We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for our Overnight Stay! Perfect!”
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Inn Midway
Ranked #54 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Carlton Inn was perfect for our overnight stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel near Midway for the night before our flight. Somewhere that would accommodate us and our 2 small dogs (Maltese).

The room was very very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were consistently wonderful. I've travelled the globe extensively on business and can honestly say that all of the the staff we interacted with at the Carlton were as friendly, helpful and accommodating as any 5 star hotel I've stayed in.

The Carlton is a 2-star hotel, but the room was very clean and very comfortable.

The breakfast was a surprise because, though simple was quite varied and good.

We took the shuttle to Midway. We had 5 suitcases plus the 2 dogs and their in-cabin carriers. The driver picked us up outside our room and was helpful with the bags.

The Carlton was perfect for our needs and perfect for our night before our flight.

Room Tip: We found some grassy strips at the bank a very short walk next door to the hotel. This was closer an...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iankh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Inn Midway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for four nights, our first visit to Chicago, en route to Canada from Ireland.
This place is fantastic! Great room (we had #127), fridge, microwave, coffee maker,TV, comfortable beds, aircon, huge bathroom,excellent guest service, great value, free shuttle to and from Midway airport, free breakfast, free fitness center, free pick up and drop to CTA Pulaski Orange Line. The staff were very helpful, welcoming and courteous. Valerie at the front desk was so helpful, suggested loads of restaurants nearby, shuttle dropped and collected us. Room service was very helpful and friendly and breakfast choices were a great start to day
Can't thank the staff enough for all that they did! This was a very enjoyable and impressive start to our holiday. Thanks to everyone at the Carlton Inn!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gibs0n_Les_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We chose this hotel based on the reviews and the fact that we didn't want to spend the money to stay downtown. We couldn't have been happier. The staff here is EXCELLENT and very helpful, the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is also a 5 minute walk to the Pulaski train station so you can catch the train to downtown...or wherever you want to go. We'd highly recommend this hotel with it's close vicinity to downtown and any attraction you want to visit. This hotel is a 4.5 star, the only thing keeping it from being a 5 star is the bathroom could definitely use a bigger mirror, more counter space.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night. We arrived after midnight, and the check-in went smoothly. A guard outside promptly directed us to a parking spot, for which there was no charge. The hotel has exterior corridors and could easily become a dump if not properly managed. This one was clean on the outside and the room was very clean as well. It included a compact refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a roll-down blind on the window. It was very quiet. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was relatively small, but again very clean. It appeared to be freshly painted. The free breakfast was adequate, and saved us the time from having to stop before our destination. I felt that the room rate was justified, given the location in a big city, the quality of the room, and the free breakfast.

Room Tip: For hotels with exterior corridors I always ask for a room not on the ground floor, to be away from...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great little motel on South Archer in Chicago. Parking is FREE and security is OK. Staff is very helpful and attentive. Housekeeping is excellent! Close to CTA station on Pulaski which is the best way to downtown.

Room Tip: Choose courtyard facing the office.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Got 2 rooms. One for us, one for daughter and son-in-law. The 4 of us agree, best beds and pillows we have ever had in a motel. Room was clean. We really liked the FREE off-street parking. Price was very reasonable for being 6 miles from downtown Chicago. Price was about $125 including tax, per room. Near Midway, but I did not hear aircraft as I expected. Staff was very nice but maybe needed a little more training.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry_T281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place is fantastic! Great rooms, excellent guest service, free shuttle to and from the airport, free breakfast, free fitnes center...
We got stuck at the Midway airport during Chicago's Radar Control Center & Midway/Ohare shut down on 5/13/14. Flights were cancelled and we rebooked for the following morning. Called Hilton and a few other nearby hotels (which were booking up fast) and got high rates and no shuttle service. Asked the Midway Information Center lady about nearby hotels and she suggested the Carlton Inn and handed us a brochure. We called the Carlton Inn (#36 on the Midway baggage area hotel board) and the lady at the Carlton Inn's front desk said she had a room with 2 queen beds, had a free shuttle, free breakfast and was a short ways away. With AAA discount is was $116 plus change. The shuttle picked us up and we checked in.
As our luggage was on it's way to Los Angeels, we had no personal items. Checked back with the lady at the Carlton Inn front desk and she suggested the Family Dollar store a block away for inexpensive items. She even suggested Giordano's pizza, which was excellent deep dish pizza.
The next day, after a quick breakfast & check-out, we were shuttled back to Midway. The Carlton Inn came through for us when other hotels didn't. Can't thank the staff enough for all that they did!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingMan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#139 of 191 in Chicago
665 reviews
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#142 of 191 in Chicago
175 reviews
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Address: 4944 S Archer Ave, Chicago, IL 60632-3623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £85 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing