We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #46 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Business Trip to Chicago”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent Value - in Chicago. Rooms are clean and spacious. Love the 24/7 ability to get a quick drink, late night snack etc. Breakfast included in the price, lots of options. Location was perfect for all the attractions as well as within walking distance of the meeting location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flapoint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
As a fellow night owl, I also appreciate the ability to get something to eat 24/7. Many of our business travelers can work very late or start very early, so we do our best to help you do your best. Thanks for being a guets of Hyatt Place. We hope to see you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    464
    106
    43
    43
See reviews for
574
328
59
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Rooms were clean and pretty spacious, especially for the price in downtown Chicago. Staff were friendly and helpful.... #1 being Ruba down in the bar. She offered us MANY excellent suggestions for restaurants, drinks, etc!!! Location was perfect for shopping, restaurants, etc. The included buffet breakfast was really plentiful! Only downside was the fire station across the street... but, earplugs on the nightstand helped. We were granted a delayed check-out and provided more towels when requested. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
When the ladies need a Girl's Night Out, the Hyatt Place is the perfect location. I'm glad you and your crew agree. I will acknowledge Ruba for her excellent service. We are fortunate to have her on our team. I do apologize for our noisy neighbors, but I am pleased that the earplugs were helpful.

Please come see us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice hotel but noisy if you are in a room by the fire station. Friends joined us after our first night and we told them to request a room away from the fire station. They did not have the disruptions we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 742jerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Please accept my sincere aplogies for your stay being disrupted by the Fire Station across the street. Upon your next visit, request a room facing north to lessen the impact of the Roar of River North. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in Chicago so we can deliver a peaceful night's rest after a long day in the city.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Hyatt chain is reliable for the quality of its properties, and this one is no exception; however, I feel that it offers outstanding value for the money. The quality of the rooms and public spaces is easily superior to many 4-star hotels I've stayed at. It's hard to believe it's rated as only A 3-star. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Greetings Leslie,

Thank you for the kind review. We are focused on offering a high-quality experience at an exceptional value. I'm delighted to know we have hit the mark. We hope this will be your first of many stays at our Hyatt Place.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Place in the River North District in Chicago for a weekend getaway. The hotel is clean, modern and the staff were very friendly. The location was perfect for sightseeing. The L train station on Grant/State is located 4 blocks away so you basically can take the train directly from Midway or O'Hare to the hotel. Grant Park, Aquarium and the Chicago Art Institute are nearby, approximately 1.2 mile walk Plenty of spectacular restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank LVWOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Much like the Vegas Strip, Chicago is extremely an walkable city with lots of visual impact, so I am sure you felt right at home exploring the city. We are pleased to have had you as our guest, and we are willing to bet this won't be your last visit to Hyatt Place.

Kind Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed in April 2014 with adult family members and can't say enough about the wonderful staff. When someone forgot a toothbrush, a staff member gave her the 50 cents to purchase one since she didnt have the money with her. Everyone was helpful and nice. Excellent breakfast--the french toast was a favorite. Rooms were a good size and spotless. The fire station outside our 10th floor window did not really bother us at all. We slept great. The location was perfect, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We do have a great breakfast - the French Toast is my favorite, too! I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay. Please come see us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our experience at the Hyatt was outstandingl. The staff, especially Matthew and Joe were excellent. They welcomed us from the time we walked in until the time we left. They went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff could not have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 441maryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We love to hear that you had an oustanding experience! I am always pleased when our staff makes such a positive impact on our guest's visits. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to thank Joe and Matthew for their service.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#45 of 190 in Chicago
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing