situation a little better.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSpeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_CHIMW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our location. I am glad that you were able to utilize our complimentary breakfast and 24hr complimentary shuttle services . I want to also thank you for sharing your concerns about the pancakes and I can assure you that we will look into this immediately. We value your business, and are grateful for the feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

All the best,
Nicole Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Table Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The hotel looked beautiful inside and out. Great service and convenient airport shuttle. The breakfast was fine, need to change egg style but other than that a good eat. The room was up to date, roomy and very clean. Pillows were soft and sheets were crisp. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strodemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton_CHIMW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, and share your experience at our Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! We truly appreciate the compliments you shared about our facility and staff. We know you have many options at Midway, and we are grateful that you have chosen us for your visit!! We look forward to serving you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Me and my husband decided to have a night out so we made reservations at the holiday inn express we had a wonderful experience yes there is the LOUD toilet but we did not hear anyone else's the room was spacious we had a King size bed it was COMFORTABLE just loved it we slept real good and the pillows were sooooooo soft!!! then we were able to get our food delivered had a great time definitely will be back!!! And the breakfast was good especially when it was FREE :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3nnybme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXMidway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I am happy to hear that you found both the bed and the pillows comfortable!! It was great to see that you took advantage of TGI Friday's for in-room delivery. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Because of a medical emergency our 1 hour layover in Chicago turned into 2 days. We chose this hotel because of proximity to airport and because I'm an IHG Priority member. The only thing I didn't like was that our room was a little scuzzy. Nothing horrible or enough to make me want to change rooms but not the best I've been in. With that said, All staff was very friendly, from front desk to service staff. Breakfast was eh but there was a large selection. The thing I liked the most of this hotel was what surrounded it. A Marriott with an Irish Grill and Starbucks, another Holiday Inn with a Sports Bar (went there for lunch- good beer on tap, friendly service, and pretty good food), and a TGIFridays that delivers to your room (they automatically add gratuity to your bill). My husband used the gym and we frequented the business center. It was a great place to hang out for my 7 mo old and even though we were right on the first floor next to the elevator and laundry room - noise was never an issue. AND no problem with the shuttle service at all which we used twice. The shuttles serve all the hotels in that center so I'm sure they can fill up but there's always one right there. They run every 20 minutes. I definitely recommend this place and would stay again. Also, our room had the best hotel pillow I've ever used - which speaks a lot because I have back issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXMidway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Holiday Inn Express. I am sorry that you did not find the room to be perfect; please notify us next time and we will be sure to address any issue that you have. Its always great to read that you found our staff to be friendly!! Our location inside the Midway Hotel Center makes us a very convenient option for travelers, I am pleased to read that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to and from Midway Airport in addition to the onsite dining options.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
#3 of 5 in Bedford Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
Address: 6500 S Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638-5804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Chicago
#91 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport. Conveniently located just 2 blocks south of Chicago Midway Airport and only 8 miles from downtown Chicago, the hotel offers free 24 hr. airport shuttle to and from Midway Airport, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and our new free Smart Start breakfast. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport is the perfect base to explore attractions such as Grant Park, the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, the Brookfield Zoo, Toyota Park, and Soldier Field. Just 20 minutes will put you in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, the Midwest s premier shopping district. Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Chicago Midway Airport, the Bedford Park Industrial Center, Tyson Foods, and Cintas. For meetings, the hotel's French Quarter Room can accommodate groups of up to 25 and dining options abound, with nearby TGI Friday s, Dempsey s Irish American Grill, and Coaches Bar and Grill, Where Winning Never Tasted This Good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing