We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and Clean and near Magnificent Mile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #17 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern and Clean and near Magnificent Mile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great location, walking distance to shopping on Magnificent Mile.
New, clean and modern with friendly staff. The room is nice and big with great views,
We asked for a quiet room, and were provide with a room with 2 queen beds at the end of the hall without staircase, ice machine or elevator bells. It was nice and quiet and very roomy.
The bathroom felt very roomy but had very little counter space. My daughter and I felt a
There was also no closet space in the room, just a small area on the end of shelf to hang a couple of things.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samgahowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! I am glad we were able to accomodate you in a room of your liking and we hope we will be able to again sometime soon in the future!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    186
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
217
152
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Here's your straightforward, enviro-friendly, well located hotel. Easy check-in, valet parking (OUCH $60/day - in/out and pretty fast, tho). Street noise... it's downtown and with a fire station on same block. Room was very nice (and with a view from high floor) - very clean, very comfortable, nice shower and products, sink area crowded for 2 gals simultaneously. Hallway noise - yes, nearly fell out of bed around midnight from ice-machine ruckus (tempted to put "Out of Order" sign on it; opted for earplugs). Good, basic and very popular breakfast is included, like at Residence Inns; clean, spacious and sunny dining room. (We found Xoco across the street suited us better!!) My daughter ran in early mornings - felt safe and didn't get lost going straight to Navy Pier and back!
Conclusion - I will DEFINITELY return and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us some of your feedback! When you return we will do our best to find a room away from the ice machine, just mention it at the desk or when you make the reservation. See you soon!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Perfect location for downtown Chicago! Walking distance to just about everything downtown. RPM resturant located on the corner of the hotel. The Underground nightclub also on the same street.

Clarke and Lake train station just 4 blocks away.

Plenty to do very close by!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goirish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! There is definitely not a shortage of great places to eat and drink around here. Next time you're here, try Beatrix around the corner at Clark and Grand. They opened the same time we did and have some great food and wine list!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place was outstanding. From the extremely helpful staff to the incredible rooms, it was all a true pleasure staying at this hotel. Everything was impeccable! Rooms nice, neat, CLEAN, well laid out and very comfortable. I was a bit surprised to see a firehouse directly across the street and our room was on the 6th floor facing the firehouse but it was NOT a problem. The breakfast was well stocked and the eating area clean and well lit. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1RoadTripMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Awesome place? Awesome review! Thank you so much for feedback and I am so very happy you enjoyed your stay here. The Fire Department can be a bit noisy sometimes, but thank you for being understanding and I am glad it did not cause any issues. Come back soon!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

. I used my free night from my Marriott credit card as this property has a 5 rating. It is difficult to find a 5 rating in a city, it is usually reserved for smaller cities or hotels that are off the highway.
The hotel was clean. The beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly. I asked a housekeeper for more towels and shampoo and he gave me 4 towels and 4 bottles of shampoo. That was very generous. The shower itself was a little weak but the Paul Mitchell products were amazing. My husband said that he could hear every noise going on in the hotel but the rest of us could not. It is right across the street from the fire station which could be very handy is there was ever an emergency issue.
The breakfast was just fine and included!!!!. I personally dislike styrofoam and would be willing to pay more for real dishes or at least ones made of compostible paper. The woman in charge of the breakfast was very friendly and helpful. However, I needed to ask for five or six different things like hot water, forks, bread, hot chocolate packages, and plates. She was very accomodating each time but it was strange to have to ask for basics.
The location is awesome! I ran in the morning to Navy Pier and I felt like I owned the city. There was very few people there early in the morning, it was a sunny, magnicent day.
I didn't use the hotel to buy the parking, I used parking whiz. It was awesome, We paid $24.00 for 24 hours of parking in the same parking garage that the hotel charged $42.00. It is one block from the hotel. There are two computers in the lobby that I used to print out the parking whiz bar code. Check in was quick and efficient.
We were in room 1035, which is a little close to the elevator but a nice size room.
Overall, it is a nice hotel and one that Fairfield could be proud. I didn't give it a very good rating as certain other hotel brands like the Homewood Suites or the Residence Inn just do a little bit better of a job. Enjoy! Chicago is a lot of fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEllen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback we definitely appreciate it! I know you mentioned that you thought the shower and some of the breakfast offerings could have been improved, but I would absolutely welcome a conversation with you to discuss other specific things you thought that the hotels you mentioned do better than we do. We are always looking to improve! You can contact me at the hotel 312-836-1700 or email me at matthew.noonan@whitelodging.com. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for choosing our hotel!

Regards,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Located in the downtown area, the hotel is fairly new and is right beside a Hyatt hotel. The rooms are spacious, including the bathrooms. Parking is not available on site and guests are asked to park about a block away. The overnight parking fee is $45.

It is a few steps away from several restaurants (including Lou Malnati's pizza) and within walking distance to the Millenium park.

The front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnow2011db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! Thank you for staying at the Fairfield and we look forward to seeing you again soon - don't forget to pick up a free appetizer coupon for Lou's at the desk!

Regards,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
276 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. Short walks to shopping, dining and of course, Navy Pier was simply an easy mile walk away. We took a cab there one time and it was $6. Rooms and bedding are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful on the second floor with great seating and views from the windows. Very professional hotel.
I know someone commented on the fire station. I did not hear it but a few times and it's a major metropolitan city, street noises are expected and to be honest, overall, they were less than expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and thank you even more for being so understanding when it comes to the fire department. Hope to see you come back soon!

With Thanks,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing