We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A random pick and above our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #17 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a family event to attend and picked from our favorite Marriott chain the Fairfield on Illinois. What a pleasant surprise. The staff was VERY friendly and always willing to go out of their way to help. The room was clean and well appointed with plenty of room. Breakfast is served every morning and met our expectations. The location met our needs and we'll most likely return during our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vkngprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for throwing a shot in the dark and finding our hotel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were able to use reward points to stay at this hotel over Christmas break 12/25/14-12/28/14.

This hotel was in a good location that was within walking distance to restaurants (Fontana Grill, RPM, Shaw's Crab House, and Al's Italian Beef-all of which we ate at and loved). You can also walk to Michigan Avenue and Merchandise Mart where you can buy passes for the L and board trains at the Brown Line station.

For the most part the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Because of gold status, we were given a bag at arrival that had two bottles of water and a Snickers. All but one front desk attendant fulfilled our request for additional bottled water during our stay. These bottles of water are very important to us and we appreciate the front desk staff who fulfilled these requests.

The business center was helpful. We were able to print tickets that we purchased online using the room's free WiFi. WiFi worked great! The fitness room looked nice but we did not use it. I wish there would have been a pool and/or hot tub.

Our room was small but comfortable. I liked the single serve coffee maker and flat screen TV. The TV service has a Menu/guild for programming and HBO. This is great because hate flipping through channels with no guild. There is only a shower and no tub. I like this better then a shower/tub combo. There was plenty of room on the vanity. If you move the night stand a little and unplug the lamp you can charge your phone by your bed but otherwise there is a charging station at the desk. A lot of people have complained about the noise from the fire station across the street. We requested a room in the back of the hotel and did not hear any fire station noise. It was peaceful and we slept well.

It was a fantastic stay. We will definitively stay here again to use more reward points and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel to avoid fire station noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for the comprehensive recap of your stay! I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed our staff and amenities provided. I also wanted you to be aware that Marriott International has slated us to move to a Category 6 effective April 1, 2014. You can still book future reservations as a Category 5 currently so I suggest making your return plans now to save some points! Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed FRI 2/28 - SUN 3/2 for pleasure. As a Marriott Gold Elite member they upgraded us to a nice studio on the 6th floor. The location is ideal if you are looking for nightlife, restaurants, and things to do. You really are in the heart of everything. The hotel is fairly new and is NOT a typical Fairfield Inn. This hotel is nicer than some full-service Marriott's I have stayed in over the years. The FREE breakfast on the second floor is a great value as the food is pretty good. The staff at the front desk is helpful, friendly, and really goes out of there way to make you feel at home. This is one of the best kept secrest in Chicago as far as bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are a Marriott Gold Elite member.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

While you may think we are a best kept secret, thank you for spreading the word and adding to our online reputation! It is always nice when we can make an impact on our Marriott Rewards members who have countless other hotel experiences to compare us to, so thank you for recognizing that we are not your typical Fairfield Inn. We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

had to make a quick trip to chicago and ended up staying at this property. was quite impressed with this newer property. great location. easy walking distance to michigan ave. and much of downtown. check-in was quick and very efficient. rooms are spacious, clean, and very well appointed. bed was quite comfortable and there was a very usable work space. self parking is about two blocks away which is a bit of an inconvenience but at the end of the day is ok. super excercise room. really enjoyed this property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that you would return in the future. We do offer unlimited in and out privileges for our valet service should that interest you for your next visit!

Regards,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times was to stay in Chicago for a special event. In December 2013 we stayed to go to House of Blues for a concert. It was a nice short walk to the House of Blues from the hotel. The second time was in March of 2013 to go to Phantom of the Opera. It was well within walking distance again to the theater and the new Gino's East. I will stay at this hotel again when staying in Chicago. The staff is nice and always helpful. The hotel is clean and I have always been happy with my room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenfoxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Fantastic! Glad you have enjoyed your stays with us, thank you for being a loyal guest, and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Live in the Chicago suburbs and stay downtown occasionally with the wife on nights of work events and such. This is the only category 5 Marriott left in downtown Chicago, though I hear that it is going to 6 soon. I am disappointed with Marriott for "upping" the categories on many of their hotels. The rewards credit card gives me a free night at a level 1 - 5 and now that will not even get me one night in Chicago going forward? Anyway, back to the review. At check in, staff was very courteous and gave me an "upgrade" on the room on a Saturday night. The room was quite large with a separate sitting area, a couch, 2 TVs, etc. The views are nothing to speak off, looked into an alley for the most part. Room was clean, updated, comfortable, quiet. Had breakfast on the 2nd level. It is the largest free breakfast setup I have ever seen! Lots of people but I was amazed at how well the staff kept up with demand. Valet parking is expensive ($62) but probably market price for the area. We used SpotHero app on iPhone to park at parked nearby for $26. Location of this hotel is awesome for restaurants and clubs. My company had an event at Underground and it was next door! Also had dinner at RPM (Italian) next door and it was fantastic. There are several top notch restaurants within 2 blocks (e.g. Maestro's, Frontera Grill, RPM, Sullivans). All in all, this hotel is as nice as the other Marriotts in the River North area and you should not pay more to stay at the others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip into the city and for taking the time to review our hotel! Nothing is official that we are moving to the Category 6, however that is the plan that Marriott International has shared with us and we want to give all of our guests proper notice should those plans actualize. I also want to thank you for commending our breakfast team on their efforts in keeping up with the masses - some mornings it seems impossible, however they continue to keep up with the demand with smiles on their faces! Hope we get to see you back again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just one night using Marriott Rewards points. I found the stay to be pleasant and didn't encounter any issues. The staff I spoke to was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was slightly more than standard issue for a Fairfield Inn. The hotel is newer, so the updates are much appreciated. My room had a large bathroom with a quasi-living room set-up and a great view of the city. The only negative I found was what they advertise as "on-site" parking is actually 2 blocks away in a parking garage attached to the Springhill/Residence Inn Marriott properties. Not a big deal, just a little misleading.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for adding to our online reputation with such a positive review! I am happy to see that you enjoyed the staff and the amenities provided, however I am concerned about the misleading information you discovered. If you would be so kind to contact the hotel at 312-836-1700 or email me at matthew.noonan@whitelodging.com and share where you found a description of on-site parking as we only do offer off-site and valet as stated on our Marriott website. Glad to see that it did not significantly affect your stay, however we want to make sure it doesn't impact any of our future guests as well!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £94 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing