We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... Only 7 months old!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Chicago City Center
Ranked #42 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute on our way to Chicago. It was very easy to find... N. Clark St in the upper north side. By booking through the spg.com site, we received a comp drink upon arrival. This hotel is very modern, amazing bed ( I'm very picky about beds:) really cool glass shower and has a great "green" program offering you a $5 credit if you choose not to have towel service for that particular day. There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel, but I would suggest getting out and trying some
great Chicago eateries. We had to valet park because parking is bad most anywhere you go downtown. We paid $52/ day...yikes! Next time we will park away from downtown and take the metra train into the city.
This is a very nice, new and clean hotel. I highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, General Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Amanda,

Thank you for your review and high recommendation. It's good to know our beds make the grade, and we know a free cocktail can only make you like us more! We appreciate your review and making us your last minute escape to Chicago.

Craig Pearson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Aloft Chicago City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel the weekend after Christmas and was very pleasantly surprised by how nice and clean it was, especially given the price (under $100 a night with a company discount). The quarters are tight and they make the most of a small space; there is a sliding door separating the toilet and shower, but the sink is in the open. This was
Reminiscent of the W Opera in Paris, but at a fraction of the price. The bed is comfortable which most important. The furnishings are not of the highest quality, but look modern and fit with the decor. One complaint is that walls are quite thin. We could hear people talking in the hallway in the middle of the night. Earplugs would be helpful. All in all, if you are not planning on spending much time in the room, this is a great option. It has everything you need at a low price. It is also in a great area with a lot of good restaurants around (topolobampo/frontera, rpm, suunda all within a block). With earbuds, you will sleep as well as at the four seasons so save your money for a nice dinner or two.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for the great feedback! I am glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us and liked what we have done with the space. We will certainly take your suggestion of ear plugs for future guests, and look into the noise issue that you experienced. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Was perfect for our annual Christmas trip to Chicago. The windows in room are spectacular. Lobby was tons of fun with pool table and lounge furniture. Room was designed well with plenty of space and comfort. Shower and bathroom was tiled clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITheMan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thanks for spending your holiday with us! I'm glad you enjoyed the space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Pro:
- 2 blocks from subway
- friendly staff
- modern simple "Aloft" style

Con:
- room feels small. Aloft rooms tend to be small compared to other Starwood hotels but this one feels even smaller than the other Aloft's I've stayed in

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are a unique aloft in that we do not have many locations in a downtown market, which tend to have slightly smaller rooms. We do offer some rooms that are larger than others, so please request one of those on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Fun hotel, friendly staff, great restaurant, and close to everything. I reserved a block of rooms for a wedding party. The staff was extremely easy to work with. The hotel had a funky vibe. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillcono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay! We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Aloft Chicago for a birthday getaway. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a great location. Walkable to Michigan Avenue and great restaurants on Hubbard Street. The hotel staff was friendly and personable, and allowed us to check in an hour earlier than we were supposed to. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, Beatrix, downstairs - what a fantastic place! The food was delish! Great service too. For the rate we got, we'll definitely be back next time we're in Chicago.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Glad we could host you for your birthday weekend! Happy belated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on 16 December 2013. Aloft rooms are smaller than comparably priced hotels, but I like the setup. The room is designed to mimic a loft (get it?) studio. The furniture is all built-in and the space is very efficient. As always, free wifi, a big wall-mount TV and bliss bathroom products are nice touches.
This location was well suited to walking to dinner or shopping with a lot of nearby choices. I didn't eat at the lobby bar/restaurant, but it was busy and lively each time I walked by. My only complaint is parking - I paid $62 for overnight valet which considering the room was only $129 seemed pricey - It was difficult to find the valet at first and I never even found out if there was self-parking available somewhere.
The staff was friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenGause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Steven, thanks for the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The parking does seem pricey when our rates are lower, but unfortunately, the parking rates do not fluctuate with our rate changes. We do have a self parking option at a nearby parking garage. The rate is $47/night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 191 in Chicago
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chicago City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chicago City Center

Address: 515 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60654-3279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £106 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Chicago City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chicago City Center is located in downtown Chicago's River North, one of the city's trendiest neighborhoods. Located between the Loop business district and premier shopping on the Magnificent Mile, our Chicago River North hotel will put you right in the center of it all. Aloft Chicago City Center features pet-friendly guest rooms with free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs, plush bedding and beautifully-appointed bathrooms with walk-in showers. Guests can enjoy Chicago's hot-spot, Beatrix, for a full menu and bar in the lobby, order room service or check out many of the city's top restaurants and bars right outside our door. Valet parking is available (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloft Chicago City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing