We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft Chicago City Center
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$535
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
US$254
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$181
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$240
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
384
238
46
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
238
46
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver northgreat locationspg pointsbliss productsbathroom areatoilet and showerspg memberfun hotelrestaurant downstairsclark streetfront desk staff was very friendlysliding doorwithin walking distancecorner roomcool vibestreet noisefire station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Friendly staff, heavenly bed, great location. Lots of mouth watering restaurants which are within walking distance. The lobby area was always full of energetic people. Rick Bayless' restaurants are just a block away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTon5th_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, General Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for the excellent review! It is certainly a challenge to the waistline to have so many amazing restaurants in our River North neighborhood. Good thing there are so many sights to see to keep you moving about the city. Please join us again in the near future.

Craig Pearson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel after a concert at the House of Blues. My first experience with the Aloft brand. Would definitely recommend the property. Great location, lobby was kitchy & cool (including a pool table), rooms a bit smallish (like any city hotel room), but very chic and modern. Got a great deal and paid less than $100 for the night including tax. Really enjoyed this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, General Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Getting a five-star review from our guests is like getting an A on an algebra test: so rewarding! In fact, I think I will post yours on our refrigerator for all to see!

Beaming,

Craig Pearson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My daughter chose this hotel for her 13th birthday party because she loved the "grapefruit chairs" in the lobby. (She loves a modern look.) We brought a few of her girlfriends to spend the night downtown. They absolutely loved it! I'd read a number of terrible reviews as to noise levels being extreme, so I was very uncertain about her choice, but I had no problems with anything and slept like a log. Of course, I was exhausted. The girls said they heard lots of noise in the middle of the night but they weren't at all bothered by it. I found the street noise to be non-existent, though we were in a room that looked out to the building behind us so I'm sure that muffled any sirens or other traffic noise. The rooms were very modern, very green and honestly, very cool. Loved the décor, especially the bathroom, the beds were comfortable and the desk service was fast and super friendly. For all of the people in the lobby at any given time, I never felt crowded or uncomfortable and though I never needed any assistance, there were employees everywhere, ready to help. I worried that the location was too far away from everything (my preference would have been a Michigan Avenue hotel) but I found this to be dead center of everything - restaurants, shopping and all of the Christmas-time things to do, so it worked perfect! My only disappointment, and the reason it's not a 5-star review, is because the room we were assigned to was, again, looking straight into the building behind us. We could literally see into the windows of the other building that was far too close for comfort. That said, with shades drawn, it was a really nice, comfortable and surprisingly spacious room. We try to stay downtown once or twice a year and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about street noise, request an east-side room overlooking the building behind. It was close to the elevator yet far from the noise of the street. Just know that you will be sacrificing a decent view for the peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktrejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, General Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We hope your daughter had a wonderful night out with her friends. We are flattered that of all the hotels in Chicago she chose our property to celebrate her birthday! Never underestimate the power of the "grapefruit" chairs! The rear facing rooms lack a view, but are quiet and away from the street noise, which could have contributed to your restful night. Perhaps you can enjoy a view upon your next visit?

Cheers,

Craig Pearson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in visiting Chicago. Friendly staff, top notch amenities, comfortable room, GREAT location. The valet is a little expensive and not very present, could improve a bit with service, but not bad overall. The restaurant was great, delicious breakfast. The only thing I can think of to improve the quality of the hotel would be some way to play music in the room. There is no speakers or anything to hook up an iPhone to. The sliding door for the bathroom was a little odd, but other than that, fantastic. Will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: The -05 rooms are pretty nice, it's a corner room, so TONS of windows, good views, plenty of space too.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hello Matt,

Thank you for your review and your great suggestions. Some of the best ideas come from our guests. We are glad you are a fan of aloft, and look forward to your return.

All Smiles,

Craig Pearson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The was our first experience with the Aloft brand. The bedding was very in keeping with the Westin/Starwood quality we have come to expect. The room itself was efficient but lacks an element of luxury. The lobby area was always alive and active. For the price and the location it was a great addition to the downtown Chicago lodging options. We are going back again this month.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, General Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Greg,

We are delighted to have been your first aloft hotel stay. We only have one chance to make a first impression, and I am pleased that you will be staying with us again this month. Please join us one evening in re:mix and be part of the energy that is aloft.

Craig Pearson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews