We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Chicago City Center
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I recently completed a two night stay at the Aloft Chicago City Center. Without a doubt, this hotel exemplified the casual, youthful, and urban lifestyle that the brand caters to.

ROOM
Room 1803 is a standard Aloft room with a king bed. That means a room with an open floor plan with a clean, retro modern style. Power outlets are numerous and conveniently located on the bedside stands and desk. (No need to hunt around for hidden outlets!) Moreover, the complimentary wi-fi had a strong signal throughout the room and good speed.

Despite being on the top floor, neither water pressure nor water temperature was a problem. Being on the top floor, the room is well isolated from street noise. Regardless, this a hotel in the middle of a city so don't expect complete noise isolation: the fire station nearby can be a noise offender.

LOCATION
The hotel is in the heart of River North dining scene and nightlife. Some of my favorite Chicago restaurants and lounges are within a 5 minute walk of the Aloft. For the tourist, Michigan Avenue and the Loop are five blocks away. Access to the CTA subway lines is easy: two blocks to the Grand (Red Line) and a ten minute walk to Clark/Lake where you can get to O'Hare (Blue Line) or Midway (Orange Line).

SERVICE
Service here meets my expectations for the Aloft brand: casual yet professional; accommodating but not intrusive. Any requests put through the front desk were completed without hassle and I was always greeted by a staff member, whether walking past the front desk or riding the elevator.

DINING
The in-house restaurant, Beatrix, was great: good food at very reasonable prices in a lively setting. I had a delicious breakfast one morning with the savory Spicy Chicken Tinga and sweet Honey & Cinnamon Latte. Combined with a $5 voucher for participating in the hotel's 'Make a Green Choice' program, the meal cost less than $10! I definitely regret not eating here more during my stay.

OVERALL
I had a very good stay at the Aloft Chicago City Center, a hotel that embodies the lively spirit of its surrounding neighborhood. I would certainly return if the price is right; Aloft hotel rates can easily equal or exceed the rates at full service hotels. Nevertheless, it is a great choice for staying in Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank keanech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give a detailed review of our property! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at the hotel, restaurant, and with our staff. We'd love to have you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was first experience at an Aloft and I came out impressed. They have check-in 'kiosk' which typically has 3-4 employees ready to answer questions for get you quickly checked-in. There is nice large restaurant/bar on first floor in conjunction with the hotel so it has very lively atmosphere. Also a gathering area on the first floor to meet with people or get on your computer. Room was small but very well-designed, so it seemed perfectly spacious enough. Bathroom also well designed. Bed clean and comfortable. Location centrally located to different parts of the city. If you are solely going to shop on Michigan Ave, you may want something closer, but this is well-located to access a variety of activities in the city.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank abcdef999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First off, just to know, they do not have self parking at this hotel. They do have valet but it is costly, however, self park which is two blocks away is $47 a nite with in and out privileges. Not a great deal but I don't think you will find any better in the city. My daughter and I felt safe walking from the garage to the hotel because this hotel is smack in the middle of the most trendiest neighborhoods with very happy people! Upon entering the hotel you are immediately greeted by not only someone behind the reservation desk but a greeter. All very friendly. The first room they gave us was in the back of the hotel facing a brick building and very dark. I thought it was a mistake because it was also a special needs room. I called the front desk from this room and told them that it would drive me crazy to be in a dark room. They immediately changed us to a 2nd floor room facing the street. It was great and right outside our window was a beautiful terraced roof top garden. The bed was very comfortable and the shower water flow was very nice as well. Now to room service. We were pretty tired from our trip so we ordered room service. Everything on the menu is organic. We split the hamburger, fries and a Cesar salad. The downside was that it came in a cute paper bag but no plates. It was more like a to go packaging. I really didn't get this because it was delivered to our room. I don't know if they were trying to cut down on washing dishes? So we washed the tray that was in the room that had the coffee pot on it and used that for our "plate". Just an FYI you can't buy wine by the glass here. You could buy a bottle at the bar downstairs but no glass of wine sold on the room service menu. There is a Walgreens within two blocks so if you wish to have a small glass of wine with a meal you have to walk there and get those little bottles or you can buy a less expensive bottle of wine than purchasing at the bar. The only complaint I have is that there is not a working ice machine on every floor but if you phone the front desk they will send someone up to get ice for you from another floor. Don't hesitate to do this, they really don't give you any attitude at this hotel. One more thing, look for the year of birth special, that means that you can get the 2nd and subsequent nights for the price of the last two digits of your birth year! What a steal if you are older!!

Room Tip: Anything on the street side would probably be really nice, watch out for those rear rooms with a bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nativecalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review! I am happy you were able to enjoy a city view room while you were here. I appreciate the feedback about room service. We will certainly look into our packaging for future. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel.. as soon as you enter the lobby, you can see how upbeat the place is.. the reception staff is very friendly and the hotel has very modern interior.. We had a baby with us and we were given a corner room on a high floor, that meant great views of chicago.. the hotel is very conveniently located in the city centre, close to all the major attractions and a short walk to the subway station.. would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aarij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent a friends weekend at Aloft Chicago City Center this past weekend. It was a busy weekend in Chicago and the hotel was booked. The property is very modern and "swanky". Lot's of "hanging around waiting for friends who are always late" space. Free wifi that actually works and a staff that is helpful without being too solicitus. Erica checked us in and was super! The front desk staff seemed to be able to multi task without seeming distracted at all.
The first morning we didn't eat at the restaurant: we seldom eat at hotel restaurants. When we came back from Eggsperience, we noticed how busy the restaurant, Beatrix, was so we decided to try it the next day. It was excellent and very reasonable for the quality and selection. The restaurant always seemed to be busy and had some really different (and actually healthy) options. At night, it was full of people! The bar is very popular. Again, very unusual for a hotel restaurant. Another reviewer did notice, as I did, that room service starts later than normal. We had room 1007 which had floor to ceiling windows, two desks and plenty of space for 4 days worth of luggage, and a view over N Clark. The bathroom was very new and clean. They have "Signature" beds which are like the Starwood Heavenly Beds. Great sleep quality: all white bedding which I love. We've stayed at many of the Starwood Luxury Selection (Palace, Madrid, Excelsior,Rome, Paris, and Alfonso, Seville) and I would have to say the service is on par with those properties.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtperreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

What a great review! Thank you for your comments about Erica and our hotel staff service. We pride ourselves on taking great care of our guests and I am happy it shows! Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is located in a vibrant weekend area. The vibe is light, happy and helpful with really bright and efficient front desk staff. The room is intelligently laid out with a sink that is separate from the bathing/toilet area. The restaurant, (Beatrix) has wonderful breakfasts and brunches. Great location as well.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us a such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were amazed at the wonderful staff. They all remembered us from day to day and asked about our experiences. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and they were attentive to the "little things" that make a stay great. Location was perfect to walk "everywhere" and the staff readily got us cabs when we had a greater distance to go. The restaurant was also a wonderful surprise. We usually do not think of hotel restaurants as destinations for dinner, but have recommended it to people we know that live in Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Manager at Aloft Chicago City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chicago City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chicago City Center

Address: 515 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60654-3279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £85 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Chicago City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chicago City Center is located in downtown Chicago's River North, one of the city's trendiest neighborhoods. Located between the Loop business district and premier shopping on the Magnificent Mile, our Chicago River North hotel will put you right in the center of it all. Aloft Chicago City Center features pet-friendly guest rooms with free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs, plush bedding and beautifully-appointed bathrooms with walk-in showers. Guests can enjoy Chicago's hot-spot, Beatrix, for a full menu and bar in the lobby, order room service or check out many of the city's top restaurants and bars right outside our door. Valet parking is available (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Chicago City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing