We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenue Q”

The Mercury Theater
Ranked #86 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Attraction details
USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avenue Q”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This show was amazing and for a small theatre this was one of the best shows I have ever seen. This is superb. I love small theatre and the show here is amazing. The voices on the actors were stunning and were in perfect sync.

Helpful?
1 Thank cracklepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a fantastic little gem! We paid $12 to valet park and that came In handy since there was a baseball game that night and not a parking spot to be found. The theatre is very small and intimate. Feels like among family and friends. There is an Irish pub hooked to it, which came in handy at intermission. We paid $45 a ticket to see Avenue Q and it was so worth it. Seats were just a few rows from the stage and we had purchased them only two days before at the last minute. I can't wait to see another production at this venue! You really can't get a bad seat, not even in the balcony. I felt like I was in someone's living room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GBPackerFan4evah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Easy to get to...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My teenage grandsons chose Avenue Q at the Mercury theater. I usually choose a loop theater. The Red Line it looked doable. The Red line runs every 8 minutes and my Yahoo map said to get off at Sheridan. I called the theater. The box office staff was very cooperative and said the walk from the subway would be pleasant with many choices for eating and shopping.
We ate at the restaurant on the right of the Mercury. We had a drink on the left side. We saw Avenue Q. A great lively production. We especially enjoyed Leah Morrow as Katie Monster but the whole cast was delightful. We hiked back to the Subway and were soon back to our hotel downtown. No taxi or parking problem. Mercury will be on our radar for the next Chicago visit. The ticket price is right also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Live theater on Southport”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Located a few doors north of Chicago's legendary Music Box theater, the Mercury is a live stage venue. It's best to phone and assure something is booked. Parking is available at a nearby elementary school. Both theaters are a short walk south from Irving Park Rd., and not too far west of Wrigley Field.
The Mercury if often the venue for great shows, and highly recommended. There are many eateries and unique shopping along Southport; a fun part of Chicago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wonderful Avenue Q”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It was a great production. Nice theater and nice neighborhood for walking and eating. It was a long walk from the Red Line subway, but worth the time and effort.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mercury Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Mercury Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing