We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
Ranked #124 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Had to check in last minute due to a series of delayed flights. I'm glad my company found this place. The young lady at the front desk, Heaven was awesome. Fast easy check in. My luggage and toiletries all flew to LA without me so I was stranded with nothing. Heaven provided me with deodorant, a comb, a shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpaste. I am very grateful for that. I will definitely be staying here next time I fly in or get stranded. Thank you Holiday Inn Express for your hospitality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abraham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Abraham,

Thank you for this wonderful review!! I will be sure to share your feedback with Heaven and the rest of the team. I am very happy that they were able accommodate you.

Thank you once again for the kind words and hope you have a wonderful rest of the week!

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    76
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
23
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a good airport hotel, with clean and comfortable rooms and an okay breakfast. My only complaint is that the information about the shuttle service to the metro station is misleading. The hotel website says that there is a "complimentary shuttle available" TO THE METRO station. Actually, the shuttle takes one to the departures section of Midway airport, and from there it's a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Metro platform. I timed us, and it never took us less than 25 minutes total from getting on the shuttle at the hotel to taking our seats in the train at the Metro platform.

This is still workable for getting to downtown Chicago, and I'd probably stay here again just because the price is so much lower than downtown hotels. However, the information on the hotel website should clarify just how long it will take to get from the hotel to downtown. I was expecting a shuttle stop just for the Metro, so I was thinking total travel time from hotel to Loop would be about 35 minutes or so. In fact, what with the walk through the airport, our total travel time from hotel to Loop was more like 55 minutes or an hour. That's fine, but travelers need to know that that's what they're getting so they can plan accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dudley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello,

We are so happy to hear that you had a nice stay! I will definetly take your advice and review our website in detail to correct any outdated information. Thank you so much for letting us know these things! It is through guests like you that we can provide a great hotel that guests love!! We hope to see you the next time you are in town!!

N. Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip. This hotel is clean and quiet, although the prices are really high for what you get (although, this is true of Chicago hotels in general). The bathrooms are a bit old and outdated, but they're clean and functional. The beds were very comfortable and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Both days required a cab ride into downtown Chicago and the hotel staff and cabs waiting, just as we'd asked them to. Also, the airport shuttle is very convenient and the driver was really friendly. The breakfast buffet, though: not so great. There were no hot offerings either morning, even though there were stations for eggs and pancakes that remained empty. The coffee was also bad. I walked over to the Starbucks inside the Mariott next door both mornings. Overall, good, comfortable, hotel at better prices than others located in same office park. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about our great service and clean rooms! I noticed that you commented on the breakfast. We put breakfast out every morning at 4am for guest that have early flights in the AM. However, the hot items are served M-F from 6:00am-9:30am and 7-10am on Saturday and Sunday. This may be the reason in which the stations were empty. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chicago! Thanks!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here one night for business trip. Location was great - close to airport and area restaurants. Didn't use the shuttle but it's convenient for those that need it. I had a double room on first floor. Room was nice... very clean and lots of towels and pillows. Air conditioner was a little loud when fan was running. I had to call maintenance when I forgot to tuck the shower curtain in and accidentally flooded the bathroom. Maintenance men were very quick to respond and very polite and helpful. All the staff was very nice. Complimentary breakfast was also convenient. Good assortment of breakfast items. I will gladly stay here again. In fact, I've already booked for next business trip.

Room Tip: I was on first floor and noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It brings a smile to our face when we hear guest have a great experience at our hotel. Our number one priority is our guest and we are ecstatic that we were able to provide a wonderful stay here for you. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to your next trip out to Chicago!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very nice hotel- staff was very friendly at the hotel but the airport driver was not! We stayed here because we were flying out of Midway and our car stayed parked at the hotel while we were gone. We got in very late and had to leave very early the next morning, so basically we just slept for a few hours. Beds and linens were comfortable and the rooms very quiet. We didn't get breakfast because we were leaving before it was set up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the steps leading to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipflop1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello,

Thank you for commenting on your experience here at the Holiday Inn Express Chicago Midway! I would like to first and foremost apoligize about the service that you recieved from the shuttle driver. If you have any furhter details, please contact me directly here at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyedyour stay here at the hotel and were able to utilize the Park, Stay, & Go Package. We hope that if your travels cause you to travel from Midway that you will stay here with us again. Thanks again!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned home from a "nightmare" at Chicago Midway airport. We were stranded in Chicago for 2 days waiting to come home to Raleigh NC. The staff at the Holiday Inn Express was OUTSTANDING! They did everything in their power to make our stay wonderful. The bathroom needed renovating a bit, but the staff told me that they were in the process of doing same. The breakfast was decent, and loved that when we had to leave at 4:00 a.m. to get back to the airport (free shuttle!!) there was coffee, juice, cereal, bagels, etc. available at that early hour for us to grab and go. THANK YOU so much for "being there" for us under such bad circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machesney Park IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Clean room - Room was quiet, bathroom was very clean. Opted for double room, which linens were soft. Free internet with WIFI connection which was simple to sign in. Nice internet speed with multiple devices signed in

Nice addition was free coffee bar on arrival from long commute to airport. Hotel does offer free breakfast if you want to dine in am. Plus you can park here for 15.00 a day and take the shuttle to MDW. For the money, this was a great place to stay before a 6:00 am flight.

I would recommend hotel for airport stay, worked out great for those early flights.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvAirShows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor!! We appreciate your feedback! I love reading new reviews, especially great ones like yours! I'm glad that you enjoyed your room! I hope that the next time you are in the Chicago area, you will come back and stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago Midway!! Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards!

N Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
#3 of 5 in Bedford Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
Address: 6500 S Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638-5804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Chicago
#91 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport. Conveniently located just 2 blocks south of Chicago Midway Airport and only 8 miles from downtown Chicago, the hotel offers free 24 hr. airport shuttle to and from Midway Airport, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and our new free Smart Start breakfast. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Chicago Midway Airport is the perfect base to explore attractions such as Grant Park, the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, the Brookfield Zoo, Toyota Park, and Soldier Field. Just 20 minutes will put you in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, the Midwest s premier shopping district. Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Chicago Midway Airport, the Bedford Park Industrial Center, Tyson Foods, and Cintas. For meetings, the hotel's French Quarter Room can accommodate groups of up to 25 and dining options abound, with nearby TGI Friday s, Dempsey s Irish American Grill, and Coaches Bar and Grill, Where Winning Never Tasted This Good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing