We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Inn Midway
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in Carlton Midway Inn during Chicago marathon. Both rooms were very clean and quiet. Breakfast was good. Shuttle to MDW airport is convenient but we did not use it. "El" train station is only 7-8 min away but it takes ~20 min of ride to get to The Loop. - this is the only drawback.
Do not forget to show your AAA card - the do honor it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sad5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had an early flight out of Midway airport and needed somewhere close to stay one night. The hotel is older, actually a two story motel with all outside entrances. The front desk staff were very friendly. They have a full breakfast, but the kicker is you walk down the street to a restaurant with a seven dollar voucher. The restaurant is okay, just a local cafe. Had a full eggs and potatoes meal, but it is hard not to go over the voucher dollar amount and then to tip on top. The rooms are quite spaces with a fridge, microwave, and eating area. The bathroom is dated, but very serviceable. I am told there is a shuttle. Don't know, didn't need one. Also, supposedly near the El, but didn't notice. It is close to the airport which is what I needed and it worked just fine. I thought is was a little pricey at 120 per night, but it is Chicago, I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StonecreekArabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, General Manager at Carlton Inn Midway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Stonecreek Arabians,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to comment. I am happy that we met your needs for lodging for an early Midway flight. Our remodeled breakfast area has been re-opened for about two months now after a temporary closure for repair and renovation. During your stay we were using the adjoining restaurant with a voucher to serve our breakfast. I apologize for any resulting inconvenience the closure caused and look forward to serving you when future need arises.
Warm Regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Upon arriving at this place we were somewhat apprehensive, it looks like a typical 2 storey motel that surrounds it's car park. But actually, it's not that bad.

Check in was almost instant, there's a some information in the reception area as well as a huge map of Chicago with the train lines/station over laid.

Entering the room, I was pleasantly surprised, the place was fairly well appointed with fridge & microwave, something I didn't expect. The furnishings in our room at least were not outdated at all, so I'm not sure what the other reviews are referring to there.
We stayed 2 nights and the housekeeping service was good, we ended up with a large quantity of towels.

The train station is a short walk away, but avoid rush hour as it can be a bit dicey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had a great stay at the Carlton. They have a super convenient shuttle that takes you around to all of the local restaurants, the airport, and the McCormick convention center. Steve, the van driver, is probably one of the most awesome people that I have ever met and drove us to get some delicious late night food. I look forward to coming back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The staff here made this a perfect location for exploring the city by train and bus. The free shuttle from Midway Airport was also available for trips to the Orange line station at Pulaski. We enjoyed the breakfast offerings and found the room to be comfortable. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: No elevator to 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel is located a block away from the orange line which will take you to downtown Chicago. Great affordable alternative to staying in the more expensive downtown area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel has a shuttle to the orange line, which we used when it was raining. Everyone was pleasant and willing to help before we even asked! We appreciate their hospitality and next time we are in Chicago we will see them (and Buddy) again! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barusso61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#140 of 192 in Chicago
666 reviews
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#144 of 192 in Chicago
175 reviews
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
#4 of 5 in Bedford Park
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Address: 4944 S Archer Ave, Chicago, IL 60632-3623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £86 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing