We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Inn Midway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Midway Inn(Chicago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skylark Motel(Chicago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
440
226
53
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
226
53
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange linetrain stationshuttle servicefree shuttlepark and flypancake machineroom was cleancontinental breakfastclose to the airportyogurtmicrowave and fridgechicago areaan early flightrental carlate at nightpublic transitflat screen tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What is an older property turned out to be a real gem. The interior was redone with class. Very nice furnishings, great earthy colors. Very upper class for a vintage property. Valerie at the front desk is very friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: no elevator to the 2nd level so if you need to avoid stairs, ask for the 1st floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnittingNut53110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When planning a trip to Chicago, we encountered such high prices downtown that we turned to trip advisor for help. We found this hotel to be highly rated and yet economical. We were not disappointed. The rooms are clean, comfortable and close to the train. The breakfast isn't fancy but it was perfect if all you want is yogurt bagels and orange juice. The train station is only a block away.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtisclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a tough one! If what you want is somewhere cheap and cheerful then this is for you. However there are some downsides - it is dark and a little smelly. It desperately needs a refurb - it is stuck in 1995. Breakfast is very ordinary and unless you want to sit outside next to the freeway, then it is very cramped. The air conditining made the room smell like an old ladies wardrobe, dark and damp. It was all a alittle uncomfortable, and the furnishings seemed also to be stuck in a time-warp. On the very plus side, there are some really friendly and helpful staff who go the xtra mile for you - nothing is too much trouble and their local knowledge is great. The hotel is also close to the airport (Midway) and the shuttle to and from the hotel is great. It is also near the local rail transit and is 15 minutes and $2-3 to downtown Chicago.
Real shame, as this hotel has something that so many lodgings of this type fail to deliver on - good, honest helpful and knowledgeable staff. They have to spend some money on upgrading it though

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_Elvins1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, General Manager at Carlton Inn Midway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Ron,

First, I want to thank you for your kind words about our staff being good, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable as well as complimenting our shuttle service as being “great”.
We sincerely apologize for the experience that you had with your room. We take pride in delivering to our guests clean and comfortable rooms with all of the amenities you would expect including refrigerators, microwaves and flat screen TV’s. We are continually updating our rooms, most recently 10 months ago with new wall covering, carpet and brighter lighting. I do wish you had mentioned the dampness issue during your stay as we could have easily moved you to another room. Dampness and odor are two issues we rarely have and although we were not able to duplicate the issue today, the only thing I can think of is that the carpet and draperies were steam cleaned in the room you occupied 3 days prior to arrival and there may have been excess humidity in the room as a result.
I will reach out to you to apologize and see if we can resolve your experience to your satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Carlton Inn for one night after missing a connecting flight through Midway. All of our luggage and toiletries had been checked through to our destination, so we only had the clothes on our backs. The staff was amazing. The shuttle picked us up at the airport as soon as we called the hotel to book a room, and when we arrived at the hotel, they gave us plenty of free toiletries and offered to drive us to a nearby Target to buy whatever else we needed. Instead, we walked to the nearby Walgreens, located just a few blocks away. The hotel is on a busy street in a working-class neighborhood where we felt safe walking around.

Our room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, so we were able to buy some breakfast food at Walgreens and eat in our room prior to leaving for our very early morning flight.

The evening we were there, my son and I sat outside in the courtyard to watch a movie on the free wifi, and the staff brought us out coffee and blankets when it started to get chilly. We couldn't believe it.

Our free shuttle to the airport left right on time the next morning (super early) and had us to Midway within 10 minutes.

We were all very grouchy about missing our flight and having to spend the night in Chicago, but the staff at the Carlton Inn helped us to relax and make the best of the situation. I'm only giving the hotel 4 stars because it is not a luxury hotel by any means, but if I were to evaluate it just in terms of service and overall hospitality, I'd give it a 10.

Room Tip: Noisy street -- I assume rooms near the back would be quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Talk about hidden gems! This delightful gated courtyard-style motel should be held up as an example of excellence to it's big name competitors. Perfectly appointed spotless room. Even the parking lot was clean and well lit. The staff members were friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable of the area. Even the resident dog had perfect manners! The continental breakfast served included pancakes and Dunkin Donuts sandwiches. We had a minor car problem and were directed to the shop used by the Motel staff. The repair was quick and financially painless. Many restaurants are nearby, for which a personalized guide was provided that even rated staff favorites. The Motel was a straight run to the University of Chicago, which was our ultimate destination. We will be staying at the Carton Inn frequently, now, until our daughter graduates. One suggestion, however. A second mirror placed in the room would be of great help. Otherwise, a superior experience.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid the Archer Street side.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maminamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews