We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for meetings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #47 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good for meetings”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Clean, great location, loved the L shaped sofa in the room with coffee table for small meetings. Like the coffee bar in lobby. Breakfast decent with lots of options. Good room set up. Nearby shopping is fantastic. Restaurant choices abound.

Room Tip: The only critique I would have is that the fire house is nearby. Take ear plugs if you are not accus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondetraveler508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    466
    112
    43
    43
See reviews for
593
331
59
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My only 2 problems were that 1) The cost for parking is absolutely ridiculous and 2) I booked my room on the website and the pictures made the room look so much bigger than it actually was. But those points aside, my overall stay was very nice, the room was very clean and the staff was very welcoming and polite. I stayed only 1 night for my 21st birthday, and overall had a good experience. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jane X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of night's on a recent work-related trip to Chicago and was very impressed. The place is new (I think it's been open for about a year) and this shows with everything in great condition. The staff are what really set the place apart though - everyone was incredibly friendly and willing to help out with minor requests. Wi-Fi in the hotel is very reliable and works in all areas which, in my experience, is pretty rare. Free printing was also offered near to reception which was pretty handy when I needed to print my boarding pass.

If I have one minor complaint, it is the breakfast selection. There was very little on offer that took my fancy and the fruits weren't the best quality either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foggyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Girt NJ
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

staff attentive, rooms more than sufficient, fridge helpful to have, location good...easy walk, for those used to walking places, to Michigan Ave. and attractions...had a room issue at first, but staff could not have handled the problem better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank DennisSeaGirtNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Hyatt Place on North Illinois St. Is an excellent lodging choice . It is in an excellent location, with helpful and effective staff. Our three day stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. Also, we liked the security provided with our room keys to access elevators.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank MaryM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Loved this hotel. Very clean/new. Large rooms. Great staff. Good location. I usually stay on the other end of the Magnificent Mile but really liked this location. Will definitely stay at this hotel for now on when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank karenkL7313WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I had a night out in the city away from the kids and this hotel was the perfect place to stay. Rooms were clean and laid out nice. The only thing that would have made this hotel better if it had a spa on site. Its location was perfect to be able to park the car once for the night and walk everywhere. Everything about this hotel was great, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#43 of 190 in Chicago
618 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing